We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“clean comfortable”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We had a two night stay over. Spacious room with a desperate sleeping area. Really good service overall.. friendly helpful staff. Clean and comfortable. Good hotel. Complimentary breakfast was fine. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite but as ours was booked via an agent I don't know if they cost more than a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevefender84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    1,059
    366
    102
    50
See reviews for
388
704
121
987
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

It was a real pleasure to stay here! Very clean, great price and great location. The suite had really nice furniture, and a fridge and microwave. It had a bedside tea setup and very comfortable bed. The only downside was there was often a wait for the elevators. The breakfast nook was above standard. Really great coffee.

Room Tip: You have to pay for parking, but the lot is inexpensive and right next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We started are holiday in style with a suite in this hotel. The room was great and the bed exceptionally comfortable. It was centrally located handy for downtown attractions except there was not much open on a Sunday night! Not the hotels fault, of course.

We were pleased to have a really good complimentary breakfast in the morning before we left.

A good start to our holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. The location is right downtown, parking is available and the suites are nice and large. The room rate includes a buffet breakfast, which is more than adequate. The overall experience was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank fatmanCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2014

It's always comforting to know, that at the end on a long and tiring business trip, that my last stop in in Calgary and I have a wonderfully comfortable suite awaiting me. There are always enough desk clerks to ensure that after a long day I'm not going to have to wait in line just to check in and get my room key. The services available at the International are excellent and if I want to go out for dinner there are any number of fabulous choices within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Conductor15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

OK this is not so much a hotel as a managed suites set-up.
conveniently located for downtown, its a quick walk to many restaurants and for me my place of business.

check in staff are really helpful and pleasant and keen to offer advice on restaurants etc.



Rooms in the centre are more spacious than rooms on the outside, eg 9008 where this contains a large dining area, two bedrooms (master and double), lounge, balcony and the smallest bathroom imaginable. [its almost like the architect got carried away with living space then then though darn it I forgot the bathroom, blast I better steal wardrobe space form bedroom two to compensate !] I for one would have given over just a few more feet of space for a decent sized bathroom and walk in shower, the configuration really was poorly designed.

this aside the suites are spacious and comfortable and lept meticulously clean.

Rear facing rooms have a view of the buildings on 3rd which are growing bigger, but you could see the bridge and Chinese cultural centre from my room.

the pool is currently out of commission following a flood last year, but free use of the YMCA facilities by voucher is offered.

Breakfast was included in the price but as it is served by the most miserable staff I have encountered in a hotel in the grim setting of the basement [which might account for their general surliness] I think they'd have a hard time encouraging people to pay a second time.

the elevators were temperamental and shared by service staff as well as guests, the building apparently was designed to be an apartment block not a hotel hence no separate service elevator.

the bar closes fairly early for a hotel but this seems to be the norm for down town areas, there is no concession for residents they close at their allotted time and you have to accept this.

on the whole the staff are willing to try and rectify any issues I had whilst there.

Room Tip: as mentioned above the rooms in the centre eg xx08 seem to be bigger the rooms on the end xx07 seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InternationalCalgary, General Manager at International Hotel and Spa Calgary, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your recent business and taking the time to post your review of your stay.
We are delighted you enjoyed our extra large guest rooms and ideal downtown Calgary location.
We are proud to offer free hot buffet breakfast daily for all of our hotel guests.as well as free high speed WIFI throughout our hotel.
We are excited to open in next month our brand new workout room and the adjacent indoor swimming pool.
Finally our fantastic hotel staff strive to serve our guests beyond expectations and are fully prepared to react immediately to any guest requests or concerns.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Fantastic front of house service. Great info re: local services. Hey, thanks for the lovely wine in our room! Very enjoyable breakfast, and the servers were attentive. Please tip them for their great service, The rooms were very clean and sleepable (if that is an acceptable word). If you need a light snack or nice glass of wine and snack, please go across the street to Sunterra in the Trans Canada Bldg.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yngvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Calgary
#25 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#14 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel and Spa Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel and Spa Calgary

Property: International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Address: 220 4 Ave SW | Alberta, Calgary, Alberta T2P 0H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#23 Family Hotel in Calgary
#26 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — International Hotel and Spa Calgary 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The International Hotel and Spa Calgary offer's the best downtown location, great value in room rates, free deluxe buffet breakfast and free WIFI in all guest rooms. All of our Guest Suites include such luxurious amenities as high thread count sheets, pillow top mattress, duvet, and flat screen TV. Our suites range in size from 595 to 750 square feet and offer both living and bedroom spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your International Hotel and Spa Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calgary International Hotel
International Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing