We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Another great stay at the Carriage House Inn! This hotel is top notch and has anything you could need. The staff are amazing, the room's are awesome and the bed's are so comfortable! You can't go wrong in this hotel! I always stay here for business when in Calgary and they do really take care of you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
There are newer reviews for Carriage House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

877 - 883 of 983 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have stayed at The Carriage house on a regular basis for years and they always treat me well and provide great service and friendly staff.I recommend this hotel and refer The Carriage House to those I know travelling to Calgary.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at the Carriage House May 18 & 19 as we were attending a wedding there. We got the AMA rate which was very reasonable and included free breakfast. The food at the THÊ Restaurant was very good. We would have liked to eat in the Ninety Thirty Dining Lounge as the menu looked enticing but it was booked for a private event. Although the hallways were very drab and our room was small, it was well appointed and the beds were comfortable. I would stay there again and I would like to eat at their Sunday buffet as it looked amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I had booked this room for one night, but I'm glad we didn't stay any longer than that.

Pros:
- Very clean rooms
- Fairly updated/modern rooms and lobby
- Good location - across from King's Head Pub and only a few minutes driving distance from Chinook Mall

Cons (not so easy to bullet point):

The hotel was a little too busy for my liking.

Also... we had booked a "superior" room I believe it's called through one of the big travel websites. The room really turned out to be no more than "standard". With the deal came a $50 coupon for food and drink (the $50 was added onto the cost of the room at the time of purchase), however, the $50 could ONLY be used on room service. The pubs and restaurants downstairs were not included. We did not discover this until almost 10pm after we were already stuffed from a meal we ate outside of the hotel.

It didn't take long to discover that the air conditioning in our room was not working. It takes a lot for me to be too warm, so it was definitely hot out when even I was complaining. We called the front desk and they sent a really nice maintenance man to work on the AC. It still didn't work though. We called down to the front desk and said we expected it to be fixed by the time we returned from supper in a couple hours. Still not fixed. We went down to the lobby and spoke with the front desk. They agreed to change rooms. At this point, between the $50 wasted coupon and the hot room, I was more than a tad annoyed. So after much discussion with the staff, they refunded us the $50, changed our floor, and upgraded us to a King bed instead of 2 Queens. This did make up for the several hours of grief we encountered. But again, the AC didn't work. We gave up trying after that.

It was decent of the staff to do this for us, however, it did take much persuasion and discussion, particularly since it felt like a never ending battle with staff members who had limited English speaking ability. I'm not trying to be mean, but when a person works in the service industry, it would be nice if the guests and staff could communicate with one another.

Would I stay here again? No.

Room Tip: Double check that the A/C is working before you get situated in your room. Don't bother purchas...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heat912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Have been staying at the Carriage House since 1980. That was for a 6 month stint when I got transfered from Edmonton to Calgary Have been going back there for the last 10 years for three days at the end of April every year. I find that the service rooms food seem to get better every time. .

Room Tip: If you like a soft pillow bring your own.South rooms have a nice view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Had a real crappy experience at the travelodge so stayed here instead and I'm so glad I did!! Rooms are nice with updated everything. Nice and quiet with super friendly staff. You get a complimentary breakfast that is Buffett. Great location too. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I decided to make an improptu shopping trip to Calgary one week and took our pet beagle along for the trip. The Carriage House was very quiet even though there was an event going on. Locationwise it was situated fairly close to the Chinook Centre and the Southcentre Malls so it was quite a good stopover for shopping.The rooms were a bit dated although very clean but with some minor wear and tear however, being a pet friendly hotel this was not unexpected. The shining gem here though is the fact that the hotel actually left us a stainless steel food/water bowl for use while staying there as well as a doggie bone for our pooch. We have traveled before with our dog and this is the first time I have come across this kind of treatment, so a great big kudos to the Carriage House Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Blackfoot
#22 of 109 in Calgary
530 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#43 of 109 in Calgary
544 reviews
Grey Eagle Resort
#15 of 109 in Calgary
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
1,134 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#3 of 109 in Calgary
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Address: 9030 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0M4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#31 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $100 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carriage House Inn now offers complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet, free WIFI and free parking. Outdoor heated pool and hot tub open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Calgary
Carriage Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing