We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms; get your reservation in writing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice rooms; get your reservation in writing”
Reviewed October 22, 2007

Stayed for two nights, associated with a conference. Made the original booking by phone in July but did not think to request (and was not offered) a written confirmation. I did get a reservation code, however. When I arrived the desk clerk verified that the first night's accommodation would be paid by the conference because I was a speaker, and the second night would be billed to my credit card, which was exactly what I expected. However, after the first night I received an invoice under my door stating that my stay was ending that day. When I checked at 8:30 a.m. with the front desk, they had no record of the second night's reservation.

Because of the conference and other bookings, the only available rooms were two smoking rooms (yecch) or a non-smoking executive suite at more than double the price of the current room... the desk clerk offered to arrange to have one of the smoking rooms "fogged." I was less than delighted with these options, but booked the suite. The desk staff assured me that our luggage would be transferred to the new room; all we needed to do was pack up and leave the luggage in the room.

When I checked back with the front desk at 11:45 a.m. they checked with their housekeeping staff to see whether the room was ready. It wasn't; they said it would be ready in 15 minutes. I went to the room at 12:15 -- half an hour later -- and there was still someone in it, apparently cleaning.

I left a key at the desk for my husband to pick up later in the day. He came in around 4:00, picked up the key, and found that the luggage hadn't been transferred. He had to call the front desk to get the luggage moved to the new room. The suite was next door to our original room.

The rooms were very pleasant -- quiet, clean, well-appointed. The suite had a jetted tub (most of the instructions on the control panel were in French, though) and a separate sleeping area with sliding doors. Wired Internet service worked in the room, but there was no network cable in the suite; wireless wasn't available. A nice extra touch were the cookies left in the room. However, a room service tray with dishes, linens and food scraps that was present on the floor in front of the ice machine in the elevator lobby on our floor when we arrived in the hotel at 4:00 on Wednesday was still on the floor (and added to with other room service trays) when we left near noon on Friday.

Another thing to note: this property is significantly under-served by elevators: there are only two to serve a ten-storey tower plus a lower second wing. During a conference, in which many delegates are staying in the property, it was common to have to wait five minutes or more for an elevator during peak times. It also appears that there is no secondary elevator for staff in the tower (there is one in the lower wing) as I saw staff with laundry bins, etc., waiting for the elevators on various floors; staff were gracious in freeing up elevators for customers, however.

All in all, I'd think twice about staying here again during a conference, and would definitely get a written confirmation of my reservation.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The foul-up with the reservation
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alphabetkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    298
    120
    37
    17
See reviews for
208
193
46
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ft Myers Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights while at a funeral. We were very happy with it. They have a bakery in the lobby and a restaurant where we had 2 breakfasts. We had no complaints.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Canuckiameh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

We stayed here on our wedding night and were not impressed. We were booked into the one of the suites as a gift from a relative. When we arrived, at about 8:30pm, dressed in our wedding attire, the front desk agent greeted us rather rudely, telling us, "Nice of you to show up..." As we had obviously just come from our own wedding we were taken aback by this comment, we thought we were arriving rather early all things considered.

When we arrived in our room, I must admit, it was huge. The hotel itself is rather outdated, and could use some renovation. There was a large dalmation dog sculture that was placed facing the bed, we thought that was odd. The bed and bedding were below average in my opinion. At this time the hotel did not offer room service after 10pm, I do not know if this had changed since.

In the morning we ordered room service and it was delivered, but they had gotten our order wrong.

After relaying our concerns to the party who booked the room for us, she wrote a letter to the hotel, voicing our complaints. She never recieved a reply.

  • Stayed February 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrissT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picture Butte, AB
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2006

Stayed here when my husband was in a hospital nearby. Was first booked into the Best Western but they overbooked and could only offer a smoking room. At first I was a bit put off by the appearance of the lobby - could use an upgrade. Carpet on the floor of the elevator was dirty, overall appearance a little run down. But I was pleasantly surprised by the room - a little on the small side but recently upgraded, clean, new carpet and furnishings, marble bathroom, nice toiletries. Best part was that it was quiet - couldn't here anything from the rooms next door, likely because the hotel is older and more well insulated than the newer, cheaply constructed hotels. Staff was accomodating considering my situation (we weren't sure when my husband would be discharged). Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mom_in_butte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2005

After reading the reviews and visiting the hotel's website, we were disappointed with our stay at this hotel. The spa is in the basement, in a tiny room with no windows. The pool is right out by the street. Our room is on the 2nd floor, with a view of the roof and a/c systems, not very lovely. The maid woke us up at 8:20am with the vacuum in the neighboring room.

However, the room is nice and adequately furnished. There's internet access in each room, too. The beds and pillows are comfortable, and the sheets are soft. They also provided a nice porta-crib for our toddler.

It's fine but we missed the "specialness" that others mentioned.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank CAFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 25, 2005

The satff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The Sunday brunch is out of this world! So much to choose from and as much as you can eat. The room was clean and plenty big enough to spread out in. We were carless at this point and it was only a ten minute walk to catch the c-train into the centre.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2004

I really enjoyed my stay at Calgary's Carriage House Inn! It is by far excellent value for the small amount of money you are paying. It has a lovely, large, deep outdoor pool. It is very nice in the summer. The recently renovated rooms, with opening windows are lovely. There is also stunning cherrywood furniture, offset by a goregous granite and marble bathroom. There is little closet space, although, there is a nice large armoire, which is just as good. The owner, a senior man, is quite often sitting in the lobby, chatting among hotel guests, and he is very friendly, watching over his wonderful operation. Overall, the Carriage House Inn is a 5 STAR hotel!! :>

Helpful?
9 Thank ParkAvenueUltra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Blackfoot
#23 of 109 in Calgary
482 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#40 of 109 in Calgary
505 reviews
Grey Eagle Resort
#13 of 109 in Calgary
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Property: Carriage House Inn
Address: 9030 Macleod Trail South, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0M4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carriage House Inn now offers complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet, free WIFI and free parking. Outdoor heated pool and hot tub open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Calgary
Carriage Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing