We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's in a name”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Airport Inn
Ranked #56 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
GreenLeadersGold level
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“What's in a name”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel might be called "airport inn" but it is definitely not near the airport but it is not alone there are a number of "chain" hotels in the immediate vicinity all with airport in their name! The really positive aspect is that there is no noise from planes taking off or coming into land and the hotel does provide free transfers to and from the airport.
My husband and I recently stayed for 2 nights whilst travelling back from a 4 week stay in Kelowna. Whilst being somewhat disheartened to learn that our pick up from the airport would take 25 minutes (it being Friday evening rush hour) once we were on our way it soon became clear as to why the transfer took so long and it was worth the distance. A warm and efficient welcome awaited us, along with a nice cool room. Being so far from the airport means that its closer to Calgary centre and there are bus stops right outside, although we didn't use them. There is a Denny's restaurant over the road offering good basic food to satisfy all tastes and appetites and a discount to boot, from the hotel reception.
Breakfast is excellent, choice of cereals, yoghurts, fruit, bacon, scrambled eggs, toast, muffing bagels or pancakes and sausages depending which day it was and always a waffle maker. Tea and coffee is available all day long and is good.
We found the hotel staff, in particular the manager very friendly and helpful. As we had a late evening flight we had requested a very late check out and although the hotel was full (being stampede weekend) this was accommodated with grace - thank you. We shall definitely look to book again next time we are passing through Calgary. Good value for money.

Room Tip: We booked a family room, 2 double beds. The room was spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAInn, General Manager at Best Western Airport Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much taking your time and giving us a positive feedback. We will be happy to have you again at ou hotel.

Khos - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    150
    90
    23
    23
See reviews for
118
124
25
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The location on hotel alley is convenient to the airport. The rooms are spacey but older hotel with thin walls means very noisy when trying to get to bed early if an early run to the airport is required. Staff is pleasant and out going but like most Best Western of this quality a Platinum member is not recognized as such wth any of the perks. This is a safe area to stay with food and fuel close at hand.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAInn, General Manager at Best Western Airport Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank yuo for writing a review for us. For our diamond or platinum members our hotel offer bonus points and it normally is shown soon after the stay. We hope we will see you again.

Khos - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, TX
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We arrived in Calgary 6-20 on our way to Banff only to find out the road to Banff was washed away. We were able to get a room here an ended up staying for 2 nights. They reserved us a room for 1 more night but we found out we could go on to Banff so we left. They were very accommodating under the circumstances and worked with us. We were going to a conference that was cancelled and several of our friends from all of the US ended up here with us. On the road to Banff they remembered they had left money in the safe. When they called the BW they immediately sent someone up to the room and held the money until another in our party that remained there could come and get it.

Room Tip: You are close to the airport but not many places close to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LARockwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAInn, General Manager at Best Western Airport Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are pleased to know that we were able to help you during a harsh time. thank you

Khos - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I just needed a room for one night before heading up to Banff. The location was ideal as it was near the intersection of Highways 1 and 2 and about a 10 minute drive from the airport. Staff was very nice. Room was adequate. Bathroom could have been larger.

Our room faced the pool. This could be great for families who want to keep an eye on their kids or other family members at the pool. It could also be a problem if you don't want to hear the noise that usually occurs around a pool. It wasn't a problem for us as we had a late arrival and an early departure.

Breakfast was very good. Waffles, hash brown potatoes, eggs, yogurt, cereal, etc.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms face the indoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klikes2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAInn, General Manager at Best Western Airport Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
thank you for your review and we will see you again.

Khos - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Thought this would be close to the airport.....it's not! Nice hotel though with very friendly and helpful staff. Received a coupon for Denny's restaurant during check-in. Room small but adequate. Liked the small fridge in room. Utilized the pool several times and it is cold but fun. Continental breakfast slightly limited as to healthy choices, but overall quite good. Have stayed here a few times and would stay again if the price was decent.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbInEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAInn, General Manager at Best Western Airport Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
thank you for your time to write a review for us. Although there has been changes occurred around the airport all the hotels in the area kept their names and we did the same like everyone else. However we hope will see you again.

Khos - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, BC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We recently stayed at the Best Western Aiport Inn and the service was excellent. The good nights sleep was very much appreciated. That's exactly what travellers are seeking at an airport hotel when between flights...a good nights sleep. The room was very large and very clean with a good sized bathroom. The room was so quiet. The buffet breakfast in the morning had great variety and was really generous. The airport shuttle staff were very kind & helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gema28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAInn, General Manager at Best Western Airport Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and our staff are happy to learn that appreciate their hard work.

Khos - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We arrived at Best Western Airport Inn on Saturday June 15, 2013 with a warm welcome from the hotel staff. They were very pleasant. They told us about the full breakfast, where it was served from and what time it began on Sunday morning.
We went up to our room to relax before we headed out for the evening. The room was smaller than most that we have stayed in, but very clean. The beds were comfortable along with the pillows. We found that filling the tub for a bath was interesting. There was no warm water only hot and cold. So we added hot and then added cold.
Breakfast the next morning was great: scrambled eggs, pancakes, waffle maker to make your own waffles, sausage, potato patties, yogurt, toast, bagels,cereal, muffins, fruit, juice, coffee and milk. Many choices for those that are picky eaters.
The only negative thing I find about the Best Western Hotels is this: if the rooms are for 4 people than why do they not have four towels, facecloths and hand towels in the room. It is crazy that we always have to call housekeeping and ask them to bring us another set of towels.
We were very happy that the hotel was not far off the main road leading out of Calgary. Would stay there again if we end up in Calgary.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAS1159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAInn, General Manager at Best Western Airport Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
thank you so much for your review. we hope to see you again.

Khos _ GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Days Inn - Calgary Airport
Days Inn - Calgary Airport
#37 of 109 in Calgary
595 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Northeast Calgary
Four Points by Sheraton Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Airport Inn

Property: Best Western Airport Inn
Address: 1947 18 Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 7T8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Airport Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 76 well-appointed rooms, five with Roman Hot Tubs, minutes away from the airport and conveniently located close to highway #1 (16th Avenue) and highway #2 (Deerfoot Trail), with easy access to the Calgary Zoo, Calgary Tower, Calgary Stampede grounds, Spark - Telus Science Center and downtown. Enjoy the indoor pool, hot tub, fitness center, vending and ice machines, HSIA, plus many more amenities. Free Airport courtesy vehicle and Breakfast Buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Airport Hotel Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing