We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality OK, Internet Embarrassing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Calgary University
Ranked #64 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Edmonton
2 reviews
“Quality OK, Internet Embarrassing”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The quality was as expected in the hotel chain, clean but a little dated. good breakfast and room size. The "WiFi/Internet" was embarrassing. This was the first stay there will have to be the last for this reason. Speed maxed at 10kb even after troubleshooting. Wireless router in hallway right out side of room with full conection strength. Forced to teather thru phone to do any work or browsing. Very Noisy AC unit

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Not For B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    153
    92
    37
    22
See reviews for
134
90
32
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Our room is the size of a broom closet, the front counter staff is totally uninterested in helping a guest, pillows are flat and the wifi is VERY slow. On the plus side the a/c works great and the bed seems reasonably comfortable. This place is just OK for an overnight stop. Since we are just passing thru we don't have any feel for how convenient it is to major destinations but we seem to be fairly near downtown. There are many hotels close by but not sure about places to eat.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mustanggirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had booked(guaranteed) a very nice room with a King bed for a late arrival the next day.
On arriving in mid-evening, the room clerk provided us the key to a room on the top floor we had requested.
On entering the room we noticed that the day-bed/sofa was not closed. We tried to close/fold it down without success as it appeared broken or detached from the frame. We phoned the room clerk who came up and upon examining it agreed it could be used.
She expressed concern that the housekeeper had not noted this condition nor closed the room off so staff could attempt to locate us elsewhere.
The result was that the Hotel was sold out and no rooms available, except the suite. She phoned her manager to discuss the situation who agreed with her that she provide us the Suite at no extra cost, plus a discount for our trouble.
We very much appreciate the courtesies provided by CASSANDRA, the on duty room clerk for looking after us.
We thoroughly enjoyed the luxury & comfort of a two bedroom suite for our short stay. The AC was quiet and efficient. The continental breakfast provided many choices & was enjoyed.
On checking out we looked after very well by Nikki.
A great thank you to Management & staff for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: Do Travel Here and do stay at the Travelodge University
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have stayed here several times and the staff is always very accommodating. The rooms were as expected and the free breakfast is always good with a nice selection.

We were in Calgary for medical purposes and they are located close to the Foothills Hospital which was a plus. We also had appointments that ran past checkout time and they were very helpful by allowing a late checkout.

There are a few restaurants within walking distance which is nice.

Will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#94 of 109 in Calgary
178 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#47 of 109 in Calgary
666 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Calgary University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Calgary University

Property: Travelodge Calgary University
Address: 2227 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada (Formerly "Holiday Inn Express")
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Calgary University 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Calgary University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Calgary University Hotel Calgary
Travel Lodge Calgary
Calgary Travel Lodge
Calgary Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing