We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Better than expected.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were displaced by the floods in Calgary. We were having a hard time finding a new home to move into. Many so called flood friendly places were just a joke or a con job. This hotel was right across the street from work and surrounded by many shops and restaurants all walking distance. The suites were good and kitchen functioned very well. there was plenty of space for the 4 of us. We ended up staying for almost 2 months and were quite happy. The internet was slow at times and the cleaning staff needed to be educated at times, but any issues were quickly resolved by mgmt. We finally convinced them to open up our balcony because of the heat and air conditions. The fact we are not smokers nor suicidal probably helped too. The stay included a daily buffet breakfast which was full of variety and goodness. Although there were never enough tables, you could always take the food back to room. It was a different menu for each day of the week. The laundry facilities and spa were average. There is also underground parking. Staff very easy to deal with. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Simple choice if you want to face a major street or a parking lot, the parking lot is in back and sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Icandyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgaryGeorgecalgary, Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear candyman,

Thank you for your review!

We are so pleased that we were able to accommodate you during the floods of June 2013 and are pleased to read that we met your requirements.
I am hoping you can write me back and let me know about our spa and laundry room. Our laundry room is one of the largest in the city with three washers and dryers, a folding table and TV to help you pass the time while you are waiting.
Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    303
    104
    27
    18
See reviews for
182
194
64
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed with my husband and mother; large suite - good sized living room. Dining table very small. lacked some kitchen items. Huge main bedroom, very small and crowded second bedroom - ok for one person, not for two.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank ChanteEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear ChanteEdmonton,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor!

We are pleased that you found our rooms spacious and comfortable and look forward to hosting you again.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Located just outside of downtown Calgary, very spacious suite with everything you need. Clean rooms but the staff did not seem to be very interested in their customers. Complimentary breakfast was very nice and lots of choices.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AniqueJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear AniqueJ,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review of our hotel!

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and our spacious suites.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,


George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Plus recently while attending a course. We chose this property because it was still relatively close to Downtown and included parking and breakfast. Our room was clean and spacious. There was a great little kitchen a sofa and desk area. The bed was pretty comfortable. My only complaint was there seemed to be an odour in the bathroom and no fan to turn on.
Overall I found my stay quite comfortable and would likely stay again if need be.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mirmme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear mirmme,

Thank you for your review!

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed staying at our property.
Regarding the fan, all rooms are equipped with continuous quiet running fans
Our front desk staff is also available 24/7 to assist with any questions or issues you may encounter during your stay. We are there and always happy to help!.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Got a great deal on expedia. The location is good if you have a car. It is about two blocks away from 17th ave (and lots of yummy food).

When we arrived, the front staff were super accommodating. They brought us a crib (we were travelling with a baby). I also forgot my key upstairs and was not able to use the elevator but the front desk was super nice and gave me another key so my husband wouldn't have to wake my child to come down to let me in. :)

The breakfast was fine. Waffles, eggs, a meat of some sort, and hash browns. I found the breakfast staff to be friendly and nice.

The room had two queen beds and a small kitchenette. It was nice to have the small kitchenette, especially when I had to prepare food for the little one. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alter_idem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear alter_idem,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel

We are very happy to read that we met all your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future..

Bets Regards,

George Dahbour
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here because I had a discount promo from BW. Hotel is in a good central location; easy access to main routes. Front desk staff was friendly enough and explained things well. Parking is excellent - choice of underground or surface lots. Room was good - lots of space; kitchenette was a bonus (and stocked with dish soap, cloth, tea towel, etc.). Bathroom smelled like food that had gone bad - not sure the reason. Breakfast was edible - I have had better at other BW hotels. A major annoyance was having to use the keycard to access just about everywhere in the hotel. I understand the need for security, but it is a real inconvenience to have the card handy for doors, elevator, etc. when you've got luggage and a child to contend with. Overall, a good place to stay for a few nights in Calgary.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank extradenticle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear extradenticle,

Thank you for your review!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and suites!

As with most downtown hotels these days, guest security is of utmost importance , and as such, we are always happy to help with any issues or challenges that a guest may encounter with the safety features in place. Please let us know!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2014

excellent location in downtown Calgary. spacious free parking lot. clean and comfortable accommodations,great hot breakfast included. This is a gem right downtown Calgary, close to shopping and restaurants, and entertainment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank T5779IPmariac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear T5779IPmariac.


Thank you for your wonderful review and look forward to hosting you in the near future.


Best Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#3 of 109 in Calgary
657 reviews
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#31 of 109 in Calgary
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Suites Downtown

Property: Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Address: 1330 8th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 1B6, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Calgary
#13 Business Hotel in Calgary
#26 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Suites Downtown is a condominium style hotel that offers a choice of 405 sq ft studio, 765 sq ft One bedroom, 818 sq ft 2-bedroom suite, and 600 sq ft spa suite with modern kitchens. In addition, our Location is amongst the best you will find in Calgary, close enough to enjoy amenities of downtown as well a variety of restaurants and shops are within 5-minute walking distance. Our wall to wall windows will enable you to enjoy stunning views of Calgary’s skyline. We are the only downtown hotel that offers Complimentary Parking, as well as complimentary Hot breakfast buffet and WiFi. Calgary’s best restaurants and shopping district- the “trendy 17 Ave shops” is just minutes walk away and will delight you with endless choices of cuisine from Italian, Japanese, or Thai in both casual and fine dining. Attractions such as Calgary Tower, a Major downtown Centre, Princess island park, as well as the world-famous Calgary Stampede Grounds and Saddledome, are nearby as well. Come experience our spacious condominium style accommodations with unbeatable value with Complimentary parking, breakfast and WiFi, in one of the finest locations in Calgary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Best Western, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown Hotel Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing