We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Room and Inner City Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Room and Inner City Location”
Reviewed May 20, 2009

We found this place to be very good value for Calgary. It has had a recent renovation and we were in a very nice new room with two lovely beds. The front desk staff were great. The location was good, not far from the main roads and close enough to walk to local restaurants. The secur under ground parking was a bonus. The breakfast area is very well maintained by attentive staff.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwi_Explorer2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    281
    98
    24
    17
See reviews for
166
176
58
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sjkaters
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2009

We just came back from a 2 night stay at the Best Western Suites in Downtown Calgary. We stayed in a room with 2 Queen beds and a small kitchenette with a sink, microwave, mini fridge and a 2 burner stovetop. It was a spacious room for my husband, my 3 year old son and myself. I have little complaints about how the room appeared. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. There was however a funky kind of smell that we couldn't quite place. Once you were in the room for a short time you didn't notice it but everytime we entered our room we definately noticed the odor. We thought about requesting to change rooms but the convience of staying across the hall from our travelling partners outweighed the need to move. We did notice that our friend's room did not have the same smell so maybe it was just that one room...

Other than that it was a good stay. We didn't have the complimentary breakfast so I can't commment on that and the only other nuisance was the speed of the elevators. At peak times you often had to wait for the elevator to arrive.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjkaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2008

We stayed at the BW on a Friday and Saturday night. We had a room with two bedrooms and a sofa pullout bed in the livingroom (plus a small kitchen).

The entire hotel is in the midst of a renovation and the room we had was alreaady done. The carpets, bathroom, and fixtures all seemed to be new and this was very nice. My wife raved about the bed, pillows, and blanket (saying how nice they were). Even though the hotel is under renovation, we had no trouble with noise or dust.

Our only small con is that the elevators are slow.

This is not a "high end" hotel and guests need to keep that in mind. But the price for a room is fair and the facility is good. I would stay here again.

  • Liked — The renovated room is fresh and huge.
  • Disliked — There is no restaurant on site, only a cold breakfast.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gcs0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonnyville, ab
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

The location was excellent, close to shopping and restaurants, everything within walking distance. the hotel is newly renovated and clean. the complementary breakfast was excellent, had alot of variety. We had a one bedroom suite. It was excellent. The only complaint I had is housekeeping doesn't speak any english, making it very hard to communicate with them. I will be staying there again when I visit Calgary and would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — location and the room
  • Disliked — housekeepings knowledge of the english language.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank newfinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2008

I stayed in this downtown hotel to visit a friend in Calgary. The location is a little out of the way, just out of the downtown core...not REALLY downtown.

When I checked in I had reserved a King Suite with a jetted tub, was expecting a spacious room with an oval jetted tub like the pictures , unfortunately I was stuck with a Queen room with a 60" tub with a few jets. The carpet was so dirty that when I had walked in my bear feet for a couple of minutes before taking a shower and when i stepped into the shower my feet were filthy. Also, the room smelled very musty.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bosox1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We were pleased with our suite. It was clean and comfortable. The housecleaning staff needs to pay more attention to the supplies in the kitchen area. We did not have any proper glasses, just plastic and foam cups for coffee. The daily cleaning was fine, but they again did not leave extra toilet paper or tissue. We were able to get that delivered from the front desk.

It is located in an area close to shops and great restaurants, within 3 blocks of a supermarket, and close to the trains.
I would not hesitate to stay here again. The staff was most friendly.

  • Liked — very bright and roomy
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast of B.C.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Booked this while on the road as we were going to be a late arrival. When we got inside the hotel had a very "spooky" feeling. There were some renovations going on and I think we may have been the only ones on our floor. Kitchen sink didn't drain so it came as no surprise when the bathroom basin followed suit. Room door lock was wishy washy and bedside lamp bulb kept falling over. Even with all the lights on the room was dim and made us wonder about the cleanliness. You don't want to venture out at night as the location is questionable. I tried to ask a question of the reservation staff but could not make myself understood. In the morning half way through drying my hair, yup, the drier quit - not to restart. We couldn't wait to flee in the morning. Would not recommend this hotel as it is.

  • Liked — Location close to meeting place.
  • Disliked — Everything.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauimadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#4 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Suites Downtown

Property: Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Address: 1330 8th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 1B6, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Calgary
#13 Business Hotel in Calgary
#26 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, located just south of Downtown (North of 17th Avenue), steps away from the business core, shopping, a wide variety of restaurants and Calgary attractions! In addition to our comfortable beds, excellent customer service and fantastic location we also offer: complimentary wired or wireless high speed internet access, complimentary underground or above ground parking, a full hot breakfast and access to the fitness centre, sauna and the business centre! We also have meeting rooms that can hold anywhere from 3 to 50 people. Please contact us for group rates, meeting rooms and to reserve your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown Hotel Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing