We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Ranked #80 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed August 18, 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights in August. The rooms were clean and of a reasonable size. The pool is (interestingly) on a roof overlooking some office buildings, of average size and clean. The outside of the hotel looks dour, but don't be put off. Breakfast, for approx $9CAD, was a standard hot and cold buffet, but good enough for us! We accidentally left a couple of coats when we left but staff quickly located them when we returned over a week later. Good location downtown. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twiglet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 641 of 700 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2006

We stayed for 4 nights from 10 Aug 06, and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a clean and comfortable hotel within walking distance of downtown. The check-in took about 10 seconds, which was great after a delayed flight coming out of Gatwick. The room was not massive, but fine for 2 people. This hotel stood out from 4 others we stayed at during our trip due to the high standard of housekeeping. Everyday the room was cleaned THOROUGHLY, unlike the token effort you sometimes find. The reception staff were friendly and efficient, proving very helpful when needed. The hotel restaurant was the ideal choice for breakfast, with an all you can eat continental buffet adding inches to my waistline each morning! I would stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RobDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2006

Friendly central hotel. Very comfortable room fairly basic but nice and clean. Facilities very good. Internet excess. Very good contiental breakfast for $9 per person.

Thank Ranwelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2006

Good location on 8th Ave. which becomes the Stephen Street Mall (pedestrianised). The kindest word to describe this hotel is tired (very tired). The exterior is very drab and dingy. Inside however the room was clean although on the small side. The parking was reasonable for a city centre hotel at CAN$10 per day. Staff were efficient.

Thank Travelling-Scots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2006

We stayed in room 625 for 4 nights during the Stampede. We asked for a quiet room and that is what we got. As far as I can tell rooms 601 to 609 and rooms 625 to 630 all had balconies and over looked the roof top and pool area. Probably same on all floors, but not too sure.
Decent sized room with two double beds, balcony with chair to sit out on. Table, two chairs and desk and chair. T V ,tea/coffee facilities, iron & board. Lots of room in bathroom to put toiletries etc. Newspaper under door in morning.
Swimming pool and fitness centre looked O K but didnt use them. Washer and dryer very use full and cheap, I think $1 each. Good quiet air conditioning, two lifts and very nice staff. We ate in the hotel 3 nights, all excellent meals and a reasonable price. Every where clean. Good position in Calgary, near shops and 1 block from C train. We will stay here again next year for the stampede, which was brilliant by the way.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto, Ontario
1
Reviewed June 12, 2006

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2006

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dwl321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre
0.3 mi away
Regency Suites Hotel Calgary
0.5 mi away
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
0.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown

Address: 708 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: $79 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Calgary
Ramada Calgary
Calgary Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing