We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fine hotel, no more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Ranked #81 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A fine hotel, no more”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

First of all, this was one of the cheapest downtown Calgary hotels, and considering that, it was great. Sadly I can't justify spending $200 on an alright hotel. Luckily I was there on business and didn't have to pay.

If you are looking for a good downtown location, this is the place. I had a meeting in Downtown Calgary, and it was a perfect place. I checked out in the morning, but left my bags in the storage. Upon returning to the hotel in the afternoon I grabbed my bags, and retrieved my parking from the valet ($18/day). The hotel only charged me for the one nights parking. Even if I would have had to pay for a second day, it would have still saved me money as other people payed at times upward of $40 or $50 for parking.

The beds were comfortable, and the room was a bit dated, but that was alright. It was clean and overall enjoyable. The staff was very courteous.

If I need to come back to downtown Calgary, this will be where I stay.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 3rd floor, and my door opened up to the pool. For some people who would want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    171
    184
    82
    71
See reviews for
65
126
62
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed at this hotel July 9-10 for the Calgary Stampede, it is very clean and the staff are friendly. Nice restaurant right in the hotel. Only thing is they don't have a compliment shuttle service for this hotel to airport , you have to book and it is $15 per person so it can be pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony so you can enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, comfy room, reasonable price for being in a good location downtown (about 10 mins walk from the Tower and shopping area).

Never had to wait long at all for the elevator. Slept well for all three nights we were there. Complimentary toiletries (though no shower cap), iron and ironing board, coffee maker, hairdryer and bathrobes in the room. No safety deposit box in the room though.

The restaurant in the lobby does a nice buffet breakfast that you pay extra for. Was reasonably priced and had a good selection of hot and cold food.

We also ate and drank in the adjoining bar/restaurant, which was nice enough. There are other restaurants and bars very close to the hotel. We used Downtown Food which is on the next block (a 2 minute walk away) and it was really good!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MortimerBigMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Cant beat the location if you need to do business downtown Calgary. I was a bit hesitant to stay at the Ramada because of its dated appearance from outside the hotel but once inside it was very nice and clean. The rooms were somewhat dated but really not that bad. Great service, very friendly staff. Had room service for breakfast and it was on time and very good. I had a great stay at the Ramada.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonnyC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

From the valets to the front desk every single person we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful. Great room on the pool deck and lots of towels. Close to everything downtown and the staff were very helpful pointing us in the right direction. Will definitely make this our only Calgary stop!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Really clean modern comfortable rooms. Staff are incredibly attentive and professional. We did not eat at the restaurant but it looks great. Outdoor pool was clean and a perfect way to end the day. Valet parking underground - great service. Would definately stay there again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown

Property: Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Address: 708 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Calgary
Ramada Calgary
Calgary Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing