We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All the style and mod cons that the 1960s and 1970s have to offer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Ranked #81 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“All the style and mod cons that the 1960s and 1970s have to offer”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable room, with lots of space and a coffee machine. Helpful staff. No safety deposit box in room. But so so dated and in need if refurb. Room service was good. Toilet was a pain to flush. Overall ok.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmerwaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear farmerwaydee,
It was our pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your room and that our service was to your liking. While we do not have in-room safes, safety deposit boxes are available at the Front Desk and we trust our guest service agents were able to assist you with the safekeeping of your valuables. We apologize about the toilet and hope it was repaired for you with undue delay. Further refurbishing of the hotel (guest corridors and public areas) is expected to resume in the final quarter of the year and we anticipate your nod of approval when those renovation occur. We are grateful for your comments and for you choosing the Ramada while in Calgary.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    171
    184
    82
    71
See reviews for
65
126
62
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

all was great for this group I just wish there was a link for them to reserve themselves rather then getting a rooming list then I could have stayed out it completly as I booked over 30 rooms with their information. So in the future if we do this again I would say a link would be more beneficial for us and the 3rd party,. Other wise it was great working with Mylene and Leslyn. Thank you

Room Tip: Great location right downtown in the core.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Teresa D,
We have passed your thanks onto our Reservations and Sales departments and are delighted the Hotel was a good fit for your recent meetings. To add to group booking ease, an option commonly used is instruction to delegates to contact the Hotel directly by a specific cut-off date (toll free, email or fax). This significantly reduce the organizer’s responsibility and at cut-off day the Hotel will be able to provide you with a rooming list so you may know the full status of your guest room block. Our apologies if this option was not discussed at the time of booking, we look forward to making it more seamless for you next time. Thank you for your comments and for choosing the Ramada.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Terrible hotel! Do not stay here! Thin walls, no temp control in rooms, dated ugly common areas, terrible shower and had to park a block away because garage is too small. Add in indifferent manager and a Wed night drunk fest next door and you're starting to get the picture. Easily the worst hotel experience in 5 years.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgbchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear cgbchicago,
Thank you for your comments. We regret that your guest experience at our property was a poor one and assure you this is not the norm for our highly visited downtown Hotel. Our manager on duty and security are dedicated to eliminating noise disturbances as quickly as possible and like you, we are sorry when one guest affects the stay of another. Walls are cement block, an excellent noise barrier, thus it is our guess that you were in a room that adjoins to another by a connecting door. This may cause vulnerability to noise in the neighboring room which we understand is never welcome when targeting to get a good night’s rest. Guest parking in our underground garage is subject to availability however for the better part does not require you to seek parking elsewhere. On especially peak periods our guest services agent will point you in the direction of 2 nearby parking lots, both within one block of the hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience to you and hope your trip to the area was otherwise a full success.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Weyburn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was my first time staying in downtown Calgary, but was a definiate recommendation from a co-worker who stays here all the time. Rooms are clean and beds are quite comfortable. I slept like a log. The front desk handled any concerns we had promptly and were great to deal with. Thanks to Mylene and her staff for doing such a great job taking care of us!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Nikki D,
We appreciate you trying out the Ramada Hotel on the referral of your co-worker and are delighted to read the accommodation were comfortable and convenient. We are especially pleased that our guest service team made your feel very well looked after and positive comments like yours truly mean as much to our staff as they do to the general manager. Thank you for taking the moment to share your excellent experience with us. We look forward to your return.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had the pleasure of working with the sales and front desk staff for our recent school trip to Calgary for a public speaking competition. From our booking with Leslyn which was amenable to our circumstances of many schools travelling under one umbrella to the front desk staff who worked with us and our students to both ensure a smooth guest experience but also foster some of their independence- we were pleased from start to finish. And we will return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear sarah c,
It was a pleasure to host your recent public speaking competition and we are elated your hotel experience at the Ramada Hotel met your complete satisfaction. Our knowledgeable and detail oriented employees take pride in delivering consistent and courteous care and it is always welcome news that they did an excellent job. We appreciate your feedback and will looking forward to hosting your event again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown

Property: Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Address: 708 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Calgary
Ramada Calgary
Calgary Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing