We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but hotel needs renovating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“OK but hotel needs renovating”
Reviewed June 25, 2006

My wife and I stayed here for two nights.

The hotel on the whole is acceptable and the staff are friendly. However it is location is now somewhat out of place with all the new shiny glass fronted offices and hotels surrounding it and this hotel is now a bit outdated.

We had a room on the 17th floor facing the street and it was noisy. But if you a have a room at the rear, you will be facing at least one new building being erected and tower cranes and it appears another site further behind is about to commence. This building work which seems to start early in the morning echoes off the surrounding buildings and causes a noise problem at the front as well. Unfortunately Canadian and US hotels in down town locations do not know how to sound proof their windows adequately and noise through windows is a huge problem.

The suite we had, was a good size and presentable. As strangers to the city, we found no notification for parking, and in the end just pulled up outside and got the valet service to move the car.

The pool in the sub basement is a little tired and the water is a little on the cool side. Breakfasts are nothing to write home about and again the restaurant is tired. We had the best steaks ever, at Caesars about 200m along Fourth Ave. Not cheap but excellent.

We found Calgary a very pleasant city to walk around.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tommy129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    1,062
    368
    103
    52
See reviews for
392
706
122
990
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2006

My non-smoking 2-bedroom suite reservation was made over 6 months before my trip. I was given a key to the 3rd floor, which is smoke-mania. I called the front desk, said I'm allergic to smoke. Their reply "that's all we have - our hotel is full" (and this was for $175/night). I called Travelocity, through which I'd made the reservation - it took them 20 minutes to convince the front desk to move me. I was given a room with 1 bed, and no change in rate - and told I would have to move to a different room half way through my week's stay. At least there was no smoke, but cramped for my family of 4. The reservation I made for 2 male co-workers (a room with 2 beds) - they were given a room with 1 bed. The front desk response? "That's all we have - our hotel is full." They absolutely did not care. The fitness center contains a universal set and 3 pieces of equipment. Two of the pieces didn't work during my entire week stay. The hotel room was dirty, dusty, mildewy, moldy, and run down. There was toothpaste stuck around the sink when I arrived (the previous tenant? a tenant from last year?) Gross! The toilet tank had stuff chipping and flaking off the back that kept dropping to the floor. The entire hotel is tired, sad, and old. Right behind the hotel, in plain sight, hookers walk the corner. My husband was solicited, as well as both my 20 and 17 year old sons. It rained, and the window and ceiling had a steady leak under which I placed bath towels. After an hour the towels were soaked. I'd called maintenance, and was told they know all about the problem. They brought me a bundle of rags to use in place of the towels. They apparently are on a long wait list for contractors to fix the problem. And I was told the leak in my room was nothing compared to some others! I looked up at the ceiling and could see where they kept painting over the leak. The whole place reeked of mildew. A disgusting hotel . Terrible front desk employees.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ant0725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 2, 2006

I just wanted to write a review to let everyone know I just got in on a flight from out of town. I had a reservation confirmed with this hotel and an actual confirmation number for a guaranteed late arrival. The Hotel sold my room reservation before I arrived. I am now sitting in the lobby while they are trying to find another hotel for me and they are not having much luck.
So I would reccommend any other hotel than this one. Very dissapponted. Go elsewhere!

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2006

stayed there for 2 weeks when I first moved to Calgary, It was just great, great service, and overall everything was just perfect

Helpful?
2 Thank Mashtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2005

Stayed over a long weekend for a convention. I live in the same city but had to stay with the other conventioners. The hotel is outdated and appears to have been last renovated in the eighties. I stayed in a suite that had everything I needed. It was on the 24th floor and way to high up for me so if you are afraid of heights, ask for a room lower down. The pool and hot tub were a bit icky and old and there were lots of kids splashing around playing water polo so I couldn't relax in there. The nightlife is dead in the hotel's location of downtown Calgary, but you can walk a few blocks away and dine on Stephen Avenue. It's usually quite safe to venture around Calgary. They have been recently renovating, so maybe the hotel can get a much needed facelift. It served it's purpose for a convention.

Helpful?
Thank JJCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2005

A great location in the heart of Calgary. Close to Princess island and the downtown core. All rooms are large suites with separate bedrooms, 2 TVs seating room.
Needs major updating as it is starting to get a little tired. Good value if you want space and location.
The goat cheese omelet in the restaurant is very good.
Be prepared to pay for high speed internet (it should be included in the price.
Try to get a room that faces Princess Island as it will be quieter.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Best_Cooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 1, 2005

This hotel was terrible. The room was very old and not very clean. Housekeeping was very poor. Although it had a sliding door, it was almost impossible to open it. There was no air conditioning in the front room, and the air conditioning units in the bedrooms were very loud, making it difficult to sleep. We will definitely NOT stay here again. By the way, if you go during Stampede, do NOT take the train at night, take a cab. The train is overcrowded (with people fainting from the heat and smell) and a cab is just as inexpensive.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Calgary
#26 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#14 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel and Spa Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel and Spa Calgary

Property: International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Address: 220 4 Ave SW | Alberta, Calgary, Alberta T2P 0H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#23 Family Hotel in Calgary
#26 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — International Hotel and Spa Calgary 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The International Hotel and Spa Calgary offer's the best downtown location, great value in room rates, free deluxe buffet breakfast and free WIFI in all guest rooms. All of our Guest Suites include such luxurious amenities as high thread count sheets, pillow top mattress, duvet, and flat screen TV. Our suites range in size from 595 to 750 square feet and offer both living and bedroom spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your International Hotel and Spa Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calgary International Hotel
International Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing