We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2006

The motel was fine for what you pay. I got a room for $125/night during the Calgary Stampede over the weekend just passed, but I booked well in advance. The free parking was great and it was only a 10 minute walk to the train so we didn't need to drive anywhere. The train would take us to the Stampede grounds or downtown. 17 St restaurants and bars were 5 - 10 minutes walk in the other direction. There were plenty of great places to choose from!
The hotel was very 80's but at least the bathrooms had been renovated. Our room had 2 queens and a kitchenette. It was adequately sized and we were comfortable. There was a bit of noise from the corridor but no more than most hotels of it's age! I thought the breakfast was great - cereals, hard boiled eggs, fruit, bagels, muffins, danish pastries, croissants, a juice bar, etc. My husband enjoyed the coffee. Yeah, they serve it on plastic plates/cutlery but at least it tasted good! They should expand the breakfast room though - it got very cramped during the last 30 minutes on offer!
The biggest downer were the elevators - sooooo slooooow!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank burry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (817)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

769 - 775 of 818 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2006

I stayed at the Best Western Suites on June 2 and 3/06. If you are looking for an average hotel it is ok. They do not put many bars of soap in the room and I had to get get more for the person who was staying with me in the room. The first day I advised the front desk clerk that my friend would be checking in while I would be away from the room. They had no record of him being in the room, even though I had left his name at the front desk. However that evening when I raised the matter with the night auditor, he showed me that my friend's name was in the computer and he assured me the glich would not occur again. This fellow was very helpful and was true to his word as my friend the next day had no difficulty checking in.

The breakfast buffet that is included with the room is adequate, it is self serve and the plates and utensils are plastic. A big plus is parking was included in the room price.

5  Thank burnabycal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2005

We stayed at the Best Western Downtown Suites in Calgary for 2 nights in mid October 2005. As some other reviewers said it is not right in the middle of downtown but we had no trouble walking there and back. We got some exercise and enjoyed looking at the architecture of the houses and buildings on the way. Parking at the hotel was free and was either underground or right outside the hotel. There were plenty of restaurants within 1-2 blocks and a supermarket. The room was clean and quite nice. The breakfast was quite sufficient, mostly cereal and bagels and muffins and fruit. Some at the front desk were friendlier than others. The room was fairly quiet. We would stay here again.

4  Thank Sky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2005

Stayed for five days for a conference. Paid C$92 on the weekend and C$135 during the week. The elevators are terribly slow at busy times of day. Breakfast is fine and free, as is parking and high speed internet. I don't know why cheap hotels offer internet for free and expensive hotels need to charge. Location is decent with great restaurants on 17 Ave. Hotel is reasonably clean but it is a little noisy both from the hallways and the street.

Not a great place to stay, but not terrible either.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bjstirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2005

We had a five day visit in Calgary for this past Thanksgiving. We paid about $100 for a 1 bedroom suite at this hotel. It was not in perfect shape, but it was good enough for our needs. It was clean, had a seperate bedroom, 2 tvs, a kitchen a storage area and a living room. Plus it was close to a wide variety of bars and restaurants. Although not right in the centre of Calgary, it was close enough to walk if you are able (15 mins).

The hotel at time of this writing offered free parking, and free high speed internet access which was great...other hotels were charging up to $14 for the internet access and up to $15 for parking.

The rate that we paid also included a contintental breakfast. It is nothing to write home about...very basic...do not expect much and you will fine. After the first day, we chose not to eat breakfast in the hotel...Instead we went to the nearby restaurants. Very tasty...

3  Thank Amdamguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2005

We typically rely on Best Westerns to be clean and reasonably priced. We were sorely disappointed by the cleanliness of the room that we were initially given at this hotel. There was a small amount of blood on a sheet from what looked to be the cut on the hand of a careless maid. Further, there was urine left on the toilet seat from the previous occupant.

We immediately requested another room and were given one (and $20 off our rate) but needless to say our stay was somewhat ruined by that point. The other room that we were given was fine - like the rest of the hotel, it needed updating, but at least it was clean.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle_Mac625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2005

Stayed for 5 nights on the 9th floor. Got a good CAA rate by booking in advance. CAA rated 3 stars and Frommers rating is 2 stars. My comments are below.

The good
- Very helpful reception staff
- Four hour breakfast buffet - good spread
- Safeway one block away
- Free underground parking
- Linen/towels were old but clean - changed daily
- New A/C, free movie central, free local calls

The bad
- Hotel Must be at least 25 years old
- Peeling carpets, leaking bath taps, peeling wall paper
- Bathroom was clean but run down with cracked grout/discolored tiles
- Furniture was dusty, Musty smell in the room
- Two cramped and very slow elevators
- Cramped kitchenette - one stove didn't work
- Long walk to C-Train

Comapred to last BW we stayed (TinWis Resort, Tofino) - this was quite disappointing. It was cheap - but I wouldn't stay here again - especially with kids. We tried to stay out as much as possible and come back only to sleep.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Suites Downtown

Address: 1330 8th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 1B6, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Calgary
#13 Family Hotel in Calgary
#26 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $94 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Suites Downtown is a condominium style hotel that offers a choice of 405 sq ft studio, 765 sq ft One bedroom, 818 sq ft 2-bedroom suite, and 600 sq ft spa suite with modern kitchens. In addition, our Location is amongst the best you will find in Calgary, close enough to enjoy amenities of downtown as well a variety of restaurants and shops are within 5-minute walking distance. Our wall to wall windows will enable you to enjoy stunning views of Calgary’s skyline. We are the only downtown hotel that offers Complimentary Parking, as well as complimentary Hot breakfast buffet and WiFi. Calgary’s best restaurants and shopping district- the “trendy 17 Ave shops” is just minutes walk away and will delight you with endless choices of cuisine from Italian, Japanese, or Thai in both casual and fine dining. Attractions such as Calgary Tower, a Major downtown Centre, Princess island park, as well as the world-famous Calgary Stampede Grounds and Saddledome, are nearby as well. Come experience our spacious condominium style accommodations with unbeatable value with Complimentary parking, breakfast and WiFi, in one of the finest locations in Calgary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown Hotel Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing