We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't be disappointed at the Port O'Call!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed here last week and had a great stay! The staff is very friendly and helpful and the facilities are very clean and comfortable. The new restaurant is beautiful - disappointed that I wasn't able to try it out - it opened after I left. I ate in the lounge the first night and had breakfast and lunch the next day - the meals were great - everything was fresh and tasty! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvtotravelSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,095)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

923 - 929 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have become a fan of Best Western Plus properties. This location is up to par. The front desk people are freindly and easy to talk with. As a fequent guest, they upgrade me to a king suite. And this is a really nice room. Large, spacious room. Big flat screen. Excellant bed!
Restaurant has a terrific breakfast buffet, not inexpensive, but great choices.
For the money, it is a worthy place to stay.

Room Tip: Become a Best Western member (free) and they will go out of their way to upgrade!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Had a great stay a few weeks ago at the Port o Call. We booked it solely because we'd heard the water park was excellent and it lived up to its reputation. There are two bigger water slides that our 6 and 8 year olds could go down by themselves (but the water was too deep if they didn't know how to swim or have water wings). The only knock is the water was COLD! The part they liked the best was the little rock waterslide that led to the kiddie pool - the water in that pool was the temp of a warm bathtub!

Other favorite part of this hotel is the underground FREE heated parking! No free breakfast but Denny's is about a 10 minute drive or close to Tim's, McDonald's etc - not a big deal.

Overall very nice stay - pretty nice gym in the basement with a second pool and 3rd hot tub (there's two in the main pool).

Recommend this place for sure but be ready - the pool is a little chilly!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKYoung1, Manager at Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear robngaby,

Thank You for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at our hotel. We get many positive feedback from families regarding the Waterpark feature . I will be going over the water temperature with our Maintenance team in order to fine tune the appropriate temp in the large pool, in general we follow the guidance of the City of Calgary Facilities and up the temperature several degrees based the depth and bather load. As you had pointed out , we are located half ways from Downtown and the YYC with easy access to many of the amenities that suit individual traveler specific needs.
We look forward in being your choice hotel on your future travels!

Kind Regards

C.Young General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Do not agree with the Hotel pre-billing my credit card for incidentals prior to my checking out. I am not aware of anybody pre-paying for a non-service.Otherwise all services and amenities were accetable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank MIKE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKYoung1, Manager at Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Mr. Mike R ,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at our hotel , I am pleased to learn that your experience overall was positive. Our hotel takes steps to safeguard certain transactions in order benefit all stakeholders, There are instances when reservations are not booked directly with our hotel and we request for credit card reference to validate the transaction of checking in , other options includes a cash deposit or advance deposit . Common practices such above in retail may include a photo ID . Depending on the financial institution , these references are usually re-credited back from 3-5 days upon check-out .
Thank You for bringing your concern to my attention , so that we can best anticipate your travel needs. We do look forward to your return soon !
Kindest Regards,
Chung Young
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Best Western traveler
Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed January 9, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A Best Western traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

great exprience from the front desk staff, resturant service and food, the breakfast buffet (was extra) was great.

the quality of the suite was outstanding
Business centre was equiped with 2 computers, that had Windows 8 on them, two printers and a scannar

When in Calgary it is home away from home :D


  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank EBakry76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Sheraton Cavalier Hotel
#45 of 109 in Calgary
352 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB
Northeast Calgary
Homewood Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel

Address: 1935 McKnight Blvd NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 6V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Calgary
#8 Family Hotel in Calgary
#9 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $106 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Customer Centric Mid-Market Best Western Plus Hotel .Great Location halfways between Calgary Downtown and the YYC . Close to the CrossIron Mills, Sunridge Mall,Deerfoot Mall, Calgary Zoo, Sparks Science Centre, easy access via Deerfoot Trail and TransCanada Highway. A Corporate Hotel on Weekdays and Leisure on Weekends, 8000 Sq. Ft Waterpark . Full Service Best Western Plus with upper tier service and offerings. Complimentary shuttle service for registered guests to and from YYC (Airport) as well as underground heated parking available . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing