We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite a Three Star....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Airport Inn
Ranked #57 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
GreenLeadersGold level
Red Deer, Alberta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not quite a Three Star....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

I stayed one night before catching an early morning flight from YYC (about 13 km away). The check-in staff were friendly, parking adequate. It had a Thai restaurant which I didn't try but it looked nice. The hotel is dated, somewhat run down in places (elevator, hallways). The room was small but clean enough but the bathroom had cracked tiles, an older tub with a $79(CAN) tubsaround, was in generally poor condition. I wouldn't call this a Three Star property, more in the two star range.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnalexG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    143
    87
    23
    22
See reviews for
114
120
21
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We were told this was a fairly new hotel. Very nice decor, friendly and helpful staff. The hotel was not too far from the airport,though airport expansion gave us some detours. Some hiccups with the wifi but I,m sure they can be sorted out. The pool and hot tub are on the main floor....We hate it when they are in the basement! There is a nice breakfast room beside reception with a good variety of hot and cold foods. What we did like was the breakfast room was transformed into a Thai restaurant in the evening. We had a beautiful meal there. Lots to choose from and great service. This hotel has been well planned. We would definitely use it again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeerDeerOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
322 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

On completion of a great holiday in Canadian Rockies, me and my spouse were to catch an early (0600am) flight from Calgary to Dallas; so we moved to this airport hotel. it is almost midway between Calgary city and the Calgary airport.very conveniently located. the hotel is average with clean rooms. it provided us packed breakfast (as we had to leave at 0400am0 as well as complimentary shuttle for airport transfer. good service.

Room Tip: rooms on ground floor are convenient to shift the baggage, as the hotel does not provide valet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We booked to stay here because of its proximity to the airport, (not that close, we discovered, despite its name!). We had arrived into Calgary in the evening, after a 10 hour flight, so were looking for somewhere to rest for the night before continuing onwards. The hotel has a free shuttle service to and from the airport, but unfortunately it was not available when we arrived, so we paid $50 for a taxi instead. We were shown to a rather grubby and tatty room, and informed it was one of the few rooms that had not yet been renovated. Never mind, we thought, we just need to sleep and then move on. When we went to get into bed however, we discovered that the sheets had not been changed since the previous occupants. The bedlinen was soiled and dirty, so I asked for some clean sheets. I stripped the beds and remade them with the clean but unironed sheets. I tried to ignore the stained and dirty mattress protectors underneath! There was an overwhelming smell of stale cooking in the corridors and our room. On the plus side, the receptionist was polite! We left as early as we could in the morning - I just couldn't get out fast enough!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nandi64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Forest, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times. Each time the staff has gone out of their way for us! Once we arrived late and hungry and very tired (their onsite restaurant was closed)...the front desk personnel overheard us and immediately found some yogurt, fruit, water and potato chips for us without being asked and at no charge! Another time we wanted to attend a few morning classes with my sister who was in the hospital...they willingly allowed our Mom to stay in the room until 1:30 p.m. This last time we misunderstood and thought breakfast went until 10 am...when we got down there shortly after 9, the staff was cleaning up and putting things away, the manager made absolutely sure that we could enjoy a full, lovely breakfast (hot waffles too!) and came back to check that all was well! The rooms are always clean and comfortable. There is always a bowl of fresh fruit. The hotel's location is also very good. The hotel has a pool etc. but we never use it! Their on-site Thai Restaurant is wonderful too!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1751489Travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, On
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

Good value. Ask for a quiet room on the highest floor; beds are so comfortable! Breakfast is included with bacon and eggs, not just a continental b/fast.
The hotel is new, clean and there is a bar/snack area for late arrivals. You will like it here!

Room Tip: When we made our reservation, we asked for a room that was quiet, and away from the elevators. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyToronto_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

This hotel is a very good value. The rooms are somewhat small but newly refurbished. The breakfast is a full hot meal which is included with the price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S4S4R1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Days Inn - Calgary Airport
Days Inn - Calgary Airport
#35 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
Northeast Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Airport Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Airport Inn
Address: 1947 18 Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 7T8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Airport Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 76 well-appointed rooms, five with Roman Hot Tubs, minutes away from the airport and conveniently located close to highway #1 (16th Avenue) and highway #2 (Deerfoot Trail), with easy access to the Calgary Zoo, Calgary Tower, Calgary Stampede grounds, Spark - Telus Science Center and downtown. Enjoy the indoor pool, hot tub, fitness center, vending and ice machines, HSIA, plus many more amenities. Free Airport courtesy vehicle and Breakfast Buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Best Western, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Airport Hotel Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing