We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great for Families”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

When you here Best Western, you think quality. This hotel is one of the lower standards in the Best Western line of hotels. It is still nice, but keep that in mind.
The hotel looks old from the outside, but is nicer on the inside. It has a coffee shop, a gift shop, a bar and a restaurant. There were other common areas for group gatherings and a few board rooms.
If you decide to park underground, bring your bags into the lobby at checkin. There is no elevator from the parkade, only tiled stairs up to the lobby level. I believe there were elevators to every other floor in the hotel. Parking is free with your stay.
The Water Park is so neat. There is a wading pool for tots complete with a little waterslide, waterfall, and lights that they go crazy for. There are 2 full-sized waterslides, 2 hot tubs and a decent sized swimming pool. It was the highlight of the stay.
We had a ‘Cabana’ Room. It’s a fun idea. Cabana Rooms have a patio that opens into the Water Park. The patio has a table and 4 chairs. If you’re concerned about our little ones getting into the pool if they escape the room, don’t worry. Best Western thought of that. The door that opens into the pool area has a child lock feature, after that there are about 10 stairs to get up to the pool entrance where you are met with a gate that would be very difficult for a child to open.
The drawback to having a Cabana Room is that it’s an indoor Water Park, and you don’t have a window to outside open air. The whole room smelled of chlorine. It was very difficult to breath. If you have any sort of breathing problems, do not get one of these rooms. There is an air conditioning unit in the room which helps a little bit, but it is still not suitable for anyone with Asthma or allergies. Other rooms would not have this problem. Otherwise the room was clean with plenty of towels and everything that a standard Best Western would have. The theme of the room was tropical. It was cute.

Room Tip: Do not get a cabana room unless you are okay with smelling chlorine all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    328
    83
    16
    14
See reviews for
547
153
36
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taber, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel 2 times in the last year. We had such a nice experience the first time we went a second. We stayed here once for the Calgary marathon and once for a family trip to the zoo. The rooms are nice and modern, they are quiet and clean. Our kids love the water park. The water park is smaller than it looks in pictures but it suited us just fine. Our room the first time was right by the elevator so we asked to be moved because I had to get up early to run the marathon the next morning and I was afraid I would hear the elevator all night. They moved us with no problem. The second time we stayed our room smelled so strongly of pine sol we thought they must have been trying to cover something up. I should have asked to move to another room but I didnt. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Hotel is fine , the problem is trying to get to the hotel from the airport.
The shuttle had promised that they run every half hour , but we waited outside at the airport for almost an hour . Unacceptable. We won't be staying there again

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellabw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel 4 different occasions and will again. Older hotel but still kept very well and it is very comfortable. Free shuttle service to the airport, with room. Also free wifi. The price is very reasonable for Calgary rates. Indoor parking as well, for smaller vehicles.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in June/July for 3 weeks for work training and I cant say enough nice things about it!!! From the rooms to the staff to the restaurant the service was incredible not one complaint! The room was always spotless cleaned perfectly, the staff were polite caring and knowledgeable and the restaurant/bar staff were always great also(great food too)

Even the shuttle drivers were super amazing.

Please keep up the great work!!!!

Cant wait to come back and visit

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We were in the area for a sporting competition and had a fabulous stay. The beds are very comfortable and the staff were amazing and accommodating. The lobby is so cozy with a roaring fire place and nice fruit flavored water. It is so convenient having a restaurant, lounge and bar on site. Also security is on site on the weekends. The waterpark is amazing and the small pool downstairs is a nice quiet option. Would highly recommend this hotel anytime you come to Calgary.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buller_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

My husband and i stayed at this hotel for a few days surrounding our wedding. We had our wedding reception in the hotel ballroom and were treated like royalty. Everything was perfect!

I had a family suite for the night before the wedding. I stayed there with my bridesmaids and we had a fantastic time! Loved the swimming pool in the basement. Breakfast was good!

For the wedding night my husband and i had one of the Honeymoon suites. This room was magnificent! It was huge! The bed was extremely comfortable. The shower is a marvel in iteself!

Many of our guests also stayed at the hotel. The standard rooms were also very nice! roomy and well decorated.

Sunday brunch in the main restaurant is delicious! We make a habit of going every few months. Really good food!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank island_girl8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB
Sheraton Cavalier Hotel
#43 of 109 in Calgary
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel
Address: 1935 McKnight Blvd NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 6V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Calgary
#8 Family Hotel in Calgary
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Customer Centric Mid-Market Best Western Plus Hotel .Great Location halfways between Calgary Downtown and the YYC . Close to the CrossIron Mills, Sunridge Mall,Deerfoot Mall, Calgary Zoo, Sparks Science Centre, easy access via Deerfoot Trail and TransCanada Highway. A Corporate Hotel on Weekdays and Leisure on Weekends, 8000 Sq. Ft Waterpark . Full Service Best Western Plus with upper tier service and offerings. Complimentary shuttle service for registered guests to and from YYC (Airport) as well as underground heated parking available . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing