We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre(Calgary)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ExecSuite(Calgary)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Fairmont Palliser(Calgary)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (728)
Filter reviews
728 results
Traveler rating
115
202
226
110
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
202
226
110
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolbusiness districtstayed here for two nightsan older hotelfront desk staffdowntownbalconiesstampede
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
462 - 467 of 728 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

For a hotel located in downtown Calgary, the Ramada is relatively inexpensive compared to its neighbors. The lobby was drab and gloomy, but the room I stayed in was large and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was not cramped at all. The staff at the front desk were all very warm and helpful, answering all my questions with my smile. One thing I would like to complain about is the internet! The hotel does provide free wifi, both in the rooms and the lobby, but the internet connection was slow and erratic, especially during the daytime and early evening. This is a big fail since most travelers these days need an internet connection.

On the plus side, the hotel is only a block away from the train station, and 10 minutes' walk from the downtown core where a lot of shops and restaurants are located. There are also some small eateries and restaurants near the hotel where you can grab a bite.

This hotel would be a good and inexpensive base from which you can explore Calgary, but if fast and reliable internet connection is your priority, then you'd better find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cutie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Cutie888,
Thank you for your recent stay. We are pleased to hear you found the accommodations spacious, the property value priced and convenient to shops, restaurants and the C-train. We apologize you experienced slowed Internet while you were out guest. We appreciate the importance of Internet and assure you signals are monitored regularly and issues quickly resolved whenever possible. Thank you for your comments and for choosing the Ramada.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The rooms are large enough and the bed was great, but the hallway and lobby are nothing like fresh looking.
The worst part, they were charging our card three times, we had to remove all the money from that card for a period of time. Of course, nobody from the hotel management could come up with an explanation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Flori M,
Thank you for taking a moment to leave us your feedback. We receive great reviews on our beds and are very glad you also found yours comfortable, and the guest room a good size. We apologize for any incorrect admin entry which rendered your credit card unusable. While we are able to correct an error instantly, processing time for banking institutions will vary and we are sorry for an undue delay to you. We appreciate you choosing the Ramada in your travels.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My friend and I recently spent a night at the ramada downtown Calgary.
Positives -
- The beds were amazing! Extremely comfortable.
- The hotel is in a great location, easy walking distance to the train station.
- The room was clean and comfortable.

Negatives -
- The hotel lobby is in desperate need of a facelift. Very dated and dark.
- The dining area is even more so need of a facelift. We ate here twice, the food was reasonable considering the price. The staff in the restaurant looked sloppy and dated. They themselves could do with a makeover.
- The girl who checked us in looked half asleep and stunk of cigarette smoke. When asking for directions she was very unsure.

Overall the rooms are great, the location is great and the price is reasonable. Would return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chels999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Chels999,

Thank you for choosing the Ramada on your recent visit to Calgary. We are delighted you found the beds comfortable, the room clean and the property convenient for your needs. We regret there were some negatives but sincerely appreciate your comments and have shared them with our staff and managers. Also very happy you found the accommodations value priced and that we can expect to have you back as our guests. Thanks so much for taking a moment to share your feedback.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews