We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good location, old hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Ranked #77 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location, old hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel provides the basic needs for a business trip, but not much more. The rooms are fine. Comfortable bed, TV, and a decent bathroom. But there is no closet nor a minibar to have fresh water at night. All is a little bit old fashioned, from the decor to the elevators. Even the clock at the entrance looks from a couple of decades ago. The location is great. Within few blocks from the main buildings, the mall, public transportation, and the bars of shepherd street. Given that I didn't choose the hotel, I can't compare prices with others, but for me the final bill seemed to be expensive. Overall, if I have to go back to Calgary, I would look for other options, but if I have to stay there again, it will be ok.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gatogatuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    146
    169
    75
    65
See reviews for
54
109
57
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
Level Contributor
235 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Room size is ok. Hygiene conditions are fine. Room is provided with all basic amenities. Staff is polite. Food quality is good. Hotel is centrally located in main business area. Connectivity with public transport is good. It is a value for money proposition.

Room Tip: One may select room at higher floor & facing main road in order to have quiet & good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prasanna1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a good hotel to stay for business trip. It is a good value proposition for business travellers. Hotel is centrally located in main business area of Calgary. It has all amenities, which business traveller needs. Food quality is reasonably good. Hygiene conditions & safety standards are pretty well maintained.

Room Tip: One may prefer a room at higher floors, facing main road for good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neha1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived early in the morning and staff advised that our room would be ready in half an hour. The room was well appointed with two double beds, comfortable pillows and mattresses. Decor was okay and the room was very clean. Staff kindly organised a shuttle for our trip to the airport early the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GERRINGONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights, easy walk to shops, restaurants, parks, attractions, the free "downtown" transit. Room was clean, fair size with a balcony but small closet and limited storage space, 2-double beds, flatscreen TV, coffee maker (hidden inside the dresser), free Wi-Fi but no in-room safe or mini-fridge - we got a fridge by requesting one, great for keeping drinks and snacks. Breakfast was not included with our room but lots of cheap eateries around.

One thing, our room was cold, you can dial up the temp but it took like forever for the controls to respond, thank goodness for the blankets! Bed was firm, pillows too soft, but still got a good night's sleep.

Rates were reasonable for what you get, overall a good choice for downtown area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mr_cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have stayed at the Ramada Calgary Downtown many times. I am always treated well by the staff and I appreciate the prompt attention to my needs. Special shout out to Mylene the Reservations Manager who listened to my wish list and addressed everything. I will return continuously while I receive this service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I was in Calgary for business and stayed for 4 week nights here. The rooms were spacious and all of the amenities were good. Balcony overlooking the pool was nice. Hallways and elevators are dated but the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Located close to restaurants and shopping were a definite convenience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aarksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Nuvo Hotel Suites
Nuvo Hotel Suites
#73 of 110 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown

Property: Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Address: 708 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Calgary
Ramada Calgary
Calgary Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing