We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotels in third world countries have better customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Ranked #80 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“hotels in third world countries have better customer service”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Canceled our reservation 20minutes before check-in. They ruined my anniversary. Did the bare minimum and then when a complaint was filed they did nothing. They didn't even confirm our check-in date before assuming that we were different guests. Their definition on customer service is irreversibly skewed. Nothing was handled properly about my complaint. The duty manager is incompetent and cannot understand English. The GM Mr. Stewart is as useless as they come and tries to play dumb when it comes to things not being handled properly. Avoid this hotel at all costs, it's not worth the time, money or hassle.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DresdenDeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager7836, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
The hotel notified the client early in the afternoon prior to their arrival that the Jacuzzi room had mechanical problems. We offered the client an Executive King room which was refused. We apologized for the inconvenience and Ramada corporate has apologized and offered compensation which was refused. We pride our self in customer service and can only apologize as we did not have the room type requested available due to mechanical issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    181
    204
    88
    73
See reviews for
75
134
67
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I've been staying here for almost a week and it's an average hotel. Rooms & bathrooms are a bit small and I'm staying on the side with no balconies. Recommendation to request a balcony room when checking in. The room itself has two double beds (with overly squishy pillows that neither myself nor my 3 co-workers find comfortable), a flat screen tv, closet with adequate number of hangers, small table with 2 chairs and dresser with 4 drawers. The one thing I will note about the bathroom is that the showerhead is quite low. I'm 5'10" and it's lower than the top of my head which is quite annoying.

I've used the heated outdoor pool which was plain but lovely and clean. I used the work-out room and it was okay - they have 1 treadmill, bike, recumbant bike, ellyptical and a weights section. I found the room itself to be poorly ventilated and quite warm and small.

Other than that, staff is reasonably friendly, maids are good everyday and apparently the breakfast is average (according to my co-worker).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz8723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Went down for the Calgary Stampede and loved that they had under ground parking, where I left my truck the whole time, cause I never had to use it for the transit station was only 50 feet away. The food and entertainment was great every day :)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daiseyflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Spent a weekend get-a-way to relax and see the city. This hotel is ideally located for shopping & touring the heart of the downtown in Calgary. Rooms are specious and the new renovations have made a big difference. The staff treat you like family and are very accommodating with requests and help when asked.

Love the outdoor patio pool but was a little to early in season so this wasn't open just yet. I would recommend to those looking to be downtown to take this into consideration.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSM-ERI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estevan, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel offers clean rooms, always friendly service, and is economical. The staff at the front desk are always smiling, and very accomodating. The hotel is old, and is showing it's age a bit, but the cleanliness and courtious staff make up for that.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernieB0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

I have stayed in this place many times for work! Early check-ins seem to be possible, as they never seem to be booked solid. The room was better than the last time I stayed there, but still very very dated and tired. The hallways smell a bit smokey, and they could really use some upgrading! The prices are good if you don't care about amenities!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TavelAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Very good and friendly staff. Breakfast does not have value for money. Internet is fairly fast. Very convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown

Property: Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Address: 708 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Calgary
Ramada Calgary
Calgary Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing