We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable airport area hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Calgary Airport
Ranked #66 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Fort Worth
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Comfortable airport area hotel.”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Location:
South of Calgary airport short distance from 2 freeway.

Getting to Hotel from Airport:
Hotel shuttle is available (but did not use it).

Check-In:
The initial reception was very rigid and not what you expect as an IHG platinum and I was about to make a decision to move to another hotel the next day but the Manager quickly stepped in and made sure the situation was improved and that I would have a positive experience at this hotel. Despite the ongoing renovations the management made sure I had a productive and comfortable stay.

Elevators:
One not working on first night.
Quick (only 5 floors in hotel).

Room:
537.
Non-smoking.
Smelled very clean.
Large sized. Lots of room to move around.
Not close to elevators.
High quality furnishings.
Recently renovated.

Desk:
Large corner surface.
Desk lamp.
Power sockets at desk height.

Desk Chair:
Adjustable but still very low and had to use pillow to get a comfortable working height.

Phones:
No phone on desk.
Phone bedside (with long cable that can reach desk).

Internet in Room:
Wireless.
Average speed.
No downtime.
Free with code from reception.

Room Lighting:
Good.
No ceiling lights.
Bedside lamps.
Floor lamp.

Closet, Drawer and Cabinet Space:
3 big drawers in TV cabinet.
Small closet.

Safe:
No.

Couch:
Two armchairs.

TV:
Large-sized LCD on cabinet.
Several cable channels including MovieTime.

Windows:
Small window.
Curtains very effective at blocking sunlight.

Balcony:
No.

View from Room:
Hotel parking lot.
Gas station across street.
Hills in the far distance.

Bathroom:
Small sized.
Shower. No bathtub.
No bidet.
Good lighting.
Basic amenities.
Water pressure strong.
Hot water always available.
No heated mirror.
No magnifying mirror.
Shaver outlet.

Noise Level in Room:
Occasional light aircraft noise.
Very little outside traffic noise.

Bed:
One king bed.
Firm mattress.
Bedside lamps.
Very comfortable.
Very clean.

Room Cleanliness:
Very clean.

Air Conditioning/Heating:
Very effective heating.

Alarm Clock and Wakeup:
Wake up calls on time.

Turn Down Service:
Not sure.

Tea and Coffee in room:
Complimentary coffee.

Complimentary Drinking Water:
Provided by reception in welcome packet.

Fridge:
Yes.

Microwave Oven:
Yes.

Room Service:
Used several times.
Some wait before call was picked up.
Food delivered by time promised.
Order accurately delivered.
Reasonable quality for hotel food.
Servers were genuinely interested in service and even helped me save on my food order.

Breakfast:
Basic buffet in temporary restaurant.

Restaurant:
Temporary during renovation.

Laundry Service:
Did not use.

Iron:
Yes.

Trouser Press:
No.

Robe:
No.

Slippers:
No.

Umbrella:
No.

Morning Newspaper at Door:
Yes.

Gym:
Yes.
Did not use.

Pool:
Not very long.
Did not use.

Steam Room:
No.

Sauna:
No.

Parking:
Did not use.

Staff:
Polite.
Except for the first 5 minutes at reception the staff went out of their way to provide a very good level of service.

Check Out:
Very fast.

Return to airport.
Hotel shuttle to airport booked in advance the night before took under 15 minutes.

Room Tip: 5th Floor rooms are renovated and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ymff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, we appreciate your patience in regards to this inconvienience you had gone through during your check in process. I am happy to hear that we are able to resolve the matter quickly and that you were satisfied with the outcome. We hope to be of service to you again in the immediate future and we thank you for taking the time to post your comments during your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Calgary Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    148
    93
    37
    24
See reviews for
94
97
45
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
drbex999
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We arrived before the check in time and the hotel had made sure a room was ready (we emailed first), the large room had a comfy bed, desk etc with a renovated bathroom with a good shower. There is a coffee maker in the room although the coffee was poor. Currently the renovations have the restaurant in temporary spot and we used for a quick lunch which was a good sandwich. The hotel is about half way between the airport and downtown. It is a typical airport hotel and good for staying before or after a trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drbex999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay here at the Holiday Inn Calgary Airport. We are in the process of changing our in room coffee, thank you for bringing this to our attention. I am happy to see that the rest of your stay was a pleasant one. We hope to be of service to you again in the immediate future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed one night and left my car for 2 weeks. Hotel is under going renovations. It was still quiet, and clean. Staff were sweet and helpful. I sympathize with staff working in the construction phase and dealing with guests high expectations. This package is good value. Shuttle driver was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AB_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Calgary Airport. We are happy that your stay was an enjoyable one. I will make sure to share your comments with the staff. We hope to be of service to you again the next time you are in Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
589 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Even though this hotel was undergoing renovations, the staff went the extra mile to make their guests stay a pleasant one. Although lacking in decor, the temporary restaurant set up still managed to do the trick in meeting the guest's needs. Good breakfast buffet...average price. Nice pool and hot tub although only used the hot tub. Clean rooms, up-to-date decor. No major complaints. Restaurants were close in vicinity to hotel but still had to drive due to extreme cold temperatures (obviously not Holiday Inn's fault!). Would recommend the hotel and would stay there on returning visits.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay here at the Holiday Inn CAlgary Airport. I would also like to thank you for your patience during our renovations process. I hope that you are able to come and visit us again once our renovations are completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is our six year in a row that we have stayed here for our winter get away hotel here in Calgary. Shuttle service both ways, very good. Our room was in great shape. I know this is an older hotel , but the upgrades are very nice. Parking our car in the back , no problems at all over the years . looking forward for next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Calgary Airport. We pride ourselves in consisten service and it is really great to hear that you have been getting that type of service everytime you have stayed here. We look forward to being of service to you again next time you are in the Calgary area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This Hotel is renovating and charging the same price as other Hotels. Their Halls are drywall only and their Restaurant is in an office suite. Pathetic! I expect a certain level of quality from the Holiday Inn chain and was extremely disappointed. However if you like cold showers with very little water pressure, paper thin walls, cramped dirty and dated rooms, and management that frankly doesn't care, than this is the place for you. Do yourself a favor and shop around. Very sad for the Holiday Inn chain, but hopefully they can turn things around. I suggest a change in management would be a great start.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment regarding your most recent stay here ay the Holiday Inn Calgary Airport. I am sorry that your stay was an inconvenient one. We are renovating the hotel to make the decor more modern and up to date. I will speak to my maintenance regarding the hot water problem that you had encountered. We are also in the processof renovating our guest rooms to take care of the paper thin walls that you were speaking of during your stay. I hope that you would provide us with another oppourtunity to provide you with the customer service that you are accustomed to from Holiday Inns, once our hotel is completely renovated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Coming with client we came here at the last minute. The hotel team organized a meeting room with coffee break and meeting requirement in few hours. The lunch and service was also very good. Next time I would most likely stay here as the hotel is very close to the airport and under refurbishment.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eskimo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Airport Inn
Best Western Airport Inn
#55 of 109 in Calgary
413 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Four Points by Sheraton Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
Northeast Calgary
Days Inn - Calgary Airport
Days Inn - Calgary Airport
#41 of 109 in Calgary
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Calgary Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calgary Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Calgary Airport
Address: 1250 McKinnon Dr NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 7T7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Calgary Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the fully renovated Holiday Inn Calgary Airport Hotel. This 100% n on smoking, family friendly Calgary hotel is located near beautiful downtown Calgary and close to the Calgary International Airport At Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, guests have access to the following destinations and attractions: Business: Shaw, Atco Gas, UPS, Coca company, etc. Leisure: including the Calgary Zoo, Sunridge Mall, Calgary Stampede and Barlow Trail Restaurants and entertainment facilities. Discover modern amenities and decor in our guest rooms and suites, including 32-inch LCD televisions, refrigerators, microwaves, and ergonomic chairs, just to name a few. You can also stay connected with friends, family, or the office via our complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel as well as our business centre. We also offer 2124 sq. ft. of meeting space with conference and catering services. Relax after a long day in our heated indoor pool, hot tub or workout in our fully equipped fitness room. Grab a bite at the Sunset Grill with a wide variety of dishes or unwind with one of our feature cocktails in the Twelve Fifty Lounge. Other features include a complimentary shuttle, plenty of free parking during your stay, in house guest laundry facility and Priority Club points or Air Miles. Find what you re looking for and so much more at the brilliant Holiday Inn Calgary Airport. Relax, It's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Calgary Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calgary Airport Hotel Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing