We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable lack of Customer Service!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unbelievable lack of Customer Service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here during the Calgary Stampede. Upon check-in (we were the only ones at the counter, arriving just past 7pm), the staff left us standing unattended for several minutes while they proceeded to have an obvious personal conversation. After checking us in we inquired about parking…the response,"umm isn't it obvious, the parking lot in front of the hotel!?. When we commented that there were no available stalls we were then told to "just drive around, you'll find one eventually". No information was provided about the hotel or amenities other than included was a free drink coupon to use at the adjoining lounge. Even though there were 2 of us in a room the staff stated it's policy to hand out 1 drink coupon PER room. Rooms are basic, nothing fancy..beds are comfortable. Just to note, the cleaning staff were great! They would stop in (always with a smile!) to see what time you wanted the room done up and if you needed any extra toiletries or coffee….they could teach the front desk staff a thing or two!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkkuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    286
    116
    35
    17
See reviews for
198
183
44
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

When we arrived in our room, the room was extremely hot and the aircon took a long time (literally hours!) to cool it down. This may be a problem if you arrive late and want to go to sleep soon. The coffee machine ("Keurig") produced the filthiest brown liquid that I have ever tasted.
Choice at breakfast is rather limited.
Otherwise OK. It is a very average hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SjoerdVXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

So we stayed here one night as we were attending a reception downstairs.

Lobby was neat looking as you walked in, check-in was efficient and staff were polite.

Room-old, smelly (non smoking but smelled like someone had just recently had a smokfest), small and no A/C. When I complained to the desk, the lady told me to turn the heat up as that might work??? Our room faced the highway so that didn't make things any better. Anyways, if you like a warm and smelly room, go ahead and book away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuck4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackfalds, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Another great stay at the Carriage House Inn! This hotel is top notch and has anything you could need. The staff are amazing, the room's are awesome and the bed's are so comfortable! You can't go wrong in this hotel! I always stay here for business when in Calgary and they do really take care of you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have stayed at The Carriage house on a regular basis for years and they always treat me well and provide great service and friendly staff.I recommend this hotel and refer The Carriage House to those I know travelling to Calgary.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at the Carriage House May 18 & 19 as we were attending a wedding there. We got the AMA rate which was very reasonable and included free breakfast. The food at the THÊ Restaurant was very good. We would have liked to eat in the Ninety Thirty Dining Lounge as the menu looked enticing but it was booked for a private event. Although the hallways were very drab and our room was small, it was well appointed and the beds were comfortable. I would stay there again and I would like to eat at their Sunday buffet as it looked amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I had booked this room for one night, but I'm glad we didn't stay any longer than that.

Pros:
- Very clean rooms
- Fairly updated/modern rooms and lobby
- Good location - across from King's Head Pub and only a few minutes driving distance from Chinook Mall

Cons (not so easy to bullet point):

The hotel was a little too busy for my liking.

Also... we had booked a "superior" room I believe it's called through one of the big travel websites. The room really turned out to be no more than "standard". With the deal came a $50 coupon for food and drink (the $50 was added onto the cost of the room at the time of purchase), however, the $50 could ONLY be used on room service. The pubs and restaurants downstairs were not included. We did not discover this until almost 10pm after we were already stuffed from a meal we ate outside of the hotel.

It didn't take long to discover that the air conditioning in our room was not working. It takes a lot for me to be too warm, so it was definitely hot out when even I was complaining. We called the front desk and they sent a really nice maintenance man to work on the AC. It still didn't work though. We called down to the front desk and said we expected it to be fixed by the time we returned from supper in a couple hours. Still not fixed. We went down to the lobby and spoke with the front desk. They agreed to change rooms. At this point, between the $50 wasted coupon and the hot room, I was more than a tad annoyed. So after much discussion with the staff, they refunded us the $50, changed our floor, and upgraded us to a King bed instead of 2 Queens. This did make up for the several hours of grief we encountered. But again, the AC didn't work. We gave up trying after that.

It was decent of the staff to do this for us, however, it did take much persuasion and discussion, particularly since it felt like a never ending battle with staff members who had limited English speaking ability. I'm not trying to be mean, but when a person works in the service industry, it would be nice if the guests and staff could communicate with one another.

Would I stay here again? No.

Room Tip: Double check that the A/C is working before you get situated in your room. Don't bother purchas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heat912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Blackfoot
#24 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#40 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Grey Eagle Resort
#15 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#29 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Property: Carriage House Inn
Address: 9030 Macleod Trail South, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0M4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carriage House Inn now offers complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet, free WIFI and free parking. Outdoor heated pool and hot tub open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Calgary
Carriage Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing