We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise”
Review of Hotel Blackfoot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Blackfoot
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Booked a room at Blackfoot Inn, now rebranded Hotel Blackfoot Inn, in SE Calgary. Have not been to this hotel for quite some time and they have recently renovated their facility. Was a perfect location for my business needs as I had meetings in the SE industrial area of Calgary. Room rates were very reasonable, they honored by CPSA discount card. Big surprise was the quality of the restaurant. Very nice menu selection for dinner and breakfast. Great service and attention to detail for an industrial area hotel. The staff are obviously well trained and customer focused. Calgary is an extremely competitive market and the crew @ Hotel Blackfoot Inn convinced me to come back. The room was comfortable, well appointed and quiet. Room temperature was easy to moderate which can be a chore in other hotels. I'll be back, for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Blackfoot
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 529 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

The sunday buffet at this hotel was amazing, well worth the money but get there early to get a good seat. We booked thru Group On and they advertised (not the hotel) that we would recieve two gift baskets (one per day) during our stay. The first gift basket was a joke,, for two people we got one strawberry, one hard plum, one pop, bagged popcorn, and one maple lolipop and I think it may have been a bag of gummie bears or something like it! I thought to myself this must be a joke, maybe the other half of the basket is in the bathroom so I looked and no basket.
After a lengthy conversation with the desk clerk ( he tried to tell me the two baskets were joined as one on the first day that's why we didn't get a second basket the next day} on the phone and then eventually with the manager in person, he relunctantly sent us another basket the following day. They tried, the second gift basket was better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictoriaKMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Recently stayed at the Blackfoot Inn in Calgary. Reasonable rates, clean rooms, restaurant good and reasonable, pub and gym mediocre. Special thank you to Tanya and her staff for an excellent job! I would welcome a stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We arrived on Thursday and I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. They have an excellent restaurant. As a matter of the fast the few days we stayed there we ate entirely at this restaurant. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. It is very easy to get to and pretty much close to everything.

I would definitely stay again and would definetly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda2455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel is in a rather odd location, middle of a light industrial area, but handy to all major roadways to get to every area of the city fairly quickly. Their is a very large indoor mall a five minute drive away.

The first two floors have been renovated, we were on the fifth floor and even though not renovated was still clean and modern. The beds were very comfortable but came with a very warm quilt that would have been fine but only if the room was very cold. Once I changed that out for a blanket it was fine. The heating system worked well and was very unobtrusive. The window does open but the road noise precludes having them open at night.

The hotel staff from doorman to front desk to restraunt were excellent without fail.

The restraunt was quite good for breakfast with a buffet or a la carte menu. We also went for the dinner buffet but it was just average.

The comedy club that is in the hotel was excellent value and entertainment.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mo32a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Blackfoot, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thanks for the positive review! I really like your comments about our location and am glad you agree that it may be a bit "odd" because of the industrial area, but there are a lot of characteristics that make it more awesome than not.

We regret that you caught the buffet on an off-night, but it is constantly changing and hopefully you'll return on a night that it will change your opinion irrevocably.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The hotel is undergoing renovations currently, so if you don't mind, it's fine to stay there. The floors we stayed on hadn't been updated yet, so I think the hotel still has a long way to go to complete full refurbishment of their rooms. However, having said that, the un-updated room I had was fine - in a typical Holiday Inn Express way. It was clean so I was happy.

The hotel is not located downtown but it was still convenient if you had a car - it is only about a 10 minute drive to downtown. There is an Enterprise car rental place right opposite. Taxi from airport to hotel is about $45.

I was generally quite happy staying here. The hotel has a restaurant and bar and all employees were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravelhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Blackfoot, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thanks for the review! I think you'll love the renovated rooms. I would also like to point out, and I apologize nobody mentioned this at the time, that we have a subsidized sedan service for airport travel for $40.00 each way. That includes tip and tax. Hopefully next time we can set you up.

One more thing, 82 reviews in 48 cities is impressive! Wow!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

When I realized our hotel was in an industrial district, I was disappointed. The disappointment immediately stopped due to the concierge’s help even before we arrived at the Blackfoot. A driver was at the airport to meet us on time and with the sign that made him easy to spot. We could not have had a better time from beginning to end. The view of the city both during the day and night was beautiful. The bed was great. I want a pillow to take home!. Every one of the employees seemed exceptional, but the concierge, Dan Brook was so far above and beyond anything we could have expected. Our travel companions and we were almost arguing about which person had helped us the most.

The room was spotless and included a comfortable sofa and chair and wireless internet. We asked to be sure there was a refrigerator and microwave. Everything was done that we asked and far more.

The staff has cookies at the front desk which makes registration even better. The sauna and steamroom were definitely a bonus after a day of sightseeing.

We were helped with reservations with tours, taxis, restaurants with an amazingly positive attitude. We could not have had a better experience.

Room Tip: Ask for help from the concierge ahead of time.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljsimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#31 of 109 in Calgary
980 reviews
Grey Eagle Resort
#14 of 109 in Calgary
905 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blackfoot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blackfoot

Address: 5940 Blackfoot Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 2B5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Calgary
#20 Family Hotel in Calgary
#21 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $111 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blackfoot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renowned landmark hotel in south Calgary located just minutes from downtown, Hotel Blackfoot is an independently owned, 193 room hotel featuring the service and amenities to please business and leisure travelers alike. Recently redesigned and renovated, Hotel Blackfoot offers contemporary rooms and suites with executive floors and the most comfortable beds in town. Endless amenities including a fitness centre, a comedy club, four distinct restaurants, a pool and poolside patio. Hotel Blackfoot is always here for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Blackfoot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackfoot Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing