We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Downtown Calgary stays.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
SPRUCE GROVE
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Downtown Calgary stays.”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I have stayed here on a couple of occasions with work and all in all I always enjoy my stay. It is a very quiet hotel close to downtown Calgary. The newly renovated suites are nice and everything is clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tmallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Tmallett.

Thank you for your positive feedback on our newly renovated suites!
We are so pleased that you feel at home with us and look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Calgary.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    295
    103
    25
    18
See reviews for
173
187
63
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Pleasantly suprised by this close to Downtown Hotel. Room was impressive for the AMA room rate. One queen bed, kitchenette, desk, 37" HDTV set, full breakfast, high-speed Internet access, non-smoking and double hide-a-bed. Breadfast was excellent with a large selection of hot and cold menu options.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Brian L,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor review!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed for three weekday nights in March 2014. Not a busy hotel, many floors but less than 10 suites per floor. Security after 11pm but doors do not lock on outside. Came in well after midnight all three nights and doors were wide open.
Nothing to write home about with the suite. Queen bed, sitting area, kitchenette with fridge, microwave, hotplate and utensils. Full bathroom, ironing board and security on the door. The heating/air conditioning unit is super-loud and attached to the outside through the window. Privacy blinds were sketchy and was unable to close them completely.
The fitness centre is well equipped with many different machines, a yoga/stretch area and dry sauna. Free parking is included in the price.
Thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast. Hot and cold menu items. Well done.
For the price, it was good. Long term? Not so sure.
Tip: Even numbers face east, odd numbers face west.

Room Tip: Even numbers face east (city view), odd numbers face west (mountain view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrHearsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Mr. MrHearsay,


Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey of our hotel, this means a lot coming from a top contributor!
Glad you enjoyed our breakfast and other amenities.
If you wouldn't mind letting us know which room number you were in, we can look after the black out curtains and check out the heating cooling unit.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Calgary.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

A friend booked this hotel for a group of us last month. She scoured the Calgary hotel websites and once she saw the beds of this hotel online, she immediately called to ask if they were as good as they looked. The woman at the front desk said they were fantastic... and now that we stayed there we know the beds are fantastic! The rooms are extremely spacious (I have only stayed in the 2 bedrooms) the kitchens are great, well stocked and a great location.

Unfortunately on this last trip, I had all ready booked a week long stay at another hotel in Calgary before I knew about this Best Western Plus. When I had to book an extra night for us, I immediately booked our rooms here. I intended to book the two bedroom rooms again, but somehow I got confused with the online booking and booked two single rooms with two beds instead. When I checked in and discovered my mistake, Ari the manager was able to upgrade us to the two bedroom at no extra cost. It was incredible service and I was treated amazingly.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ari O, Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Ryan C,


Thank you for being a valued Trip Advisor member and for staying with us on your recent trip to Calgary. We are happy you enjoyed the two bedroom suites and hope to see you next time your in town!

Best Wishes,

Ari Othitis
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This hotel feels like it should be used as "long term rental" with a monthly rate of $600 per mount which is $20 per day and perfect for the value. I was in town for busness and I never looked forward to returning to my room at the end of a days work, I was seriously thinking of changing Hotels but it seemed like that would be silly for a three night stay. I will simply never return to this location until it is renovated or taken over by another chain or torn down, at which point I will return to the location to see the hole in the ground and feel better that no one else has to experience this type of accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Tobias J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Tobias J,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are quite surprised by your comments and have endeavoured to contact by both email and no phone to no avail.

Please feel free to contact the undersigned at your earliest convenience to discuss your referenced issues.


Best regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Good location for overnight stay. Lovely clean rooms. Had 2 double beds and kitchenette . Breakfast could do with a veggie option. Very comfy pillows. We arrived in Calgary but destination was Edmonton so this was good overnight location. Plus due to heavy snow fall it was a plus they had underground parking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salima J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Salima J ,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

We are so happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and took advantage of our newly renovated and heated underground parking lot.

We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Best regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My family were so excited to check in the hotel with the jacuzzi/kitchenette room we reserved online but when we arrived there,the first room was given to us was wrong,it doesn't have a jacuzzi so we go back to the main lobby to check w/ the front desk,and she said to us that we're not allowed to stay in the room with jacuzzi because we have a kid and it's only a queen size bed,so i told her how come i got approved with the reservation we made online w/ 2 adults and 1 child when their policy is different,and then she's still hesitant to believe what i said and she even asked me to show her my confirmation message,when i showed it to her,she said that this is not supposed to be allowed but ok i will just give you a room with jacuzzi.I was really disappointed at that time cause it's not our fault that what's showing on my confirmation email is differnt than their system.She then gave me the key for the room,and when we went to our second,after an hour we realized that our ipad is not in the room so my husband went back to the main lobby to check for it but unfortunately 'twas already gone,and no one returned an ipad in the reception as well.So what we did was ask for the frontdesk if we can check the camera,but we're unlucky coz the place where we put the ipad was little bit far from the cmera so it wasn't really clear and the manager of the front office was having a day off and none of them knew even the security on duty if there's still a way to zoom in the part of the video.We really had a bad day,because of our lost ipad,lots of important datas in there and good memories in the photo app,all of a sudden twas gone.we're just thinking that if only we were given the right room that we reserved in the first time we got there,then maybe our ipad is still with us.Best western was always our home during our out of town trips but not anymore in the future.we didn't feel that we're being valued in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chabil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Chabil,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel!

We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for this misunderstanding. Your room was booked online through Travelocity, we have contacted them and obtained a screen shot of your reservation which confirms that the room and rate given were for a one bedroom suite with a queen bed fro 2 people. You indicated to the staff that you believed that it should have been a Jacuzzi room for 3 people. The staff upgraded you to a Jacuzzi room which only accommodates 2 people at no extra cost.
With regards to your I Pad, we offer our sincere apologies, however as you stated, it was left in a public area where hundreds of people go through daily.

Please be assured that we value each and every one of our guests, and are always looking for ways to make their stays better.

Please feel free to contact the writer at your earliest convenience and we will be happy to go through all the documents that we obtained pertaining to your reservation.

Best regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
628 reviews
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#31 of 109 in Calgary
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Suites Downtown

Property: Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Address: 1330 8th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 1B6, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Calgary
#13 Business Hotel in Calgary
#26 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Suites Downtown is a condominium style hotel that offers a choice of 405 sq ft studio, 765 sq ft One bedroom, 818 sq ft 2-bedroom suite, and 600 sq ft spa suite with modern kitchens. In addition, our Location is amongst the best you will find in Calgary, close enough to enjoy amenities of downtown as well a variety of restaurants and shops are within 5-minute walking distance. Our wall to wall windows will enable you to enjoy stunning views of Calgary’s skyline. We are the only downtown hotel that offers Complimentary Parking, as well as complimentary Hot breakfast buffet and WiFi. Calgary’s best restaurants and shopping district- the “trendy 17 Ave shops” is just minutes walk away and will delight you with endless choices of cuisine from Italian, Japanese, or Thai in both casual and fine dining. Attractions such as Calgary Tower, a Major downtown Centre, Princess island park, as well as the world-famous Calgary Stampede Grounds and Saddledome, are nearby as well. Come experience our spacious condominium style accommodations with unbeatable value with Complimentary parking, breakfast and WiFi, in one of the finest locations in Calgary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown Hotel Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing