We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delta Hotels Calgary South
Ranked #44 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2008

I travel 3 weeks out of the month all year - and this is by far the worst hotel I have EVER stayed at.

When we arrived we wondered around the hotel for 30 minutes looking for someone to check us in. When someone finally showed up, we were told they "gave our suite away" - and we arrived at 1:30 in the afternoon - AND I had called 3 days before to confirm our arrival!!!! Then they try to put us in a room with one bed and a pull out couch - and we were supposed to have a suite originally as we had 4 of us!!!! We call down and complain, and we have to wait for another 30 minutes for someone to bring the keys for our new room.

Our new room smells like pee, the lights don't work, and the carpet is ripped up in the corner!!!!! WAY crowded with weird furniture.........storage maybe? We complain and are about to leave, when they tell us they do have the 2 adjoining rooms we suggested when they "gave our room away".

45 minutes later we were in ...............and charged $1500 for 3 nights for 2 rooms - the food sucked - we had a local hobo actually living outside of our room ............................THIS IS A DELTA?!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Katie5ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 563 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2008

Overall, we were not at all impressed with our stay. We requested a cot for in our room but then had to call the front desk to get it delivered, one day of our 5 night stay there was no housekeeping done in our room, the pool very rarely had towels, the weather was hot during our stay and the air conditioning was not sufficient to keep our room comfortable, we extended our stay by one night and I went to the front desk to do this, but on the day of the extension we were locked out of our room.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hockeymomAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

The rooms were beautiful. The Hotel was lovely. The staff were very efficient when I called them.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank crash6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

This was a very poor hotel for the price (almost 200 dollars Atrium side)
The rooms were somewhat dated, they were in need of repair . .. for example the door closer had leaked oil all the way down the door, the tiles in the shower were broken and about to fall off in some cases.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gyro9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

I recently stayed at this hotel because I usually stay at Delta's and this property was by no means up to the Delta standard. I stayed at this Delta for business and the main reason why this was not that great was the housekeeping was terrible.

Little things such as glasses left half full were not taken away and stayed in the room until the day I left. (3 days). A full ice bucket of water was left on top of the ironing board left out, which was also left out the whole stay. I've never had that bad of housekeeping service in a hotel before. I did let the person at the check out know and they said they would contact the housekeeping people to let them know.

I have to say the breakfast was very good, they had a breakfast buffet every day with a larger breakfast brunch on Sunday. The property is older and they are undergoing some renovations but they have a lot of work to go.

I filled out an online survey of my recent stay as I always do with every hotel (how else can they get better if you don't?) I mentioned the above details and a few days later I was contacted by the hotel manager who apologized for the housekeeping I received and has sent me a weekend free in a superior room. While I was not looking for that, it was a nice gesture.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ShaunEdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

When I booked my room I specified a certain suite, one that I'd previously stayed in. When I got to my room it was the wrong one. They were more than accommodating, they upgraded me to the the best suite in the hotel & offered me a discounted rate. A few hours later they brought up Sparkling wine & chocolate covered strawberries with a card apologizing for the inconvenience. This certainly made up for their mistake!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kimstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

Great family hotel for staying in Calgary. Delta had a zoo promotion package during our stay. This gave us a room with 2 queen beds, passes for the Calgary Zoo and access to the hot breakfast buffet. The price was very good value for a family of 2 adults and 2 children. We had a room in the Atrium Tower. The room was clean and the beds were good. The hot breakfast buffet was very good with lots of variety and even had a cook making omelettes to order.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TwitchyEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#32 of 110 in Calgary
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Blackfoot
#23 of 110 in Calgary
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels Calgary South

Address: 135 Southland Dr SE, Calgary, Alberta T2J 5X5, Canada (Formerly Delta Calgary South Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $118 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta Hotels Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Calgary's largest hotel, located in the Macleod Trail entertainment and business district steps away from some of Calgary's best shopping and dining experiences. Explore the best Calgary has to offer including the Calgary Zoo and Heritage Park Historical Village only a short drive from the hotel. Make a Splash on our 160' Big gusher Waterslide, take a swim in our Atrium pool, get energized in our Fitness Facility then enjoy an array of dining and beverage options in our Atrium Cafe & Skylight Lounge, Boomtown Pub & Patio or Bonaventure Lounge and Gaming Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Delta Hotels Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Calgary South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing