We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really 3.5, but overall ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Ranked #43 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Really 3.5, but overall ok”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Not as nice as your typical Delta hotel, but nothing terribly wrong with it either. A bit of an odd layout, with half the hotel on one side of a street, and the other half located on another piece of property. Each section has their own lobby, but they will check you in at either. You may then have to drive, or take the pedway over, if you're not in the same building as your designated room.

I was located in the atrium part of the hotel, which is only 3 stories tall. It is a large square building, and only has a couple of elevators, so you may find yourself walking across the main floor, and then walking down a long corridor to your room on that floor.

Otherwise, staff I dealt with were friendly, professional, and thorough. The room was fine: decent lighting, desk and chair, lots of room including a sofa, sitting chair, and coffee table (this was a king room). The bathroom function was fine, but it could use a reno soon. Room was very clean, however.

Parking is free, but is outdoors. There are restaurants and bars located on site, but there are plenty of other choices nearby, as well.

Price was reasonable for Calgary, especially considering that everything else in the city was sold out. I paid around $175 (+ tax), when the Hyatt wanted almost $600 (for a standard room).

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies that overlook the atrium pool and restaurant area. This could be a pro or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigTipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Executive Administrator at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
We appreciate that you took the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay at the Delta Calgary South. We review all comments that we receive and use them to improve our property.
Once again thank you. We look forward to welcoming you on a future visit to Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    195
    76
    26
    24
See reviews for
164
85
17
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piedmont, CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night with my husband and two daughters aged 7 and 2 in July 2011. We stayed in the Atrium which we found very attractive and comfortable. Our room was very spacious, and nicely accommodated a family of 4 including a toddler crib. The beds were comfortable. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Check in was easy and the very personable and professional staff also gave my kids some welcome packets.

We ordered room service for breakfast and while it was very tasty, they were also quite late, which kind of messed up our day.

We stayed here for the waterslide and it did not disappoint. Ok, this isn't like a full blown amusement park, but for a hotel pool, it was pretty cool. My kids absolutely loved it. My 7 year old went down it 27 times (she counted). It was crowded but people were generally pretty well behaved. They could use a bit more supervision, because kids were piling up and going down one right after the other. They ran short on towels.

Overall, we liked the hotel a lot.

Room Tip: Ask for the Atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piedmontcamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Executive Administrato at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your stay with the Delta Calgary South.
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. We have discussed the issues you raised with the appropriate departments.
We look foward to welcoming you back to Calgary on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Not living to Delta brand. Although the rates would be found quite competitive compared to many other Calgary hotels, this hotel overall is not in excellent shape. Elevators have damaged floor tiles. Tower building appearls to be less cleaner than what is expected to be from this hotel chain. If you must stay at this location, choose Attrium building and ask for rooms caled Delta premiere rooms. It would be a little better experience. As found by other reviweres, some staff needs customer service training in terms of being more ploite and guest friendly.

Room Tip: Choose "Delta premiere" room in attriu wing. Avoid tower wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We take all guest feedback very seriously and as a result have shared your feedback regarding cleanliness and customer service with our entire team. Although we have gained a reputation of having very friendly staff over the last number of years, we realize that we cannot take that for granted and must be constantly striving to be the best, your feedback will assist in maintaining that focus.

I am pleased to share that the Elevator Cabs in the Tower Building are slated for full renovation with plans/designs almost complete, with project completion soon to follow. In addition, we completed the renovation of our Tower Delta Guestrooms in March 2010 (Full renovation including a new bathroom.) and between September 5, 2011 and September 21, 201. We have been replacing the exterior windows of the Tower Lobby. The early stages of that project certainly presented some unavoidable feeling of disarray within that space.

On behalf of the team at the Delta Calgary South, thank you for your feedback, and we are confident that if given the chance, a return visit would present noticeable changes in the areas you identified as shortfalls during your recent stay.

Grant Erickson
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

When we arrived at the Delta Calgary South we were greeted by the Concierge like we were old friends. We had our grandson with us and they treated him like he was part of their family.Every time we had contact with an employee there was genuine interest in our stay, what were were planning, offers for assistance for finding recreation, tours, general information, shopping, and just generally they made us feel like they were looking after a family member rather than just a guest. The room was super clean as is the whole hotel. The beds were wonderful. I have difficulty with insomnia but the beds were so good I had the best two nights sleep I have had in weeks. The food in the restaurants is very, very good. Service was impecable - they just couldn't do enough for us. In the Atrium restaurant they have set up a play area, so when the kids are done eating, they have a place to go with toys and supervision - that was a totally new experience and proved to me that the owners and managers care for all clients, even the little ones. What a pleasant change to have service beyond our dreams instead and searching out for someone/anyone who can get you a glass of water. Even our experience with room service was beyond our expectations. The people are genuine - no fake smiles or condesending attitudes.. The people in the hotel made our stay one of the best we have had, off of a cruise ship. In fact many of the cruise lines could take a lesson from this hotel - a lesson in hospitalty at its best. The hotel is located very close to large shopping centres, boutique shops, and a vast variety of off site restaurants. Entertainment is close by as well. Major road systems make getting to the hotel very easy. Try this hoel if you are planning a stay in the south end of Calgary - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CruisinGrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Executive Administrator at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay with the Delta Calgary South.
We are truly pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit to Calgary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We got weekend rates of $89 a night. The hotel is ideally situated near many restaurants, Southcentre Mall and Chinook Mall. The rooms were all updated and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Free newspaper at your door. Free coffee in the lobby in the morning. We stayed in the Tower portion of the hotel, and it was great.

Room Tip: Ask for weekend rates...during the week the rates are much higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonn_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Executive Administrator at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay with the Delta Calgary South.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel met your needs while visiting Calgary.
We look forward to welcoming you on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Friends of ours and ourselves met here in August for weekend to visit. Our room (265) and our friends Room 269 were excellent. Ours had a king bed, large flat screen, fridge, microwave, couch, comfortable chairs and good air conditioning. Rooms were very clean. What stands out at this hotel is customer service from the moment you check in to the time you leave - all the staff we interacted with always asked if there was anything else they could do. Staff were extremely efficient, friendly, courteous and helpful - they are obviously interested in ensuring guests have a pleasant stay. As a result of this exceptional service and reasonable rates we are very likely to stay at this particular Delta again. Highly recommended if you are looking for a good clean hotel with free parking and great staff at a very reasonable rate, particularly for Calgary. Thank-you to the staff for making our short two day stay very enjoyable. The hotel consists of two separate buildings joined by a walkway - I do not know what the rooms are like in the Tower building but we stayed in the Atrium building which we found very quiet. King bed was very, very comfortable.

Room Tip: Room 265 in the Atrium building is in the back corner and was very quiet. I would recommend this ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyviewEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Executive Administrator at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with the Delta Calgary South. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our mission is to host every guest as a friend in our own home and you certainly experienced that.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed in a double queen bed Atrium room and had 3 dogs with us. The room was comfortable, very adequate size, with good air conditioning and cleaned by polite and helpful staff. The reception staff were excellent and greeted us every time we passed by the desk, which with three dogs to exercise, was often. It was a quiet hotel at night and we found the beds even more comfortable than our beds at home. The plug in the bathroom vanity became detached and was fixed without any prompting from us. Our only issue was that the bathroom fan didn't work but that was easily solved by opening the bathroom door. We were attending Spruce Meadows and this hotel was very conveniently located for quick and easy travel to that facility as well as for shopping and major malls. We would and likely will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryderlakerambler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Executive Administrator at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with the Delta Calgary South. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#29 of 109 in Calgary
897 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Blackfoot
#22 of 109 in Calgary
510 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#85 of 109 in Calgary
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Calgary South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Calgary South Hotel

Property: Delta Calgary South Hotel
Address: 135 Southland Dr SE, Calgary, Alberta T2J 5X5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta Calgary South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Calgary's largest hotel, located in the Macleod Trail entertainment and business district steps away from some of Calgary's best shopping and dining experiences. Explore the best Calgary has to offer including the Calgary Zoo and Heritage Park Historical Village only a short drive from the hotel. Make a Splash on our 160' Big gusher Waterslide, take a swim in our Atrium pool, get energized in our Fitness Facility then enjoy an array of dining and beverage options in our Atrium Cafe & Skylight Lounge, Boomtown Pub & Patio or Bonaventure Lounge and Gaming Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta Calgary South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Calgary South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing