We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Centrally located not so maintained hotel room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Ranked #75 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
mumbai
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Centrally located not so maintained hotel room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed recently in Sep13 at Ramada in Calgary. Hotel is conveniently located at the eighth street. Calgary train station at 6th and 7th street is nearby walkable distance from the hotel. Hotel is conveniently located from most of business office in downtown. Quality of breakfast as provided (not complimentary)in morning was good. However Hotel room is not so well maintained. The bathroom tiles were rough cheap quality tiles, black colour carpet in the room floor puts you off immediately when arrive in the hotel room. I have to change the hotel room as, no power adapter was found around the working desk. Also room facing on 7th avenue will have some noise from the Calgary train. There is good indian restaurant raj palace located at 6th avenue is walking distance from hotel

Room Tip: choose room facing 8th avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vorapm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    155
    176
    77
    68
See reviews for
60
119
60
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

It may not be the newest property around and may not have some of the frills but boy do these folks have hospitality nailed. I have been coming here about every 3 months for the past number of years and it keeps getting better. The staff are attentive and polite. Something is very right here because the turnover seems to be non existent. The same staff are there to welcome you every time you come back. I was particularly impressed with the Valet staff. They stole a page out of the Ritz Carleton training. Somehow they know your name and they use it- "welcome back Mr. so and so. How was your day Mr. so and so. Being recognized goes a long way to feeling welcome.The rooms are always clean and the beds comfortable. As a downtown Calgary property, I would highly recommend it and shout out its value!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Doug S:
Thank you for the excellent review which was a pleasure to read and has been shared with our employees. You describe the type of guest experience we would like all hotel guests to have and we will do our utmost to continue the standard. Thank you for choosing the Ramada and we look forward to your return stays.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The Ramada is a decent hotel near Stephen Ave Walk & the Calgary Tower. We had the executive king bed room. The bed & room was fine but I found the bathroom a bit small. There was no tub & little things like a towel rack were missing. Also not much counter space beside the sink. The decor of the hotel is a dark green blue carpet & tiles near the elevator. This hotel needs an update but other than that our stay was great. The staff at the hotel are very polite, friendly, & helpful. When I tried to print our boarding passes at the business center & the toner was low the manager printed it in his office for us. Now that's service!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great front desk service- manager was able to help us out with pricing
Beds are excellent- was able to have a great nights sleep even with half our floor partying after a rave all night
hotel restaurant- excellent food for the price, friendly service
within walking distance to great eateries and shops

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jtravel9087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel provides the basic needs for a business trip, but not much more. The rooms are fine. Comfortable bed, TV, and a decent bathroom. But there is no closet nor a minibar to have fresh water at night. All is a little bit old fashioned, from the decor to the elevators. Even the clock at the entrance looks from a couple of decades ago. The location is great. Within few blocks from the main buildings, the mall, public transportation, and the bars of shepherd street. Given that I didn't choose the hotel, I can't compare prices with others, but for me the final bill seemed to be expensive. Overall, if I have to go back to Calgary, I would look for other options, but if I have to stay there again, it will be ok.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gatogatuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
Level Contributor
237 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Room size is ok. Hygiene conditions are fine. Room is provided with all basic amenities. Staff is polite. Food quality is good. Hotel is centrally located in main business area. Connectivity with public transport is good. It is a value for money proposition.

Room Tip: One may select room at higher floor & facing main road in order to have quiet & good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prasanna1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Nuvo Hotel Suites
Nuvo Hotel Suites
#72 of 110 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown

Property: Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Address: 708 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Calgary
Ramada Calgary
Calgary Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing