We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #38 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed here for a conference. Not impressed. The room at first sight looked clean but then it looked like the rugs weren't vacuumed and thing were very dust. The bathroom was fairly clean. There were some sketchy people in the lobby and waiting for the elevator. I found this somewhat disconcerting being a female travelling alone. I could barely wait to get home. In terms of conference facilities. The sound proofing was horrible. If I could do it all again I would stay in a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv_Travel07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKippen, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Hello Luv_Travel07,

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre. I am sorry to hear that you were not impressed with your stay . I have advised the appropriate departments in regards to the cleanliness of the carpets and the sound proofing of the conference facilities. We take the security of our guest's with the utmost importance and apologize that you did not feel comfortable during your stay. We hope that you consider staying with us again in a hopes that we can make this up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    183
    113
    42
    32
See reviews for
150
89
45
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
109 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Numerous times we have stayed at this hotel and opted for the "Stopover Rate". It is an excellent and well priced option for people who are going on a holiday. We spend the night in a comfortable, clean room and in the morning take the shuttle to the airport. After arriving back in Canada, we phone the shuttle service, go back to the hotel and pick up our car. This is far more economical than leaving a vehicle near the airport as you get 7 free days of parking.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DafyAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKippen, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Hello DafyAlberta,

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of the great rate with our Stopover Package and hope that you had a great holiday. We look foward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Wow. We made a reservation for 25. When we got there, it was in a room set for 15. The people who arrived first ordered drinks, the waiter was very confused already. He brought in more tables and chairs. The drinks came 45 minutes later. After we had all ordered our meals, we ordered anotherdrink - the food came and everyone was nearly done eating before any drinks came out. We told the guy to give everyone individual, separate bills, still, every single bill was incorrect! Seriously - not even my sister, who had a water and a flatbread had the correct items on her bill. No one switched places, we all stayed im the same spot, that was ridiculous. It took over 2 hours to get everyone's bills correct and paid. Good thing we didn't have to be on the airport shuttle until 3:00 am! The food was good though

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKippen, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Hello Colleen F,

Thank you for your valuable feedback in regards to your meal at Horizon's Bistro. I am happy to see that you did enjoy the food. I have shared your poor service experience with the management at Horizon's Bistro and do apologize as this is not the service we are accustomed too. We would like to have the opportunity to make this up to you, and hope that you will consider dining with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

For a Coast this was not up to par, the whole building was old and run down, the hallways smelled like old cigarette smoke and the staff were merely adequate. I had to move rooms for my second night as they had to turn the hot water off in one of the towers; strangely the day before I heard someone at the front desk talking to the staff about switching rooms due to hot water issues, did they put me in a room with hot water issues that they were already aware of?

There was also a lack of electrical outlets in the rooms, I understand it's an older building but...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blubouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKippen, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Hello blubouie,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay at the Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre. I would like to sincerely apologize for the hot water issues you had experienced during your stay. We are currently upgrading our plumbing in all of the guestrooms to correct this issue and can assure you that this issue has been resovled in a majority of our guestrooms and will be fixed in all of them shortly. We are also going to be undergoing renovations and upgrades this spring and summer of our restaurant, lounge and lobby areas. We hope that you consider staying with us again and checking out our new decor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My only problem with this hotel is that the first day they cleaned our room they did not do a good job, we did not get any new towels and the used ones were still on the floor in the bathroom where we left them and they also did not take any of the empty bottles we had in the room. The toilet seat looked dirty but was actually scratched and that is why it looked dirty. They did bring us more towels when we phoned the front desk and asked for them though.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Coast Plaza on Feb Th/2012. The service from check-in to departure, for the most part, was excellent.( with a couple of minor problems) The hotel itself is very clean and the room was very clean and comfortable. Several offers were made to help us with our bags, but we're not the type of people that can't do things by ourselves. The only small inconvenience with the room was that it took app 15 minutes to get hot water to our tap. Really not a big deal except a waste of water running it that long. The other downside was that when we came back from dinner, there was a car with no handicap placard parked in the handicap space close to the door that I needed, as I'm in a wheelchair. The city police were there at the time and I asked them if they could do something and they told me that they ran the plate and the owner was older so they weren't going to do anything about it. I am "older" also with a "handicap license plate", but apparently, that doesn't make any difference. The hotel desk also knew about this and never did anything about it. It makes me wonder why we have these laws for handicap parking if nothing is ever done. We've stayed at this hotel several times, but am wondering if we'll stay here again due to the fact that the desk staff didn't seem too interested in this minor problem. Other than that, I would recomend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms I have stayed in are good, but if you're in a hurry, try and get a room close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnepeopleOneblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Puriscal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I have stayed at the Coast Plaza when it was a Delta. I have always liked this Hotel both for the service, consistent quality of the rooms, food and service. All in all a pleasure to be able to stay there and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We like our peace and quiet so a room on one of the upper rooms away from the ice machine and elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivianLeslie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Cavalier Hotel
#43 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Four Points by Sheraton Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 1316 33 St NE, Calgary, Alberta T2A 6B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#32 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located between the Calgary International Airport and the city center, in the heart of North East Calgary's business community; The Coast Plaza Hotel and Conference Centre is your home away from home where you will experience contemporary accommodations, friendly service and exceptional dining. Within minutes from the Trans-Canada highway and in the midst of two shopping centers, dining and entertainment and within walking distance of the nearby light rail transit system. As well as within very close proximity to the Calgary Zoo, TELUS Spark Science Centre and the Calgary Stampede. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Plaza Hotel And Conference Centre
Coast Plaza Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing