We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad but is sliding backwards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
Ranked #77 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed April 1, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel on many occasions and this trip we found that overall the sevice is slipping. it is most noticable in their breakfast which was very poor compared to other stays,which consisted of thin toast , cold cereal, or one choice of pastry. there was no selection in the way of fruits etc for anyone with a heallth problem. the other problem i encountered was that my bill had another guests bill printed on the back side so individual privacy does not secure.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waltay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 242 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2011

We had to stay overnight for 2 evenings due to a procedure that was required at the Foothills Hospital. I am not a confident driver in the city. I only had to deal with 2 stop lights and it was a 5 minute drive from the facility. Check in was quick and efficient. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chelseadoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stayed 1 wk w/ kitchenette, prepaid in advance, $495.00 without the breakfast (if you want the BK it's $8 p/person which wasn't worth it you'll only get coffee & tea, milk, cereals, toasts and cheap muffins & mini pastries ) There r MacDonald, Denny's restaurant (24hr), good viet pho restaurant called Saigon Y2K and other eateries within 5-10 mins of walking distance. This area is called Motel Village where there are many other motels and Inns w/ in 2 blocks and city train station right in front. So check out the other motels . GOOD LOCATION 10 mins to DT but bit far fr the Airport.. about 25mins by car.
The kitchenette w/ single Q size bed unit we stayed was nice it was like a bachelor suite except the mattress which was terrible, for sure it needs to be replaced, Other than that this Econo Lodge Inns & Suite University was alright.
Oh service? We never had any problems

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ProV1calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

This hotel was a great value for $99/night, on motel row, Banff Trail in Calgary. I'm not sure about the rest of the hotel, but we were told the "tower" was only two years old and it was lovely for a standard hotel room with comfy beds, unworn linens and fluffy towels, small soaker tub, microwave, bar fridge, iron and hairdryer. My only issues were the squeaky bathroom door and some black mould growing beside one of the soap holders in the shower/tub. The breakfast area in the lobby had a large screen TV with the news on, bread for toasting, cereals, muffins, tiny danishes, coffee, juice and red delicious apples. Free WIFI with password. Tiny desk with computer supplied in the breakfast area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vivacious64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed here for only 1 night in our Canada vacation. The hotel is comfortable and cheaper then any other hotels in downtown Calgary. We need no more than 15 min drive to downtown and 20 min to the airport. Near hotel there is metro station.

We have one double room with 2 queen beds. It is very clean and comfort. The Hotel also offers free breakfast with Muffins, toast, fruits and so on.

I would definitely reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GREENJOE2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Surprisingly it was nicer that I expected; it seems like a fairly new hotel and could easily be part of a more upscale hotel chain. When we walked into the room, there was a whiff of perm solution, which I assumed is what they used for cleaning. This could be a problem with people with allergies. We were in town during a Lions game on a Saturday and our 5th floor tower hallways were quiet. The Wireless Internet signal is strong and speed is fast. We had no problems checking in or out; nor did we have any staff conflicts.

The only problem we did have was an unplanned wake-up call at 7:30a.m that we didn’t order. I thought the first time was a fluke. The second time it happened, we reported it to the hotel desk and they said there was no programming for it and it shouldn’t have happened.
There are two Econolodges in Motel village. So when I looked at the other reviews, I can’t confirm if people choose the right hotel. This Econolodge is located beside the C train tracks.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gbsask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night cause our flight was early in the morning. The hotel is comparable cheaper then airport hotels and it takes about 15 min drive to the airport. The hotel your typical 2.5 star hotel. Room was good size with 2 queen beds which was fine for 2A and 2C. They have small swimming pool and a hot tub on the main floor which we did not use. They also have a small fitness room, which I used to in the morning. Nice and clean.

They also offer a small selection of breakfast in the morning (Cereal, toast, pastries and fruit). The front staff were curtious and they called our room about 1/2 hour after we checked to make everything was fine. Nice stay for 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Musti82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#92 of 109 in Calgary
195 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#35 of 109 in Calgary
298 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Hotel Alma
Hotel Alma
#71 of 109 in Calgary
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University

Address: 2231 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: $60 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University Hotel Calgary
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites University
Econo Lodge University
Econo Lodge Calgary
Calgary Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing