We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Blackfoot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Blackfoot
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Sorrento, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The web site has you expecting an upgraded "Boutique Hotel", the reality is an average, one night, stopover hotel at "Boutique Hotel" prices. Overall not great value for your money. They are trying, with a lot more work they may get there, but right now just average. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, although rooms were very noisey. (They were under construction and the work began before 7am, even on Good Friday.) We were there for 3 days and each day, upon returning, the rooms were cleaned, but not completely finished (no towels, beds only half made up), nothing big, just not what you would expect from a better hotel. Food was the redeeming quality, excelent all round. The catering staff definitely know hot to do it right!

Room Tip: The upgraded rooms are very comfortable. If they are still under construction ask to be placed as f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    186
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
91
121
23
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very clean and rooms are very up to date. My only complaint are the bathroom doors. They are slides and do not close completely allowing someone to look in and see you in the mirror. Not much privacy for the person using the bathroom! Also no fan in there and could really hear the people next door in the shower. Therefore it is a great place but not a great room for more than 1 person.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ducklips40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We used to stay a lot at this hotel, but haven't for awhile, but due to weather conditions we stayed the night here. We would definately return here again. The service was great and the check-in was fast. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and quiet. Great location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pocahontas_aa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good hotel and friedly service as they come, but the best part is the new restaurant menu. A bit pricey, in my (foreign) opinion, but good. The crab cakes are excellent, and so is the hamburger. The weekend dinner buffet is *very, very* good - my favourites were the cold foods: the fish and meat. I was disappointed that I didn't get a chance to try the sunday brunch.

The location is awful for someone who doesn't have a car - you are stuck with the hotel restaurant and bars.

The hotel offers a discounted taxi service to and from the airport - that is great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainer1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed in that hotel not expecting much but I was surprised by the quality of the room and service. I stayed in one of the renovated room and it was very comfortable. The bed and bedding were excellent. Service at the hotel is also top notch. The downside is the quality and choice of food in the on-site restaurant. I would stay there again if business brings me back to Calgary.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellamuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I got renovated room, was nice. Good internet included. Gorgeous lobby with fountain and pianist. Sport Bar with pool table. Nice small gym+ sauna. Restaurant + room a bit pricy. Personal front desk top notch.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteFromMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had the opportunity to spend the weekend at this location. The room had been redone and is very comfortable. The bathroom was updated with a large walk-in shower with a Koehler sink and faucets--very stylish. The outside door to the hallway was quite noisy (as were those around us) as there have been no "door silencers" installed. Hopefully, they will do this in future as it was difficult (and extremely noisy) when others came in late. All in all, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the business centre end of the hotel are isolated from the sounds of the Casino which is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsFudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#29 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Grey Eagle Resort
#13 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blackfoot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blackfoot

Property: Hotel Blackfoot
Address: 5940 Blackfoot Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 2B5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Calgary
#20 Family Hotel in Calgary
#21 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blackfoot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renowned landmark hotel in south Calgary located just minutes from downtown, Hotel Blackfoot is an independently owned, 193 room hotel featuring the service and amenities to please business and leisure travelers alike. Recently redesigned and renovated, Hotel Blackfoot offers contemporary rooms and suites with executive floors and the most comfortable beds in town. Endless amenities including a fitness centre, a comedy club, four distinct restaurants, a pool and poolside patio. Hotel Blackfoot is always here for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Blackfoot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackfoot Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing