We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel”
Review of Hotel Blackfoot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Blackfoot
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing Hotel”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Top drawer hotel- clean, stellar staff, beautiful restaurants. All around a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Finally a hotel a shower instead of a bath, and a nice one too! You pay a little more, but get so much for it. If you are flying in, absolutely book their sedan service. Why ride in a taxi, when you can be chauffeured in a brand-new Lincoln Towncar for less. I come to Calgary often for business, this is the only hotel I will book from now on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0upc0up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    190
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
93
123
23
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with a friend in one of the new rooms. Guy that checked us in, Ansen was friendly and knowledgeable. He told us to get the eggs benedict in greens restaurant in the morning. We had breakfast in the morning and Ashwin was quick and the eggs benedict was great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My family recently held a dinner party for 140 guests at Hotel Blackfoot's newly renovated Ballroom. The facility is top notch! The Ballroom is extremely comfortable and well equiped with great audio visual equipment. Our out of town guests enjoyed the newly renovated rooms and outdoor pool.
The food was amazing! I highly recommend the Roast Striplion of beef. It was done to perfection. To say nothing of the pastries, outstanding. The buffet ran very smoothly, there was no shortages of anything. Round tables of ten were set with lovely linens. Our guests all complimented on the food. Many thanks to the kitchen.
The ballroom is just off the lobby yet very private for a gathering. Washrooms are discretely off to one side so guests don't have to exit the ballroom. The room flows nicely.
Catering, banquet, kitchen and wait staff were all professional, helpful and polite. Every request we made was met. Banquet manager Philippe was always close at hand. Great job everyone.
I would not hesitate to recommend Hotel Blackfoot for a Memorable Event.
Many Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I planned a "Laugh-inn Package" here as an anniversary gift to my hubby. We are on a fixed budget, but as we don't vacation or have much time together, we decided to go for it and rent the fanciest room to spoil ourselves! Our room (for one night), tickets to the comedy show, and dinner were included in the package for $400 (OUCH!!). First, there was supposed to be a lounge available to us with complimentary breakfast and some drinks. After we checked in, they told us this was not available anymore, so they would give us a $50 credit on our room. We pre-paid and headed upstairs. The room was very plain. A suite with a living area, but no couch? The bed was so-so and the jacuzzi was the loudest I've ever been in. Oh, and then housekeeping let themselves in at 7pm, without knocking. We headed down for our dinner, only to find someone had cancelled our reservations? They sorted it out after a while and put us at the worlds smallest table, in the worlds ugliest restaurant, with a server that we could not understand. The decor is unbelievably out dated. I have no idea who takes pictures for their website, but they should get an award for making the food look 300x better than it was. The buffet was bland and sparse. We were STILL HUNGRY after leaving a BUFFET. Afterwards, we headed to the comedy show and finally started to have a better time. Until they confused how to charge to our room and called me down to the Laugh Shop after midnight to pay for the $20 in drinks we had, though we had a $50 credit? OHHHH because the restaurant CHARGED US FOR OUR INCLUDED DINNER. Completely makes sense. We ended up having the worst hotel stay of our lives, and never did get our $50 credit for a service that was promised to me at the time of booking. WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SarahCidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica W, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Blackfoot, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Your feedback is much appreciated. We apologize that your experience was not up to your expectations. All department heads have been advised and have addressed your concerns with Operations. We are working hard to ensure that the logistics of our packages run smoothly across all four of our dining establishments and comedy club. We are sorry the buffet did not meet your expectations and your comments have been passed on to our Chef. Of course, customer service is our first priority and we hope that you will allow us a chance to provide you with a better experience. Our executive floors and suites are experiencing their last final touches which will include the completion of our executive lounge with complimentary drinks and snacks, and couches for the living area in the suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

GREAT SERVICE & COMFORT, HOTEL & LOUNGE!!! THe lounge has comfy chairs, a few pool tables. Service is great. Front desk staff was very nice. ROOMS are GREAT! Big Flat Screen wall mounted on a swivel. Comfy beds, Clean Soft Linen, Big Bathroom with huge sliding glass shower door and dual shower heads! Breakfast was very good. A Co-worker stayed here before and they have changed thier menus since then. He asked the waitress and they made him the plate he wanted even though it isn't on the menu.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Lovely rooms, spacious and modern finishings. Great location, close to Chinook Centre, downtown and more. Staff was pleasant, efficient and helpful. Restaurant had great service and yummy food. We look forward to staying here with our family again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dongcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Blackfoot in Calgary from July 7 to July 20, 2013. My wife was with me for the first week and then I stayed on for the second week. I can not say enough about this hotel and our stay. The staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for you. Everyone we met in the hotel and restaurants were helpful, courteous, and pleasant. Everyone greeted us with a smile and created an atmosphere that made you feel like you were part of the family there. The amenities available to us were all top notch. The hotel was going through a total remodel and was looking very smart even though there was some construction still going on.
I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Calgary and likes to stay in a place were you feel special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#31 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Grey Eagle Resort
#12 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blackfoot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blackfoot

Property: Hotel Blackfoot
Address: 5940 Blackfoot Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 2B5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Calgary
#20 Family Hotel in Calgary
#21 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blackfoot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renowned landmark hotel in south Calgary located just minutes from downtown, Hotel Blackfoot is an independently owned, 193 room hotel featuring the service and amenities to please business and leisure travelers alike. Recently redesigned and renovated, Hotel Blackfoot offers contemporary rooms and suites with executive floors and the most comfortable beds in town. Endless amenities including a fitness centre, a comedy club, four distinct restaurants, a pool and poolside patio. Hotel Blackfoot is always here for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Blackfoot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackfoot Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing