We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't take suite on 3rd floor” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
Ranked #73 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Innisfail, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't take suite on 3rd floor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We rented suite on 3rd floor and it was dirty, entrance tiles coming out, the utensils were
dirty and hair on the tub. Room was ok. Front desk was short tiny girl you can hardly see
her, she did not know what she was doing and took over 20 minutes to check in, seemed
she was lost. We read housekeeping plague on walls but the room give was dirty and need
ed work. So guys try to keep it up.

Room Tip: Do Not rent suites, you will feel SORRY
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoInnsSuites, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello

My name is Rory Siddall and I am the Sales & Marketing Coordinator here at the EconoLodge Inn & Suites University.

I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. Our beautifully appointed guest rooms are among the cleanest rooms you will ever stay in, it is almost unheard of that they are unsatisfactory.

There are agents available 24 hours a day able to resolve any issue you encounter in your room, I wish you would have brought these concerns to our attention so they could have been resolved immediately.

If you would like to address your concerns further please do not hesitate to contact me directly, I would be interested to hear about your experience checking into the hotel.

Rory Siddall
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
EconoLodge Inn & Suites University
(403) 289 - 1921
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    83
    45
    21
    26
See reviews for
76
59
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dryden, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed here with my kids. The room was big and clean, the beds comfortable.
We had a kitchenette, a nice room for a family.
The breakfast was nice.
The kids had fun in the pool. We will stay again if we are in Calgary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoInnsSuites, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about us, we really enjoy reading them, and they are the number one way to learn how we can improve.

At the EconoLodge Inn & Suites University, families are our specialty. We have many different room options available for families including large kitchenette suites, rooms with separate bedrooms, and more!

We have won the Alberta Hotel and Lodging Associations Housekeeping Award many times, and we have passed careful inspection from many different agencies. With credentials like that you can be assured that the rooms you will be staying will surpass your expectations!

All of our guests are treated to our complimentary Bright Starts Breakfast featuring the comforts of breakfast items you would find at home. We have an assortment of muffins, danishes and bread; as well as a selection of coffee tea and juice. In our breakfast area we have large tables so you can eat with your entire family.

Guests LOVE our pool. It is located just off the main lobby of the hotel, and it is open daily from 7am until 10pm!

We look forward to seeing you and your family here again!

Rory Siddall
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
EconoLodge Inn & Suites University
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The price was the best value in the area. Breakfast not bad. There was milk and cereal as well as danishes. Room was spacious with a kitchen sink and medium size bathroom. We stayed here 2 nites, once upon arrival to Canada, and the nite before flying out!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2Travel3207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoInnsSuites, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. Reviews help us see what we are doing right, and where we need to improve.

It pleases me to hear that you thought ou price was the best value in the area. Here at the EconoLodge Inn & Suites University we actually go to great lengths every single day to research what all the other hotels prices are, this way we can be sure that we are priced to give optimal value to our guests.

All of our guests are treated to our Bright Starts Breakfast, featuring the items you would find in your own home, including, a variety of cereal, muffins, danishes, bread, juice, coffee, and more!.

It sounds like you booked a suite with us. Being an EconoLodge Inn & Suites, we have standard rooms as well as suites available, a perfect option for a traveling family, or a business traveler.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us, we look forward to you future stays!

Rory Siddall
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
EconoLodge Inn & Suites University
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in August 2012. We like our room. It is smaller then what we thought we had booked. We have 2 children and 2 adults and it was a bit snug. We asked for a kitchen.. We got it but it was nothing like expected. We expected counter space to prepare food. So instead of 6 feet of bathroom counter they should add on to the kitchen counter.

We enjoyed the pool for what it was worth. And there were only 3 other ladies in it and they were done as we came in. The parking was okay. We almost always were able to park at the same spot almost alllll the time which was nice. We loved that it was close to the Banff Trail LRT Station which made it easy to get to the Zoo. We also enjoyed that it was close to 16 avenue so we could get to and from places. the staff at the front was very nice. We kind of wish we would of been in the tower ( us three and my mom wishes we could of walked right into our room)

I wish the breakfast was better- but i guess thats what you get for the price. I did like that at 9:30 they still had everything someone that at 7 am would of gotten. Good on you for that.

The beds were really comfy. I had a good sleep the first two nights. I dont know about the 3rd night cause it hasn't happened yet :p

The room was kinda dusty.. but we got used to it

So over all I recommend this hotel in the Motel village. The price made it worth it. And I would likely stay here again.

I rated restaurant and room service by accident. Hotel doesnt have restaurant attached and i doubt room service So i just voted average.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are better. try to get one there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amylauren33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoInnsSuites, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Hello!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! Reviews really help us at the hotel know what we are doing right, and what we need to improve on!

I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. I understand that there may not have been enough counter space, however as I am sure you can appreciate, there is only so many different ways we can configure the hotel rooms. All of our guest rooms do have microwave and fridges.

Our pool is a favorite among guests and we go to great lengths to ensure that it is always clean and operational for our guests. We also have a fitness center for guests to use!

All of our guests will enjoy 1 free parking spot per reservation, and some guests can even park right in front of their room just like you!

We are located only a few steps from the Banff Trail LRT Station which will allow all of our guests to access the entire city within minutes. The LRT stops directly at the Calgary Zoo, and if you purchase our Zoo Package, you receive tickets with your reservation.

Our front desk staff our trained to answer any question that you have. There is an agent available 24 hours per day to assist you. Simply come to the front desk, or dial 0 on your house phone.

Our hotel actually has 3 sections. The first section is the Tower Section.. This is the newest section of the hotel and features hotel style rooms that are accessible only by elevator. Our East Courtyard & West Courtyard feature motel style rooms that are accessible from the parking lot.

I'm very sorry to hear that you found the room dusty. If you had informed our front desk they would have been able to send housekeeping to ensure the room was to our high standards. We have won the Alberta Hotel and Lodging Associations Housekeeping Award, many years in a row. We have also passed careful inspection from AAA and Choice Hotels Canada.

Thanks again for writing a review about us! We hope to see you soon!

Rory Siddall
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
EconoLodge inn & Suites University
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hotel is just a block away from the train station. Its conveniently located. Best part you get free parking. They have enough for the no of rooms.Parking is a little bit snug and difficult to moneavure. Its more kind of a motel. With a breakfast build in to the price I found it really cheap. Didnt use i though so wont be able to comment. I would definately stay here for the price it had to offer. Unlike the big hotels where it looks jazzy but then all you need is a nice sleep... this oen surely scores as the beds were very comfortable. The front staff was really helpful as I missed out on my check out time and they accomodated my request.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoInnsSuites, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Hello

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to review us. Reviews like your are extremely helpful to guests who are looking to visit Calgary.

We are proud to say that we offer one free parking stall to all guests, however we do admit that it is a bit snug.

We call our breakfast a Bright Starts Breakfast. This energizing breakfast is the perfect way for guests to start their day. Featuring a variety of muffins, danish, and cereal. Round off your meal with coffee, tea, juice, and a piece of fruit.

We don't attempt to appear jazzy like a big hotel, we are an EconoLodge - we go to great length to ensure that our price is fair for what we offer, that way you can spend the night, not a fortune!

I'm glad you enjoyed our mattresses - we actually just got new ones!

Our front desk is always helpful! We have agents at our front desk 24 hours per day, and all of them are more than qualified to assist you with anything you need!

Thanks again for writing a review for us!

Rory Siddall
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
EconoLodge Inn & Suites University
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Bottom Line - one of the best values in Calgary's Motel Village and if the stars align (ie: everything works out perfectly), this motel represents an excellent execution of a budget hotel.

I've stayed at several of the motels in Motel Village and always come back here for a combination of price, location (close to McMahon Stadium, the University of Calgary, an LRT stop for great access to downtown, McDonalds, several restaurants, a convenience store and a liquor store for those so inclined), and overall value...where the pros outweigh the cons. The rooms in the main building (I last stayed on the second floor) are better than those with outside access and are relatively up to date, clean and comfortable. My room had a small fridge, a coffee maker, and a microwave...uncommon at a variety of price points. The continental breakfast is exactly that...no more, no less with the standard fare served in styrofoam and plastic and everything gets put away exactly on time, so late sleepers beware. The pool is fine and the fitness centre has an excellent treadmill, stationary bike and elliptical machine (one of each) that were rarely used during my last stay, but no weights or anything. Lots of fresh towels and materials to clean the machines after a workout show the attention to detail. The WiFi worked well throughout my stay.

On the down side, the front desk staff while friendly, ranged from knowledgeable and efficient (but sticklers for the rules and for "policy") to spacey. Also, when the hotel is full, parking can be tight so if you are pulling a trailer during summer season, you may want to make arrangements ahead of time.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building and on the second floor to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ehviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoInnsSuites, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hello

I wanted to thank you for writing such a detailed review about us. All of the staff were thrilled to read your comments.

I just wanted to clarify something about the hotel.

Some of the rooms in the hotel are in the newer tower section of the hotel. The tower section of the hotel features our newest rooms, and they are hotel style (meaning that you go up an elevator, and all of the rooms are accessible from the hallway)

There is a section of the hotel that has rooms that are motel style (doors open to the outside), these rooms are located on the ground floors. These rooms are actually going to be renovated this coming fall!

Thanks again for leaving us such a accurate and well thought out review!

Rory Siddall
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Surprised by this property. Nice inviting lobby with fireplace and large breakfast area. Rooms better furnished than expected for "economy" property; almost elegant. Good location in hotel area one block from light rail to downtown. Many restaurants nearby within walking distance. Parking a bit snug as hotel was completely full one night I was there. My room was clean and not dusty as one reviewer mentioned. Overall very satisfied and quite pleased with my choice.

Room Tip: I stayed in tower (five floors). Don't have info about lower "motel" style units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tschef18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoInnsSuites, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hello

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. Reviews good and bad, really help us reflect on the way we do things.

We put extra though into our room furnishings, and we actually in many ways exceed the brand standards for EconoLodge in this respect.

We are centrally located only a few steps away from the Banff Trail LRT station. This system will take you anywhere in the city, including the Downtown Calgary, The Calgary Zoo, and more! Guests love being able to leave their car at the hotel, and not have to worry about parking downtown.

We are walking distance from many hotels such as, Nicks Steak House, Boston Pizza, McDonalds, Tipperaries Pub, Phil's, Denny's, and a lot more.

We admit that parking is a bit snug, however each room is guaranteed 1 complimentary parking spot.

Our housekeeping has won the Alberta Hotel and Lodging Associations housekeeping award many times, so you can be rest assured that our rooms are as clean as possible.

The tower rooms are the newest rooms in the hotel - the nicest. We will actually be renovating almost all of the motel style units this coming fall!

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review about us.

Rory Siddall
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#44 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN PLUS Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#47 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
Address: 2231 Banff Trail, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University Hotel Calgary
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites University
Econo Lodge University
Econo Lodge Calgary
Calgary Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing