We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #43 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Booked here for a conference. Not only was it Stampede but the hotel was completing renovations and 2 out of 4 elevators were not in use. We were late getting in and the staff could not find my reservation, even after I gave my confirmation number. Then we got our roon, walked in and it totally reeked like someone had just bad a cigarette! I called the front desk and a clerk was up in less than 5 minutes with a new, and very clean room. Nice access to highway 1 and the Stoney Trail. Would stay here again...once the renos are done.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank DRobb04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie G, Director of Sales at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you for your review and we do appreciate your understanding and patience while we complete our hotel renovations. We look forward to having you as our guest once again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 636 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our arrival did not bode well, renovations going on inside and out. No sign of a concierge, even though there is a prominent Concierge stand. Never saw any concierge until the Sunday we left.
This was a conference stay for my wife. She had obtained a booking showing the same rate for all four nights. When we left they added a surcharge of around forty bucks or more a night for the last two nights because Stampede had started. A discussion with the manageress was useless. She blamed central booking out of Vancouver and refused to honour the quoted rate. We were in Tower A, and the elevator was in distress. One side didn't work, and the one that did had a dysfunctional monitoring lights, it also slammed closed, knocking anyone who didn't move fast enough. There was a stairway access, but security kept locking it. This was an upgraded room, but the view was only the parking lot and the massive car dealership surrounding the Hotel.
Three star place headed for two and one half.

Room Tip: Try a different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie G, Director of Sales at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

We do apologize for the inconvenience our renovations caused you and your wife during your recent stay with us. We are in the process of upgrading the entrances and lobby as well as our elevators being completely modernized.. There is never a great time to do renovations in a hotel, and we try to ensure the inconveniences for our guests are minimal. With regard to the conference room rate, the rates for the conference were contracted with an increase during the Stampede dates. Our renovations to the building will be completed in October and all our elevators will be completely modernized and functional towards the end of November.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we hope you will return in the future to experience our renovated hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Coast Plaza is a good hotel for business purposes as it is relatively convenient from the airport and the amenities are good. The good points of the hotel are that it is clean, nicely appointed, and the service and value are good. However, the location of the hotel is not conducive to "walking out your door" and being part of the downtown scene of Calgary if that is what you are looking for. One environmental plus is that rooms in Tower B had "large containers" of toiletry products available so that you didn't end up using all those little bottles of shampoos which seems very wasteful in the long run.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisDykau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie G, Director of Sales at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having the opportunity to accommodating you once again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The hotel is under renovation so it will get better as time goes on. The smell of glue in some areas was a bit much. This is an older hotel and looks a bit tired. There were 3 staff at the desk when I arrived. I am a big first impression guy and the girl, although she spoke to me never once made eye contact. Wayne the second person saved it with his friendly attitude. I was on the 3rd floor in B tower near the back. The air-conditioning units were just below me on the second floor roof so with the window open it was very noisy. The air conditioners in the rooms were not great so it was a bit warm. The restaurant in the hotel was awful! Service was good but the food was not great. The restaurant was wide open, noisy sparsely decorated and felt cold. Worn carpets. I would drive to eat. The hotel is a bit out of the way.

Room Tip: Higher up and away from 2nd floor roof top cooling units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie G, Director of Sales at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we do appreciate it. We apologize for the inconvenience of our renovations to the main lobby, conference lobby, and entrances to be complete by mid August. We have shared your comments with the departments involved and your concerns are being addressed.

We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed here for two days on business. I had a very good sleep both nights, and the room is comfortable and quiet. It is nothing fancy, but was quite clean, and the bed was comfortable. It is good value for the price. The hotel shuttle was the highlight of the whole stay. It was simple to book ahead of time for my airport pick-up, and the shuttle was waiting when I had collected my bags. It was easy to book on the way back to the airport as well, and the shuttle drivers were friendly and courteous. It is about a 15 minute shuttle drive from the airport, so take this into account when booking your transportation. Ordered room service one night, which arrived quickly and still hot, and was very good. The hotel is undergoing some renovations, including to the elevators, which are a bit slow. Travellers should be aware that this hotel is in a industrial part of town, and apart from the hotel restaurant, and some nearby fast-food restaurants, there are few options for dining within walking distance. A rental car or other transportation downtown is a must for sightseeing, as this is not located in a tourist area by any means. That said, if you aren't picky about location, and you want a quiet, clean place to stay, this is a good option.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purplegrapefruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie G, Director of Sales at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

We appreciate your time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the services provided. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Had a great stay, included a free shuttle from and to the airport, staff were helpful and friendly. Had great meals and awesome rooms with a great view of the Rockies. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthew a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie G, Director of Sales at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Many thanks for sharing your opinion of the hotel on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of the shuttle service.

We hope to accommodate you once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Coast Plaza sits proudly on a bluff over the Trans-Canada Highway at 36th Street, but just try to find its driveway once off the highway. The property sits at the back end of an industrial estate whose weaving streets can't be readily discerned from a map (I was here from May 1st to 4th). My floor turned out to be mostly Asian businessmen running back and forth between each other's rooms. Other than that, it was quiet. I had a corner room, but there was little to see from my windows.

My business -- this visit -- dealt with the SAIT campus which is further west on the Trans-Canada. But downtown turned out to be a hop, skip, and a jump by car. I also wound up driving over to the Marlborough Mall which has a better food court than most malls -- a *lot* of ethnic-style food. Many get off the C-Train and pick up 'take out' for their evening meal. I did this too one night. Btw, on the same topic, the maid left cello-wrapped cookies every day to eat in the morning with my in-room coffee service. How thoughtful.

A very iconic property. You will either like it a lot or hate it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Forest20851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie G, Director of Sales at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time write and share your review of the Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre. Sorry to hear that you had difficulty locating the hotel, and we will ensure our reservation team share simple driving directions when confirming reservations.

Terrific to know that you enjoyed the cookies that are placed in our Superior rooms.

We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Four Points by Sheraton Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 1316 33 St NE, Calgary, Alberta T2A 6B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#32 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $94 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located between the Calgary International Airport and the city center, in the heart of North East Calgary's business community; The Coast Plaza Hotel and Conference Centre is your home away from home where you will experience contemporary accommodations, friendly service and exceptional dining. Within minutes from the Trans-Canada highway and in the midst of two shopping centers, dining and entertainment and within walking distance of the nearby light rail transit system. As well as within very close proximity to the Calgary Zoo, TELUS Spark Science Centre and the Calgary Stampede. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Plaza Hotel And Conference Centre
Coast Plaza Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing