We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
Nearby Hotels
$467
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Arts(Calgary)(Great Value!)
$306
$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$242
$161
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$214
$139
Delta Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$164
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$145
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Elan(Calgary)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$205
$147
Delta Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$154
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$85
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveler rating
51
91
51
25
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
91
51
25
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscalled motelcontinental breakfasthot tubc trainbudget hotelhard boiled eggssmall fridgeexercise roomrestaurants within walking distancethe breakfast areacoffee makerwi fiqueen bedfront desk staffyogurtlrtfoothills
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 249 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2007

Room was nice, but the air/heat fan was very noisy. We stayed in the new tower which is nice appearing. The older section needs cosmetic work and is in disrepair. We stayed Thursday and Friday. I asked for AAA rates, which were approved for Thursday, but denied for Friday. I believe this is against AAA policy and intend to report this to AAA. When we checked in, we were told that all guests had to give a $100 security deposit or room would be denied. We were not told this when we made the reservations on phone. I was angry about this, but gave them the deposit because it was 9:00 p.m. I would not stay at this facility again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Darrchek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2007

Really nice hotel, very clean, very very nice staff. the bathroom in our room was exceptionally clean, no hairs, no nails. the only thing that was disappointing with our room was that the air freshener smelt like perming chemicals but you couldn't notice it once you stayed in the room for a while. but otherwise a great stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tgpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2006

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. This is the second time we've stayed there. We learnt that you need to request the new part of the hotel, the older rooms are not nice. However, the new part is nice. The room was spacious and clean, the beds comfortable. The only negative thing was that there was a couple football and hockey teams staying there the 2nd night. We had 3 or 4 drunk high schoolers outside our door around midnight, throwing each other into the walls in the hallway. Needless to say, I wasn't happy. I called down to the front desk and it must have helped, because they left. We'll probably stay there again. The price isn't overly great, but it seems pretty comparable to other places.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arms_n_all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2006

I had called the hotel two months prior to our arrival and booked two rooms with two beds each. I received confirmation numbers for each room. Due to a death in the family we had to postpone the start date of our trip by two days and altered all of our hotel arrangements without problem until we reached Calgary. I had called the hotel there and changed our booking date by two days, which they confirmed. Our party of seven arrived at the hotel to check in shortly after 4pm on our scheduled day of arrival and were told that they didn't have rooms for us. The front desk agent told us that it was he himself who had booked the original rooms for us and made the changes but couldn't understand what had happened and that maybe it was a computer glitch or maybe he had accidentally put the reservations for the wrong month. He did say they had one room with a king sized bed and some of the party could stay there but the rest would have to find accommodations elsewhere. We told him this was not acceptable and that was not what we booked. On the front desk was a notice about 100% satisfaction but he clearly had no intention of living up to that statement or putting us in touch with anyone who would. He was not at all apologetic, nor did he try to find us alternative accommodations. When we became upset he began to insinuate that the entire problem was our fault and that we should leave. At no point did he ever offer us any assistance to find alternative lodgings. We asked to speak to the manager and he said that was not their policy but that he did speak to the manager on the telephone, who told him there was nothing they could do. We again insisted on talking to the manager directly and were told no that was not how it was done and that we should leave. We had to find another hotel for that night, which was very difficult as most hotels were already fully booked. I tried to see the manager the next day to see what could be done to satisfy us and found no manager there. Furthermore, it turned out that the so-called manager he says he spoke to was just the front desk supervisor. Again, I received no help from them. I would advise anyone who is considering staying there to ensure that their rooms are confirmed one to two days before arriving so that no one else is put in the unfortunate situation that we found ourselves in.

Stayed: August 2006
2  Thank rockcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2006

We stayed here in July 2005 on our way through the Rockies. It's in an area with several motels (Holiday Inn, Hampton, Quality Inn are all within 2 minutes walk of it)and very near the metro line into downtown Calgary.

It's a basic motel. The room was big and clean and well equiped with coffee facilities, fridge and TV.

The breakfast was very simple, some cereal and some muffins and there wasn't much space in there either, but on the whole a reasonable stop off.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MildAccountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews