We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pretty good accomodation, a few minor issues!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of International Hotel and Spa Calgary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“pretty good accomodation, a few minor issues!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Overall the hotel was great. Just a few recomendations, as I work for a hotel as well. We stayed on a Saturday evening for a bachelorette partty and rented the two bedroom suite. The room was nice and clean, the beds were comfortable, and the service at the front desk was very accomodating.
and onto the minor issues we ran into. First it was very difficult to get ahold of the front desk from the room, I had to call room service to find the correct number to call.
The elevators were very slow and only one of them (the middle one) will take guests to the parkade, the elkevators are also very small making it difficult to fit a bell cart into.
There is not valet parking, which for a downtown property is a little inconvienient.
There is no late night menu for room service, although the front desk offered a recomendation it was unfortunate there was nothing to order from the hotel.
The bathroom was very small ) for the price we paid we were hoping for a large bathroom, or maybe two bathrooms. Making it very inconvienient for five girls to get hair and makeup done. Also when we called down to the front desk asking for an extra mirror to be sent up, to my suprise they didn't have any.
Also the bellmen that were in the lobby were awful. He was an older gentleman that acted like he was to lazy to help or give any kind of advice. We asked him if he could help us bring our bags to our room after we checked in and he basically just told us to take a bell cart and bring them up ourselves.... needless to say I did not tip him.
And last but not least, the balcony was absolutely disguisting... There was like a watery sludge all over, with cigarette butts, and an empty wendy's cup left over.
Alright the highlights of our stay were the staff were very friendly, the parking was free, and it seems they are the only downtown hotel that had complimentary wifi which was great!
I would for sure stay here again, thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InternationalCalgary, General Manager at International Hotel and Spa Calgary, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you taking the time to write a review and more importantly, thank you for your business.
Your observation on the cleanliness of the balcony is noted - not having our balconies in a clean state is unacceptable. Your experience with our bellman is not our standard and please accept our apologies.
We are delighted you and your friends enjoyed our Family Suite featuring unmatched value with five beds, free WIFI and free weekend parking (when Hotel booking is made directly through the Hotel's website).
We are upgrading a number of messaging and signage throughout the Hotel and your comments are most appreciated and helpful.
Thank you again for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    1,006
    342
    97
    43
See reviews for
353
671
116
927
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
182 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Purchased our room on Hotwire and very pleased with the room. It was huge! The staff at the front desk were a bit pretentious and not fully willing to answer our questions. It was pretty busy given Stampede was just starting (our reason for visiting). There are not a lot of restaurants in the immediate area. It's more of the financial district. There is the walking street not far, less than a mile with a street fair very day and fun restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We are return customers with international. We have stayed several times and have recommended your hotel to others. Free weekend parking, wifi and complimentary breakfast buffet.

This visit, all staff were courteous and helpful. The standard rooms are spacious with a sitting area, dining table, wet bar and bedroom. There are two TVs, a microwave and fridge.

The addition of the complimentary buffet breakfast is nice. The service was prompt and the quality of the food was good with hot (scrambled eggs, potatoes, DIY waffles, bacon, sausage, ham) and cold options (fruit, yogurt, cereal, breads and pastries) available. The addition of tablets along a counter was a nice touch for single travelers or to occupy children.

Weekend parking is also included when booking directly with the hotel. We have previously booked with expedia etc. but booked with the hotel without any problems.

We did have an issue with our air conditioning. It started to leak in the middle of the night. We did not notice until 8 am and placed a coffee pot under the leak. We left for breakfast and a walk and upon returning the pot was full. We had to empty the pot 3 times. As we were checking out anyway, we didn't feel the need to contact maintenance immediately but we did report it upon check out.

My only other complaint, and it has been the only one over the years is that the bathroom is too small. Especially since the spacious suite includes a sitting area, dining table and wet bar. We could not even open the door to the bathroom the whole way without hitting the shower rod. I believe that international could do some refurbishing with the suites and perhaps add a few jacuzzi suites.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chick777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were in town to visit our children and decided we would try a downtown hotel on this visit. The hotel is very nice. The rooms are large and well appointed. We had a great nights sleep in our king sized bed. All amenities with the exception of parking were part of the price of the hotel room. Parking was a very reasonable $8 per night. The included breakfast was very good-lots of selection. My only complaint would be the elevators. There are 3 of them but they are very slow and we felt we spent a fair amount of time waiting for the elevator.

Room Tip: If you want quiet ask for an odd numbered hotel room. They face away from the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Had a problem checking in, no fault of hotel staff.
my husband got rather frustrated.
They delt with it extremly calmly and politely.
Even sent up card and basket of treats wow.
Thats what I call customer service, and then some.
Rooms huge and clean, also can't believe how quiet it is.!!!!!
Excellant location and service.
we will be back often.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
227 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

On the completion of our trip of the Rockies Mountain Range, we stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The hotel located in downtown area of the city, is a very good hotel. The property is a high rise construction with 35 floors and the rooms are extremely good. We were given a room which was almost a suite with a bed room, sitting area, dining space and a kitchenette with a micro oven and other gadgets. The bathroom also was quite spacious. Free wi fi and free use of computers in its business center provide great convenience to guests. The reception area has been given a rustic look in its decoration. A very good experience staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BPB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the International in Calgary and so will you! The location is perfect in downtown Calgary and the room was outstanding - couldn't have been better! Staff we're helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Westin Calgary
#25 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#13 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel and Spa Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel and Spa Calgary

Property: International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Address: 220 4 Ave SW | Alberta, Calgary, Alberta T2P 0H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#23 Family Hotel in Calgary
#26 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — International Hotel and Spa Calgary 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The International Hotel Calgary offer's the best downtown location, great value in room rates, free deluxe buffet breakfast and free WIFI in all guest rooms. All of our Guest Suites include such luxurious amenities as high thread count sheets, pillow top mattress, duvet, and flat screen TV. Our suites range in size from 595 to 750 square feet and offer both living and bedroom spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick and Cheap Tickets so you can book your International Hotel and Spa Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calgary International Hotel
International Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing