We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Banff
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very convenient and friendly staff”
Reviewed March 1, 2010

We live in Banff and had an early flight to a vacation. The Radisson has a great 'stay and fly' package which allows you to stay for one night and park at the hotel for the duration of your stay (we stayed for 1 week). They have free hourly shuttles to and from the airport. Landon the bellman who drove the shuttle was very friendly and informative!

It was a great deal as transfers to and from Banff as well as parking at the airport were more expensive.

We loved the electric blankets that you could adjust the softness of the quilt. They were comfy!!

The hotel itself has many amenities - gym, pool, hot tub and the bar and restuarant. Though we only stayed one night we were able to make us of the gym and hot tub which was nice.

We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shez222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    157
    130
    77
    79
See reviews for
124
142
50
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Our room was broken into by the crudest of methods - a visitor kicking in our door whilst we were in the dining room. Fortunately our losses were modest, but our distress and inconvenience (he took our passports) very real. Radissons have been completely unco-operative, in dealing with our loss, distress and inconvenience. There are no in-room safes, no cctv and although recently refurbished, clearly the hotel has fittings that can easily be broken. A hotel that cannot guarantee the safety of its customers' property is not worthy of international status.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reynards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roomsman, General Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 26, 2010
We are most concerned about Mr. & Mrs. Reynard’s experience and continue to work with the Calgary Police Service to bring this case to a positive conclusion. After providing the police portions of our in-house security video, a suspect was identified and later apprehended. We will continue to monitor this case and communicate developments to Mr. & Mrs. Reynard.

It should be noted that this is the one and only incident of guest room theft I have experienced during my entire time here as general manager. In 2009 we completed a major renovation to our hotel and are totally focused on 100% guest satisfaction.

As part of the follow up investigation our hotel’s security systems and procedures were thoroughly reviewed by a third party and found to be perfectly acceptable and in most cases superior to the norm.

Most sincerely,
Richard Boustead
General Manager
403 250 6050 direct
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2009

First and foremost this hotel is under renovation. Thier website states the following "Our guestrooms have been recently refreshed for you to enjoy!". Thier website should say; "Our hotel in the course of renovation and hence potential guests are advised of construction noise, dust, unpleasant odours in all rooms and a general lack of customer service."

Upon check in we were told our room has been recently refurbished, when we arrived in the room we just had to laugh. What we were met with was a bad smell, dirty windows and a room that had a new TV, wall paper and bed.

Next stop was the restaurant for dinner. We waited about 5 minutes to be seated and then a further 10 minutes for our order to be taken. When the food arrived it was just awful. And to add insult to injury it took a further 10 minutes to settle our bill, in hind sight we should have just walked out.

This DUMP warrants no futher comment, other than; STAY ANYWHERE ELSE BUT NOT THIS DUMP.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roomsman, Director of Rooms at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 28, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback as it helps us on our continued journey to better ourselves as a hotel property.

We had just recently finished our construction and therefore it took some time to get everything back to normal. Our renovations consisted of new carpet and wall paper and we will be adding new furniture and Flat Screen TVs shortly.

The windows had not yet been cleaned as we were waiting on quotes from several companies. We have since cleaned the windows and the dust, noise has subsided.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience to the guest and thank them once again for their input.

Kind regards,

Denis Barghshoon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Our room had been renovated and was clean and comfortable. The renovations are apparently being done in stages (logical) since everything seemed new but the furniture. The beds are new and offer the electronic dial which allows one to choose softness. Our room faced south, offering a view of downtown Calgary in the distance, but also on a busy road. A bit noisier than I am used to - next time I would ask for a room facing north. Service from all staff we entercountered was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRSM1THAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Very convenient location, free parking. Renovations pretty much complete so didn't encounter problems there. Room was cramped. Hallway noise was very loud. I'm not a big fan of the sleep number beds. Had problems with wired internet, apparently wireless still being installed. Did not dine in the hotel at all. Too many good restaurants nearby.

Pool and exercise rooms not bad. Only problem was no TV in exercise room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuckyRottweiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2009

This is, without a doubt, the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. When you first arrive, you'll notice the outside of the building covered in scaffolding - probably not a good first impression. What you may not have known is that the hotel is currently under construction/renovation, and between the hours of 9am-5am, you will be bombarded by extreme amounts of noise. Enough hammering and drilling to shake the walls of my room. If you plan on sleeping in even a second past 9, avoid this hotel. If you plan on being in your room at all between 9-5, avoid this hotel. Or if you, like me, need to sleep during the days, avoid this hotel. I honestly cannot believe the hotel is open and even charging full price during these renovations. Unacceptable.

My colleagues and I were staying on the upper floors, which are nicer rooms - if by nicer you mean slightly-upscale-roadside-motel quality. Most of the rooms in the lower floors (which some transferred to in the hopes that they could avoid the noise) are disgusting and dingy. The in-room internet in the hotel is not wireless, slow and barely (if ever) functioning. The sheets feel as if they are made of plastic, and the rooms I got to see were quite worn (burns and stains on the carpets, even on the non-smoking floors, as well as damaged walls, etc).

In terms of pros...The lobby area is very nice, some of the staff were a pleasure, and the convenience of having a restaurant and bar downstairs is nice.

I would absolutely not recommend this hotel to anyone. In fact, I'll go out of my way to tell everyone I know not to stay there. Hopefully, once renovations are complete, it lives up to the Radisson standard of quality. Until then, avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DM1676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadcalDOR, Director Rooms Division at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 19, 2009
The hotel has ensured that all channels of booking are aware of the current renovation project and are communicating the same to all patrons looking to reserve accomodations at the hotel.
All rooms will have renovations completed by early October 2009 and will have a choice of both CAT 6 hardwired internet as well as wireless highspeed.
We apologize for any inconvenience caused during the renovations but would like to assure you of an excellent product and service on completion of the same.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

I've stayed at the Radisson multipe times, and even are there sometimes without staying. In a meeting room or in the restaurant. It seems every single time I'm there, there's only one person working. One person in banquet staff, one person in restaurant staff and one person in front desk staff. How is it possible to function off of a one woman (95% of the time) show? Where's management while these women doing it all on their own have line ups of 10 customers patiently waiting?
The renovations on the upside aren't as loud as expected and the new floor which I've been able to recently stay on is rather pleasant.
My advice for this hotel now that renovations is under way is back up your staff.
My advice for travellers that need a speedy check in or check out... don't expect it, not to the employee's faults, but managements.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToodleDoo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadcalDOR, Director Rooms Division at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 19, 2009
The hotel strives to staff the various departments with appropriate levels that is determined by the business inorder for patrons to experience good service levels. Management is involved in assisting line associates as and when required. We appreciate the feedback and will most certainly revisit our staffing stratergies.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Ramada Plaza Calgary Airport Hotel and Conference Centre
Northeast Calgary
Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Northeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Airport Inn
Best Western Airport Inn
#55 of 109 in Calgary
413 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Four Points by Sheraton Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 2120 16th Avenue Northeast, Calgary, Alberta T2E 1L4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering breathtaking views of the magnificent Canadian Rockies and vibrant downtown, the full-service Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport is sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Located less than 10 minutes from the Calgary International Airport (YYC) and the city centre, this Calgary hotel offers easy access to shopping, entertainment, and business districts, as well as local attractions, including Fort Calgary, Telus Spark Science Centre and the Calgary Zoo. Hotel amenities include complimentary, 24-hour airport shuttle service, a pool, whirlpool and fitness room, as well as on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Calgary
Calgary Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing