We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical budget motel, improvement needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station
Ranked #98 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel could be so much better if the owner's made a few maintenance improvements.

Entering the room we were hit by a wave of musk, but nothing a quick use of the a/c couldn't remove. The room was incredibly dark. There was only one working light bulb at the entrance and two in the bathroom. Unfortunately we couldn't switch because the hotel was at capacity.

The hotel has free wifi, which is surprisingly fast.

Overnight the room got very cold and we were unable to make the heater work. Also during the night we could hear traffic through the thin exterior walls, although the walls between rooms were satisfactory. In the morning there was a satisfying continental breakfast.

I highly recommend booking early and online. We overheard some people who hadn't booked ahead getting quoted rates almost double what we paid.

This by any means is not a great hotel, but it's okay for a quick night sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelbuddy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 339 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

Nice and clean place to stay in Calgary. I will surely book this Hotel for my future trips.Howard Johnson Express is a perfect choice for people who don't want spend lot of money.Location is very good close to downtown.Feel free to book this Hotel, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1JiJi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I couldn't say enough bad things about this hotel. My friend was in Calgary for an extended period of time for personal reasons and to save money, he stayed in this hotel and when I flew in for the weekend, I ended up staying in the same hotel....BIG MISTAKE.

List of things I disliked most:

1. Hotel smelled like s***.
2. Not safe at all.
3. Room carpets were filthy.
4. No room service came to clean every day.
5. Parking was not safe at all and all open and the surrounding areas were scary.
6. Reception area was in a separate building.
7. Even at the day time had to wait for 20 mins at the reception....not because I was in the line but because the receptionist was inside resting and when came out rarely talked.
8. Reception NEVER answered their office phone.

Verdict - PLEASE do not stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mr_AK_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Booked to stay here 1 night just the day before we were due in Calgary. Location is directly on Macloud Trail just outside the city centre. It's not the most attractive building or location but convenient. Check in was quick and when I asked for a ground floor room the young lady at the desk said "of course I just need to change the original allocation". No fuss, no bother. Done straight away. The entrance to the room was via a door which gave access to two rooms, 1 right & 1 left. There was a bit of a "funny" smell here, possably cigarette smoke from people going out side to partake of their filthy habit. The room though thankfully was smoke free. It was small, very dated and definitely in need of an update. The bed was Ok though the sheets were clean they were past their best. Bathroom was also dated and the shower head DEFINATELY NEEDS de-scaling. The water was barely coming through at a trickle! Noise is a problem. You can hear everything around and above. Breakfast was sufficient. Toast and a choice of 2 cereals+ fresh fruit. Coffee on tap. Although they had tea bags, they didn't appear to have any means of boiling water to make tea? Yes this is dated and old BUT it is cheap for Calgary. I probably wouldn't stay(no definitely) again, but for the once. OK

Room Tip: As far from the road as you can to avoid the traffic noise.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Skinut79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This place is a crap hole!! We originally booked this place because all we needed was a bed to sleep in but it was so not even worth that! The hotel did not honour the rate that we booked at through itravel2000.com and ended up charging us an extra $30 per night. Kuldeep was the front desk agent who gave very poor service and it was quite obvious that she did not care about her job. She very rudely called the manager in front of us and then continued to talk in another language in front of us. Have the courtesy to speak English in front of us so that we know what you are saying! Then they proceeded to preauthorize a $250 damage deposit, which we were not expecting. The room was a dumpy little hole. We were requested a room with a queen bed, which was what the girl at the front said the room had, but it was actually a double bed, which sucked cause I have a pretty big husband. The bed was also extremely uncomfortable. The pillow that I got was super lumpy and the pillow my husband got was a slab of cement. The curtain in the room had holes in it, so did the comforter on the bed. The walls were paper thin and you could here everything that anyone said, we could even hear the guest beside us fart - gross!! The whole place had a funky smell. Worst hotel experience ever!! DO NOT COME HERE, THIS PLACE IS A DIVE!!! I would give this place a zero if I could!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

One of the WORSET Hojos EVER stayed in. Not even at 1 star level. Front desk spiked with attitude, not friendly or helpful. We had requested online early book in due to business meeting. We were told hotel policy was no booking in until 4pm. Then we were told they take a $200 damage deposit up front which was refunded when you check out if there was no damage to the room (yes, they ran my credit card for the full amount up front). NEVER in all my years on business have I EVER had to pay a damage deposit and certainly not in a well established chain. What kind of clientele do they usually accommodate!! And after seeing the room I wondered what was so special. NOTHING it was a dump!!
Room was dirty and smell stove odour of burnt on food. Opened cupboards and they were off the hinges, opened a drawer and the knob fell off. Table legs wiggly. Microwave turntable missing the turning part. Room has NEVER been properly cleaned. Bedcover ripped and full of cigarette burn holes in a 100% non smoking hotel??!! Garbage tucked behind bedside cabinet – my suggestion – FIRE housekeeping!! My question to HOJO “What was the damage deposit for??”
HOJO I expected more from this. I suggest you make haste to check out this hotel and bring them up to your standards!

Room Tip: Don't stay here that is the best advice I can give you.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vishal C, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thanks for reviewing us. We are sorry and confused that why and how you didn't enjoy your 8 night stay here. It pains for us know that ,Despite our best efforts and the best deal on the room stay .You left wanting . You declined the option to leave early with no penalties .Deposit is because all rooms are strictly non - smoking . Which you got back with no deductions at all.At check in you selected a room with a kitchen after a good look. . Room was promptly changed to an upgraded suite consisting of 32" , fridge and a microwave to your satisfaction at no extra cost . Issue with micro wave and the housekeeping were immediately resolved too .We have put in a word to the housekeeping so that there are no shortcomings in future .Hope you will give us another chance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I am staying at the Howard johson express in Calgary and I am very satisfied with this hotel. I am attending a 2 week seminar and if not for this hotel I would not have been able to take the course.Listen,if you are expecting a brand new hotel this is not. But the people who operate it keep it clean and are very helpful. You can pay double the price per room anywhere else near here,its really up to you,but do not expect everything to be perfect, the Price is what i appreciate.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LorneLoucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vishal C, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thanks for reviewing us . We are glad you've enjoyed your stay here . Looking forward to have you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#90 of 109 in Calgary
249 reviews
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#77 of 109 in Calgary
177 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#92 of 109 in Calgary
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge South
#88 of 109 in Calgary
156 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#85 of 109 in Calgary
35 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#86 of 109 in Calgary
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station

Address: 5307 Macleod Trail SW, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0J3, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Calgary)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: $41 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, free continental breakfast, a guest laundry facility, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. All guest rooms include mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table with chairs, free local calls, a balcony and wake-up service. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (17 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel is a 100 percent smoke-free property. Pets are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. We are centrally located on Macleod Trail SW, and are near local attractions such as Glenbow Museum, Heritage Park Historical Village, and Calgary Zoo. Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station is your best choice within the largest city in Alberta, Canada. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Red Deer or Edmonton. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Calgary Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing