We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grungy, low class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station
Ranked #98 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“grungy, low class hotel”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

unclean, the peope stayin here are rowdy and i even saw a hooker going upstairs. Bedding was dirty. Wireless Internet was poor. the kind of people that go to this hotel are not good people. I specially told the company i work with that i would not stay here again. Somebody even scraped my car and then just drove away. The walls have no soundproofing, i could hear the hooker having sex upstairs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Brian154920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    52
    53
    43
    177
See reviews for
72
64
52
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I had prepaid my reservation on line with a credit card. Upon check in I was asked for a security deposit in cash or on my credit for $150.00. When I questioned this since they had already charged my credit card and had my number on file, Iwas told that this is their regular practice and there was nothing I could do about it since my reservation was non cancellable. Then they asked me to give them my CAA card, my credit card and my drivers licence to take photocopies for 'security reasons. I told them that this is a perfect way to set me up for identity theft. If I would not have been so tired and had prepaid I would have walked out.
The hotel and our room were in dire need of renovations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jakobri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calgary hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed for two nights , not knowing any better. Been in town for about a week bouncing from motel to motel as I try to find an apartment. The first tip off was that there was a disgruntled fellow who's key did not work. I went ahead and booked the night anyway. The first night wasnt so bad. That morning I decided to stay another night and went down and payed at the front desk. Went back to the room hoping to sleep in. One of the staff knocked on my door shortly after 11am. I said "just a minute" then she unlocked the door and barged in. I was in bed, in my underwear. She was talking loudly saying "check out! you check out!" I said "no, i booked another night, i already paid!" She goes "oh ok" and leaves. Then later as I was heading out for some lunch Alberta Health inspectors came in and were checking the room. Don't stay here folks!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Traveldude32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vishal C, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for bring this to my attention I am truly sorry for my staff wakening you after you had extended your stay with us. I have spoke to our house keeping staff and front desk and have implemented better communication between the departments so this issue will never happen again.
 
I do realize that you again were disturbed by the Alberta Health Dept. later in the day, the health Dept. does annual inspections of all Alberta hotels  which I am glad to inform you that we have passed.  I do wish to pass on our apologies for both  inconvenience’s and I hope you will return and give us a second chance.
 
Best Regards,
 
Vishal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I travel a lot as a small business owner and frequent travelling , money spent on accomodation should not pinch my pocket along with a decent place to stay. the location is central,the room although have minimal upgrdades but still are clean and the pricing makes up for that..the front end staff is very helpful with directions,eat out options,bus route info and Yes the bus stop is right outside the place.so in the end its good value for every dollar spent.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RV175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vishal C, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for kind words .Guest feedbacks go long way in helping us make your stay more comfortable here. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

As a business traveller i would recommend this property for cheap pricing and central location (near lrt) to all my fellow salespersons travelling on tight budgets , front desk helpful, and rooms comfy you get a good night sleep in what you've paid, the propertty is old but flat screen tv and the shaw cable provided free of charge along with free wi-fi makes up for it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jot1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Relocating from Toronto I needed an economical hotel while I found a rental apartment and I chose this hotel as it offered the best tariff and the location suited me perfectly.It worked fine for me as my stay was comfortable, hassle free and the pleasant surprise was their service which I found exceptionally prompt and thoughtful.From small considerations such as no-questions-asked replacement of lost keys and free breakfast & newspaper to necessities such as the quick & efficient daily room service I found them to be professional and helpful.
While I won`t say that the hotel is luxurious I do think it provides the best value for your money in Calgary.If you are not expecting the moon (at the prices that they are offering) this hotel is highly recommended.

Ashok

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashok S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We booked this hotel on booking.com thinking it was going to have same high standard as Regina Howard Johnson. Wrong assumption. This place is disgusting and we got the impression it was most likely the kind of scummy establishment rented by the hour. It was supposed to be smoke free however the room reeked of smoke. There were burn marks in carpet and on bed spread. The pillow cases had mascara/make up on them not sure if stained or just not washed. We were in room only a few mins and I started coughing and getting runny nose from allergies. I did not have puffer or allergy meds and knew we would not sleep on the terribly warped matress. after hauling our stuff in room we ended up packing it all up back into car. We went to office and said we did not want to stay and described room. The old moldy dirty wall air conditioner was a disgusting health hazzard. The guy at desk said he would call manager. The manager MunMun refused to refund our money. I calledbookibg.com and they refused to help. I then called the manager directly only to be hung up on. We decided to leave anyway and cut our losses. We stayed at another hotel that night which was lovely and clean. The next morning booking.com sent email saying they were reversing the charge for the night not spent at the Howard Johnson.
Don't go there as worse than any third world lodging I have ever stayed at and manager of hotel a complete slum boss.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank danceaddikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#91 of 109 in Calgary
244 reviews
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#76 of 109 in Calgary
177 reviews
Econo Lodge South
#87 of 109 in Calgary
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#94 of 109 in Calgary
187 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#85 of 109 in Calgary
35 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#86 of 109 in Calgary
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station
Address: 5307 Macleod Trail SW, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0J3, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Calgary)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, free continental breakfast, a guest laundry facility, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. All guest rooms include mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table with chairs, free local calls, a balcony and wake-up service. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (17 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel is a 100 percent smoke-free property. Pets are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. We are centrally located on Macleod Trail SW, and are near local attractions such as Glenbow Museum, Heritage Park Historical Village, and Calgary Zoo. Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station is your best choice within the largest city in Alberta, Canada. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Red Deer or Edmonton. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Calgary Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing