We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not the Howard Johnson I used to...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station
Ranked #98 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is not the Howard Johnson I used to...”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Express? It's the slowest service in the world. An hour to cancel a room. The hotel is old and decrepit; and $80.00 a night is expensive for what you get.
After my experience in this hotel, if somebody ask me for a Howard Johnson, I will say: No thanks.
The policy of cancellations is abusive: I arrive to the hotel after a 3 hour in advance reservation by phone, and when I decided not to stay because that was not what I expected a saw in the web page, they charge me for one night anyways, it was abusive. Maybe they earn $90.00 bur Howard Johnson lost a customer for life.

Room Tip: Avoid it, by any means.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    51
    51
    41
    169
See reviews for
66
64
47
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

$86 for a room the size of the bed basically, but the bed was good! I don't think a $300 damage deposit was necessary though, especially for a place like that. If you're looking for simple and a bed to sleep it's perfect, not if you're looking for luxury though!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Myriah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calgary hotels

San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I had stayed at this hotel for a week in Sep 2013...... It was good experience to stay there for a week during my Canada trip...... Everything was good. Staff were good. Service was quick & excellent...... In short I will recommend it to everybody to stay there once.....Location was also awesome....very near to public commute....And lot of restaurant were there near by area in walking distance....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I did business in third world countries for most of my working life. Of course this entailed staying at some horrible hotels. Being Canadian I would have never imagined that I'd be staying at an even worse hotel in my own country. After staying in this pigsty the first thing I did was immediately go to another hotel to shower off the filth I encountered on the sheets, the carpets, in the bathroom and on and on. I wouldn't make my dog stay in this hellhole. I guess one of the reasons this hotel is run at third world standards is that the owners just recently immigrated from one of those third world countries.

I would go as far to say that the only good reviews shown here are written by the owner's family and friends

Room Tip: There is no such thing as a good room in this "hotel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gLoBe-HoPpErMaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I had stayed at this hotel October 3rd and 4th of 2013. First off, the front desk would not take cash and insisted my credit card, so be it. I was told the refund would be held for 24 hours after checking out. I had asked and there was nothing wrong with the room, so i was told i would be credited back. It's almost been 2 weeks! NOTHING. There were holes in the sheets, the carpets were filthy, overall im disgusted!

Room Tip: Save your money and stress, rent from a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoMo0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2013

A group of friends and I visited Calgary last month for the long weekend and decided to stay at the Howard Johnson Express Inn because of its location. (They are located on Macleod Trail, minutes from downtown and Chinook Centre). Have to say was very impressed with the staff. They were extremely friendly and responded to every concern of ours quickly and effectively. The rooms were very clean and were made up properly, washrooms were clean as well. Incredible value for the price paid, and the staff were very helpful in guiding us to all of the spots that we could visit in the city. Extremely professional in everything. Surprised by the reviews on the site because they're exaggerated and quite frankly, untrue. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kriti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sainte-Adèle, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My room was very outdated and dirty, sheet in beed seemed to be already use by a previous client, stained. The washroom was a disaster, the maid that is cleaning this place obviously needs some lessons on how to clean properly. Found lost a human hair a all sorts of unidentifiable stains in sink and bath tub... We finally didn't use it.

Room Tip: Look around the area before you select it online - Better hotels where in the are, same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cedric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#90 of 109 in Calgary
240 reviews
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#78 of 109 in Calgary
174 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#94 of 109 in Calgary
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge South
#88 of 109 in Calgary
147 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#86 of 109 in Calgary
35 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#87 of 109 in Calgary
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station
Address: 5307 Macleod Trail SW, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0J3, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Calgary)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, free continental breakfast, a guest laundry facility, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. All guest rooms include mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table with chairs, free local calls, a balcony and wake-up service. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (17 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel is a 100 percent smoke-free property. Pets are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. We are centrally located on Macleod Trail SW, and are near local attractions such as Glenbow Museum, Heritage Park Historical Village, and Calgary Zoo. Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station is your best choice within the largest city in Alberta, Canada. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Red Deer or Edmonton. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Calgary Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing