We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Delta so far...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Ranked #45 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed in several Delta's in Alberta, this one really tops the line in terms of service and friendliness - in fact the team there really is all about making you feel welcome.

Rooms are clean and tidy. Pretty good gym and a decent breakfast buffet. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TAKETHEL0NGWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for sharing your review of the Delta Calgary South on Trip Advisor. We are always excited when we hear that a guest found our team to be very welcoming. In addition, we're glad you found good value for your money. We hope to welcome you back soon, thanks again for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 552 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and booked the Heritage Park package for 1 night, which was of great value for us, 2 adults and a 6 yr old. Comes with 2 adult tickets, 2 child tickets and included unlimited rides. Also a $25 gift certificate. See Park administration if you do not need the extra child ticket.
Hotel is in a good location, Walmart, Cdn Tire and restaurants nearby which is handy if you need anything. Kids are treated to a goodie bag upon check-in which adds to their experience, and with the pool and spiralling waterslides you are sure to win here. Happy kids means happy parents, Delta knows this. Rooms were clean and upgraded. Microwave and fridge in the standard room is convenient. Room ventilation was quiet and temperature comfortable. There is some traffic noise during the day, but our room on the 2nd floor was quiet enough that it was barely noticeable. Even on the 2nd night with a noisy wedding party smoking/drinking outside not far from our window, I expected the worse, but our room remained quiet and we were not bothered. We didn't hear neighbours much either, just the odd door in the hall which can be expected. Our door could of been adjusted to close a bit lighter as well.

The pool temperature was decent, not too cold, as well the hot tub was hot enough. This is a busy hotel so do expect both pool areas (Tower and Atrium) to be busy which is a good sign, right ? Even though staff restocked the towels a few times, people were always grabbing stacks of them, so expect this. Not the hotel's fault here. Unfold your towels like you used them, no one will touch them. Life jackets for the kids are offered first come first serve - 20 in stock. Staff was friendly and always offering assistance from the front counter, bell hops to lounge personel. Lounge is quiet and relaxing, even with several video lottery terminals in the next room. Their volumns kept low. Overall we were pretty happy with our choice here.

Security - There were security personel the Friday to patrol hotel and parking lots which was assuring. I did not see them the second night (Sat), but not to say they weren't around.

The negatives - parking lot is busy at the Tower, could use signage directing guests and visitors to side parking lot or Atrium lot.
Check in was a bit time consuming, however check out with a credit card is quick.

Cleaning - someone's empty room service dishes and tray sat outside their door in the hall from 8 pm when I initially seen it, and was still there at 6:30 am when we checked out. Tile floor in the elevators and lobby areas was sticky from left over drink spills from the wedding party until 6:30 am. Someone just started cleaning this up after we checked out.

Smoking - would be nice for partying wedding guests to take their smoking to other areas away from hotel entrances. Families do stay here, and I nor my child should not have to inhale this. Smoke does enter and go up into the 2nd floor elevator area. Many cities have bylaws in place regarding this. Calgary may not, but I feel the hotel industry with guests from all over should be on top of this trend. Where was security this night ?

Bottom line - The negatives were minor, but felt I should be honest. Delta is pretty good but not perfect. Would I stay here again ?
You bet we would. I reccomend it.

Room Tip: In the Tower side, rooms facing the back to Cdn Tire I suspect would be the quietest. However, eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. It will certainly be helpful for guests considering the Delta Calgary South. We will ensure our entire management team has a chance to see it as you make some great points. In addition, from your feedback, we are going to look at some signage for the parking and the smoking areas around the hotel. On behalf of the team at the Delta Calgary South, we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed just one night, check in easy ( we booked with their last minute email offer, $110 for the night). We had a basic room, with two queen beds- very clean. Every staff member we bumped into was very friendly, going out of their way to acknowledge us. We took our 5 & 7 year old to the pool, they loved the waterslide! Beds a little soft for my liking, but ok. All in this was a great weekend away spot - close to Southcentre shopping mall and lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thanks for posting your review newmama, we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and specifically some of the amenities within and around the hotel. We'll also ensure our team hears your comments regarding how friendly they were, they'll appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Spent 2 night here with my daughters and grandchild. Nothing special, nice and clean - only catch was the only adjoining rooms are on the ground level in the tower building - not as nice as the atrium building. Was a little concerned about security, being at ground level with 5 ladies and a baby, but didn't seem to be an issue. Couldn't get the A/C to shut off, though - so the first niight was kind of chilly.

Room Tip: Ask for an Atrium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dramaguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thanks for sharing your experience, indeed our Atrium Rooms are a more upscale experience compared to our tower building rooms as they were re-done earlier this year. Thank you again for posting your review on Trip Advisor and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were in Calgary for a swim meet and got this room at the last minute for $109 a night, which we thought was pretty good. It was a standard hotel room, nothing special, but it was clean and we have nothing to complain about (except one thing, in a minute). The employees were very nice, everyone was very helpful and pleasant.

The one negative would be that the air conditioning unit was leaking and creating quite a wet spot on the floor underneath. I mentioned this to the front desk and he was apologetic, but didn't think anything could be done because it was due to the bad humidity they've been having... Humidity? Come to the Maritimes, we'll show you humidity! Not that big a deal.

Oh, and TV reception wasn't great.

Grocery stores nearby, Chinook Centre up the street (for you shoppers).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClubFred0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor ClubFred0, we're glad to hear that you found our team to be helpful and pleasant. Please accept our apologies for the TV reception and the condensation problem from the cooling unit in the room. We're in the process of sourcing out a solution for the next time we experience a summer with abnormally high humidty and heat. Hopefully the swim meet here in Calgary went well and your swimming involvement will bring you back to Calgary in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I visited the Deta during Stampede week. Not the best location for getting into and out of down town but the hotel itself was okay. Service was friendly. Food was ok. Internet speed was slow.

The room was older but had everything I need. Supposedly it was air conditioned but the fact that it had two oscillating fans indicated how useless the AC was. Making maters worse was the fact that the windows don't open. I don't recommend this place if temperatures are expected to be above 35 DegC.

The indoor pool looks like a selling point. Large, corkscrew slide that the kids would love.

Room Tip: Get something upstairs away from the pool. Next to the parking lot is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoamingGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Thank you for posting your review RoamingGoat, we appreciate you sharing your experience and recommendations. Due to the unusually warm summer we've experienced here in Calgary, it has pushed our cooling system to the outer limits. With that said, we have replaced a major component since your stay that does improve the situation, we're just sorry it was after your stay.

In addition, we have secured a larger capacity Internet line and pending the arrival of some adiditonal components, guests will notice a higher speed in about 1 months time. Thanks again for your posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on a friday night in July, 2012. The experience was great, right from the beginning reservation process (Dealt with by Carter in reservations who was fast, efficient, friendly, and best of all, told me about the kids under 7 eat free, which was a major factor in booking the room, and eating at the hotel). Called looking for a room for that very night, and there was no problem getting it set up.

Hotel property is off of Macleod Trail, a major thoroughfare, and across the street from a wal-mart, and only a few minutes from Chinook Centre, a giant mall.

I was booked into a Mode Deluxe room, with a kingsize bed, and pullout couch, perfect for the family. The atrium building is across the street, but despite some other reviewers, I was told at booking time to go to the Tower building to book in. Great experience in dealing with Nelly at the front counter, who was friendly, gave me the low down about the hotel amenities.

Room was great. Big and modern, with a great bathroom, and a very comfortable bed. The only downfall was the pillows were a bit soft for my liking. The view isn't the greatest, overlooking the parking lot, but that's lending to the location of the building. There was an odd noise, coming from the bathroom fan/pipes area, that was quite distracting, keeping my wife up. It did eventually stop at around midnight. When we first got there, there was a room service tray left over in the hallway outside our room. A staff member happened to be walking by, and when it was brought to his attention, he took it immediately.

Kids loved the waterslide pool, and had a great time. Nice loft overlooking the pool area. There were no towells when we got there, but luckily we had brought some from our room (we tried calling concierge, but noone answered twice, to answer our question about towells).

There was some debris near the secondary elevator on the second floor that was closest to our room. Not a big deal, but it stayed there all day/night/next morning. Some torn up paper shreds, a peanut, etc.

Breakfast was great! We all had the buffet, and the selection was good. The lady making the omelettes onsite was great, and all the food was delicious. Very reasonably priced, and the kids eat free made it even better.

Checkout was a little bit long, as I sat there for a few minutes waiting. No way to contact anybody, but she eventually showed up. Not a big deal. Told her about the noise, but the lady checking us out didn't seem too interested, just asking if it kept the kids up.

All in all a great experience. My first stay at a delta property, and will definately return, and will choose Delta's in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for the mode deluxe room in the Atrium building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dogmantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thanks so much for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. What a great review that will certainly help other travellers when considering the Delta Calgary South. Please accept our sincere apologies for the noise and your experience during check-out though, we will review that with our team to facilitate improvement in that area. In addition, we'll specifically look into the odd noise you experienced in hopes we can pinpoint and resolve. We hope to have the opportunity to not only welcome you back, but provide a positive check-out experience as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#32 of 110 in Calgary
1,048 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Blackfoot
#20 of 110 in Calgary
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Calgary South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Calgary South Hotel

Address: 135 Southland Dr SE, Calgary, Alberta T2J 5X5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $106 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta Calgary South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Calgary's largest hotel, located in the Macleod Trail entertainment and business district steps away from some of Calgary's best shopping and dining experiences. Explore the best Calgary has to offer including the Calgary Zoo and Heritage Park Historical Village only a short drive from the hotel. Make a Splash on our 160' Big gusher Waterslide, take a swim in our Atrium pool, get energized in our Fitness Facility then enjoy an array of dining and beverage options in our Atrium Cafe & Skylight Lounge, Boomtown Pub & Patio or Bonaventure Lounge and Gaming Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Delta Calgary South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Calgary South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing