We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Arts(Calgary)(Great Value!)
$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$152
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Elan(Calgary)
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$211
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$183
$98
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$143
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$134
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Fairmont Palliser(Calgary)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$92
$86
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveler rating
76
167
137
82
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
167
137
82
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan older hotelclose to the airportthe shuttle driveran early flightone night stayfitness roomdowntownconventionvehicle
Filter
Updating list...
382 - 387 of 544 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have stayed here before but this time we had folks partying close by our room. Fiday night was a bit rowdy but Saturday was very loud. After almost 3 hours and 3 calls to the front desk, we were told the police had been called. By this time it was 4 am and we were there on business & had to be up early. It should NOT take 3 hours to shut down rowdy guests. Obviously poor management. We did get the Saturday night taken off of our bill. But as far as we are concerned, we will be finding another hotel to stay at on our next trip to Calgary.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thoroughbredlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrRadissonCalgary, General Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share. It is dissapointing to hear that noise from other guests have impacted your overall feeling, and for that we are truly sorry.
Overall, we work hard on policies focused to deter issues as you suggested, but we are sometimes the victim of guests who return from a great evening out, etc... Depending on the time of night and employee safety, we may rely on police support, and can be a lenghty delay in arriving at the hotel.
Hopefully, you can see from our other contributors, this is not common for us, and would really appreciate another opportunity, as you have enjoyed us before.
Please feel free to contact me directly, and would be happy to assist.

Regards,

Marcel Berube
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Location:
The hotel is located approx 15-20 min drive from the city centre and approx 10-15 min drive from the airport. It is not what we would call the close vicinity of the airport main terminals. The hotel has a shuttle to and from the hotel so easy transport is possible. We did not arrive by plane so we have not tested the shuttle service. The Radisson airport hotel is easy accessible from the highway.

Service:
Our check in went smooth. We got the information we requested.

Rooms:
The room is of good size and it has balcony. The room was clean and has a big flatscreen tv. It has ordinary hotel amenities, but no fridge nor microwave. The lobby and entrance of the Radisson Airport hotel gave a fairly good impression. We were however a bit disappointed over the rooms and other parts of the hotel. Our impression is that the hotel is a bit worn down. The hallways seem a little old and the rooms - particularly the bathroom in our room - could need a refurbishment.

Surrounding areas:
There is a Shell petrol station next to the Radisson airport hotel and there are also some options for food - in addition to those provided in house. Only a few minutes walk from the hotel there is a local bus which takes you to a train/ tram station if you like to go downtown without car or taxi. The ride fare is now in July 2.75 $ for one way ticket and a little over 8 $ for a one day card. For more infor about public transport use www.calgarytransit.ca.

Comments:
#1 - Noise: we recommend you to ask for a room NOT facing the road in front of the hotel. We got a room with a very nice view (if standing on the balcony) towards downtown Calgary, but the noise from the most of the time heavy trafficked road was a annoying if we wanted to keep the balcony door open. We wanted to do so in order to have fresh air and no noisy aircondition. However we had to close the door because of traffic evening and morning. In addition we were "unlucky" because some times the aircraft flew in or took off in a direction which created extra noise.

#2 - internet: Wifi in our room did not work to our satisfaction. It could be that our room has bad coverage because it was in the end of the hallway. However we expect that hotels which provide say they have Internet provide a fully functional one. We experiences several times that internet "threw us out" and we had to log on again. It as also unusually slow most of the time. Maybe we just had bad luck with Internet, but please be aware that you could in a worst case scenario experience some fuss. If you have a regular machine use the internet cable on the Internet cable on the table. That is much better and faster.

#3 - attention to details: We noticed that dirty dishes placed in the hallways after room service remained there for a longer period of time. We also noticed that the vending machine on our floor showed empty for several days. We called guest service to make them aware, but they knew but could not tell when that would be replenished. They asked us to use one of the other on other floors. Fair enough, but this unfortunately contributes to our impression of a certain lack of attention for details.

We have stayed a several Radisson hotels before, but unfortunately this one did not live up to our expectations of the brand. We do question the value and we think the price was not worth it. If you get a good price it might feel different.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReiseKurre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrRadissonCalgary, General Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you taking the share your comments in regards to your stay with us. Your time is very much appreciated for the details provided.
We are conveniently located at mid-point between the airport and the city center as described, with easy acces to many nearby services and local transportation. As such, when originally opened, the number of airport hotels were limited and have since grown exponentially. We continue to maintain complimentary shuttle service, providing one of the more shorter routes, along with very competitive rates.
In striving for operational excellence, our team work very hard to exceed all of our guest's expectations, and thank once again for your feedback. We look forward to being able to welcome you again.

Regards,
Marcel Berube
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Had an excellent check in experience. The room was great. The best was the food and beverage......had beverages, dinner and breakfast every day, not your typical fare. Very much enjoyed my stay. I booked online and was given the option of an upgrade.....that included breakfast and welcome drink. The breakfast was amazing. It is well worth the upgrade fee.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get an upgraded room with breakfast......major value for the minor upgrade charge
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrRadissonCalgary, General Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you for sharing, and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and a great visit to our city during the Stampede!
We look forward to seeing you again, during your next holiday through Calgary.

Regards,

Marcel Berube
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here for a night during the Calgary Stampede and was pleased to see that all the staff were participating in "western dress". We reached the hotel via their free shuttle bus from the airport which was prompt and driven well by a courteous young guy. The hotel itself is on the way to Calgary downtown and the hotel does provide a shuttle bus drop off and pick up service to the Cline train, very handy indeed. Checkin and checkout was hassle free and staff willingly stored our luggage as we were very early. Our room was very clean with a good bed which had controls for selecting various degrees of comfort. The air conditioning unit was a bit noisy but that's not unusual in a lot of hotels. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided 2 coffees and 2 teas but I would like to have seen more coffee in the room - which would eleviate the need to request more. The only problem we had was very noisy plumbing from the room next door and unfortunately some of the guests were very loud in the hallway outside the rooms last at night. This can happen anywhere so I wouldn't hold it against the Radisson, as after all it was Stampede week!! To be fair the staff did apologise but there was no need as there always will be inconsiderate guests the world over.

So all in all a very pleasant, comfortable stay. Definitely one to try.Well done the staff, they make the hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Durhamlady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrRadissonCalgary, General Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for writing, and we are so happy to hear that you not only enjoyed your stay with us, but that you experienced the 100th anniversary of the Calgary Stampede!

We are happy to provide true Western Hospitality, and you are welcomed back anytime.

Marcel Berube
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Booked this before our arrival for our first night's stay via a 'surprise' allocation on Expedia. Foyer impressive and obviously an excellent conference centre. There was a mistake on our booking on their system but this was dealt with efficiently, apologetically and with great customer service. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roweyourboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrRadissonCalgary, General Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

We are so happy to hear from you, and thank you for sharing. Our team members work very hard to ensure that all of our guests leave with the same opinion as yours, and will be so happy to read your feedback!

Thank you once again, and look forward to your next visit.

Marcel Berube
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews