We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appearance better than expected, but cold in winter visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station
Ranked #98 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Fernie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Appearance better than expected, but cold in winter visit”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

The hotel was so so. It was on the cheapier side, and in a good location for the area we wanted to be in (near Chinook). It has it's perks as well as some major downsides. The stand-alone lobby building was disgusting...when we entered, it stunk like sewer. It was gross. Luckily the rooms were much better. They were actually nicer in appearance than anticipated based on website photos. The room was fairly clean...a couple cigarette burns in our comforters even though it's a non-smoking room, and old food tray under one of the beds. The bathroom was clean and was fairly new (stayed there Feb 2012). The major downsides was pretty tight parking areas, and the radiant heat didn't seem to heat up our room at all....not that the huge gaps around the door helped letting tons of cold air in. It was one of the end rooms where there is one outside door (which was open), then you walk into a lobby with two suite doors. Air came in from under this door, and probably from the sides as well as we could see light through it.

Location, price = good. Staying there in the window = never again.

Room Tip: Check the room before finalizing your booking. Especially in the winter months!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdubber10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    51
    52
    42
    172
See reviews for
68
64
48
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I have never had such a bad experience with accommodations as I did with HoJo Express. I assumed by the name that a certain standard would be adhered to, but this is not the case. The free wi-fi that was advertised did not work, the LCD television had only one channel that worked, the patio door did not lock, and the "continental" breakfast consisted of three oranges and some cookies. I was so creeped out by the place that I didn't want to stay there for the three nights that I had booked, but they do not do refunds.

After checking out, I discovered that my credit card had been charged an additional $20. When I called to inquire as to the nature of the charge, the girl informed me that there was blood on two towels and a facecloth. This is a blatant lie! The manager was supposed to phone me back yesterday, but of course I received no phone call.

Save yourself the stress and book somewhere else - anywhere else. This place is a scam and a rip-off.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comar18, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
It is very unfortunate that your stay at our property was not pleasant , but we want to inform you that any incidentals charged to your card are for valid reasons. Not to mention that pictures were taken as evidence and can be emailed to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

My husband and I chose to stay here because of the Ho Jo name, but have never been so disappointed in any motel! First, the room was run down, and the FREE wi-fi that was advertised on the sign, did not work at all! We needed to do laundry and the drier was out of order (and appeared to have been out of order for some time), we asked if we could use the drier the motel uses for towels/sheets/etc, and were told that it too was out of order!?! What?! We went to get ice and discovered that the ice machine was broken...to top it all off the bed was lumpy, preventing us from getting a good night's sleep! The only nice thing I have to say about this place was that the young lady working at the front desk was pleasant and we felt bad that she had to work at such a crappy motel!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank travel0ver35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comar18, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Hi, we would like to apologise about your experience .We need to know when wifi was not working.As far as we know we 've had no complaints about wifi & ice machine .For that matter wifi's strength & speed has always been applauded . You came to the front desk & demanded access to professional hotel laundry .Reason , your work clothes are too dirty & dIdn't want to use guest laundry machines .We would like to protest in strongest terms about this mis leading review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calagry,AB
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Just like to say that I was at the only HoJo in Calgary and found the people,location to be up to what I expect at other fine hotels.
Never had a problem that was not fixed after I called the "Front Desk".
Staff were polite and kept the premises clean.
Cannot find any complaint that was not taken care of after I notified the "Front Desk".
Overall, I have to say that my stay was very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmonk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed here with family for about 2 weeks. Stay was comfortable. Mini-Kitchen facility was of a great help, specially while staying with family. The rates were reasonable, with the property situated quite close to the Calgary Downtown, transit and Chinook Center Mall. Staff was very friendly and co-operative.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prasad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I have just recently stayed at the howard johnson in calgary
the rooms were very clean and the staff was very nice and helpful.
Everything I requested for was brought to me and they were very nice about it.
For the price I paid i was very pleased with everything!
AWESOME hotel and price !!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksekhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Its Really good to stay in this hotel, i stayed for a week and every thing looked fine for me, here the front desk agent was very friendly and helped me a lot, rooms are very clean. i enjoyed staying here and i recommond this hotel if you visit calgary and downtown is very close to this hotel, i can assure you that you will enjoy staying here. I came very early in the morning before the standard checkin time and front desk agent saw me very tired and promptly alloted me a upgraded room with no extra cost.

Room Tip: rooms on main floor, ask for a room with fridge, microwave and LCD TV(no extra charges).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madan Mohan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#92 of 109 in Calgary
242 reviews
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#77 of 109 in Calgary
175 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#93 of 109 in Calgary
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge South
#90 of 109 in Calgary
148 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#87 of 109 in Calgary
758 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#85 of 109 in Calgary
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station
Address: 5307 Macleod Trail SW, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0J3, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Calgary)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, free continental breakfast, a guest laundry facility, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. All guest rooms include mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table with chairs, free local calls, a balcony and wake-up service. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (17 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel is a 100 percent smoke-free property. Pets are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. We are centrally located on Macleod Trail SW, and are near local attractions such as Glenbow Museum, Heritage Park Historical Village, and Calgary Zoo. Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station is your best choice within the largest city in Alberta, Canada. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Red Deer or Edmonton. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Calgary Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing