We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
Ranked #74 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing customer service”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My grandfather booked a room here for his recent stay. Upon arriving in Calgary, he was taken directly to the hospital by ambulance due to health issues experienced during the flight. After spending the entire night in the emergency room, we were advised to have him stay with us in order to monitor his unstable condition. My mother had called that evening to explain the situation and cancel the booking. The staff were not understanding at all and charged them for the room despite the extenuating circumstances. I called to speak further about this to the front desk manager and after leaving a message for him to return my call, never received a response. Very disappointing lack of understanding and customer service. Will not book again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoInnsSuites, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear alar88,

I am deeply sorry about your grandfather and hope he is doing better now. I have spoken with our front desk supervisor who unfortunately had not received any messages from anyone regarding this matter. I am not sure who you spoke with at this point or left a message with, but if a situation such as yours arises the matter is taken up with the manager that is on duty at that moment to handle. We are really concerned about this and would like to resolve this, because our guest satisfaction is important to us. Please do give me a call at 403-289-1921.

I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    86
    49
    23
    27
See reviews for
84
61
30
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff National Park, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Enjoyed our stay, room was quiet, clean and cozy. Overall the hotel was clean and updated, and we felt secure with a fenced in area. Although there was construction on other hotels, there was no noise or other disturbances. The breakfast was good and had a nice atmosphere and comfortable seating available. Booked this hotel for convenience for our appointment the next day. Traffic to and from was not too bad for Calgary, would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: South side if construction (Daytime) becomes bothersome?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnDNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoInnsSuites, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear SnDNorth,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear your stay was quiet and secure. Our staff works hard to ensure our guests feel comfortable and at home. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Sounds travel way too easily between rooms and it was easy to hear activity in the next suite through the adjoining door. A women was taking clients for massage with "happy endings". I could hear details of transaction, conditions, and subsequent 'services rendered'.

I will not be coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 902Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear 902Visitor,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We're concerned about the issue you experienced while at our property during your last stay and consequently it's disappointing to learn you are unsatisfied. Please accept our apology. We can assure you that the types of customers you are describing are not welcome at our hotel. We are very involved with the other hotels in the area and the Calgary Police Service in ensuring that these undesirable activities are kept out of the village. We do have measures in place to detect these types of people; however as much as we wish they came with a sign on them, they don't. If you had alerted us to these activities we could have removed the guest immediately. We hope that the next time you are in Calgary we can have the opportunity to meet your hotel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night during one of my business trip to Calgary. Booked through web and the check-in was smooth. Queen bed room was decent and clean. Their breakfast was complimentary and nice. I had a good sleep which was essential on that day. For that short trip with limited budget and time to search, I found this hotel really good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank FoxMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear FoxMcDonald,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We're always happy to hear we have met our guests expectations, especially when it comes to their sleep as our main goal is your good nights sleep. We hope to have the opportunity to meet your needs again the next time you come to Calgary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Friendly check-in, very clean and comfortable room, continental breakfast. We stayed in a queen suite on the third floor and it was very quiet. The surroundings were not suitable for walking due to other construction but if you have a vehicle it should not be a problem. We would stay here again. Thank you to the wonderful housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makenzee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Makenzee28,

Thank you so much for the great review! We are always happy when we have been able to meet the needs of our guests and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

"Banff Trail" is a dead end road known only to long-term residents of Calgary. After getting poor directions, and driving in circles for 25-minutes, I finally found this motel east of McMahon Stadium and about 3km from the University of Calgary. Friendly reception, comfortable room, quiet surroundings (except for the idiot upstairs who wore work boots in his room), swimming pool, coffee maker, and a full continental breakfast selection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperDave47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear SuperDave!

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all the comments and suggestions from our guests and while our location is hard to change your experience in our hotel is. I'm pleased our staff, rooms and amenities were able to meet your expectations, especially breakfast as we do offer an upgraded version of the Choice hotels mandated Easy Starts Breakfast to meet the growing demand for an expanded selection. I can't speak for the idiot upstairs who wore work books, but our front desk is available 24 hours to assist with any guest issues that arise, even when it comes to asking other guests to quiet down.
I'm hoping the next time you come to Calgary you will make us your choice again and perhaps we can even give you a top floor room!
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is my second time here. We stayed for one night when we flew into Calgary for our holiday into the Canadian Rockies. The location is ideal for this as it is on the right side of Calgary and if you've done an international flight, you don't want a long drive. Will use again if I visit the area.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank newman_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your TripAdvisor review! We love to hear when we have met the expectations of our guests. Your review only gave us a 3 out of 5 and we hope that you can let us know how to bring that up to a 5 out of 5. We look forward to meeting your accommodation needs the next time you are in Calgary and bringing your stay experience with us from Good to Great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#94 of 109 in Calgary
185 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#41 of 109 in Calgary
279 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
Address: 2231 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University Hotel Calgary
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites University
Econo Lodge University
Econo Lodge Calgary
Calgary Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing