We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Calgary Airport
Ranked #62 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not up to standard”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed recently for one night on a business trip. I generally stay at HIs when I can due to Priority Club membership. This one was definitely not up to standard.

As an "airport hotel" it's actually a 20 minute drive away, and the shuttle took 20 minutes to arrive after I called for it, so it was not convenient after a late-arriving flight. The desk staff was friendly when I arrived, and the welcome kit of water, chips and a granola bar was a nice touch.

But it went downhill from there. The whole hotel seems to be under construction; one of the elevators was out of order and the stairs and common areas were a maze. I had booked a King room and was given a room with two doubles upon check-in, but it was late and I was tired so I didn't really care that much. But the (ancient, noisy) heating/AC was broken and the room felt like a sauna. I called the maintenance staff and they finally figured out that the thermostat was broken, and took it apart to get it working. Also, the WiFi wasn't working at all in the room, though the staff did provide a cable to connect, and I was able to connect from the lobby and common areas to WiFi the next morning. Free internet is a nice touch, so the hotel gets a point for that.

The room itself was pretty small and looked outdated and shabby, with stained carpeting and a leaky shower faucet. Terrible water pressure in the shower. And every single one of the pillows on both beds was ancient, lumpy and uncomfortable.

Breakfast was not included but the buffet and a la carte choices weren't bad. Good thing, because there's literally nothing else around here so no other choices. There was a small lounge with outdated decor on the second floor.

Overall, this was the sort of hotel that would've been perfectly fine as an "Express" or motor inn. But for over $200 a night, I expect a much higher standard.

Room Tip: It seems like the hotel is being renovated; perhaps one of the updated rooms would've been nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank segacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear segacs,

Thank you very much for being a Priority Club Member and for taking the time to share your comments online. I am more than happy that you are satisfied with your check-in experience. Please allow me to apologize for that the shuttle service, our location and your room accommodation fell below your expectations. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    139
    90
    35
    23
See reviews for
86
95
43
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have stayed here often. Most recently last week. Front desk is quick and very pleasant every time. Winter - watch the parking lot - it can be slippery. I got one of the newly renovated rooms on the 5th floor, very nice, but they need to have more plugs in easy to get to locations. Maybe like some hotels they can have plugs in the table lamps...
Only complaint, and this is consistent from each visit, and that is the service at breakfast.....slow, not very accurate and inattentive. Worst I have seen in any Holiday inn. There is a Denny's right across 16th ave on 19th Street, have your breakfast there.

Room Tip: Get the 5th floor for the renos - and the awesome view from the elevator lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermere British Columbia Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have been staying here for many years and it is always a good experience however the dining room you always need a sweater and don't go for the buffet breakfast if it is late morning. Regular menu always good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally S, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us for years. Thank you so much for your feedback, and I will communicate this to our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are very small but clean. Because the hotel is beside a very busy road, it's a bit noisy. Restaurant's menu consists of a few deep fried products without taste and the service is below average. Only hotel guests eat here and I can see why.
Otherwise, good beds and standard Holiday Inn amenities. Just okay for an overnight layover but not for longer stays.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bosley2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally S, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. I apologize for the level of service that you received at our hotel, and I will follow up further with our associates regarding the service that was not up to our usual standards.
We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to accommodate you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on our province wide road trip. This was the most expensive hotel and the dirtiest of them all. There is black mold or a similar substance around the tub. The hotel is on the side of a hill so the second floor has vehicles parked across from your room. I would not book this hotel again at any prices. The staff did not do anymore than they had to.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally S, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to reach out to our hotel regarding your recent stay. I apologize for the inconvenience that you had experienced during your stay. We are currently in the process of renovating our guest rooms. Starting from last January, we’ve renovated all the guest rooms on the 5th floor. I apologize that we were not able to accommodate you in one of our renovated guest rooms. I hope that we can provide you a better stay in the future. Thank you so much for your review again. We are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a nice fresh new looking hotel. It has a pool if you have kids and a restaurant and bar. I found the rooms and beds nice. I was going to stay downtown Calgary initially, but found the rooms overpriced and most of the downtown hotels in Calgary will charge you for parking.

The location is very accessible to downtown and very close to the Deerfoot for easy access to various places in the city.

I would stay here again and have no critical comments to make.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stringfellow2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally S, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Calgary. Thank you very much again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Although not adjacent to the airport it is just off the freeway and easy to find. Rooms were clean and large with two double beds.It had good internet access. Breakfast was generous and good value. Service and reception was good. Just what was needed for a late arrival and the negative reports up to now seem to have been addressed by the hotel.

Room Tip: Although close to the road the rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuryRowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally S, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
I would like to thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Calgary Airport. I’m glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Airport Inn
Best Western Airport Inn
#55 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Northeast Calgary
Four Points by Sheraton Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Calgary Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calgary Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Calgary Airport
Address: 1250 McKinnon Dr NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 7T7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Calgary Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the fully renovated Holiday Inn Calgary Airport Hotel. This 100% n on smoking, family friendly Calgary hotel is located near beautiful downtown Calgary and close to the Calgary International Airport At Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, guests have access to the following destinations and attractions: Business: Shaw, Atco Gas, UPS, Coca company, etc. Leisure: including the Calgary Zoo, Sunridge Mall, Calgary Stampede and Barlow Trail Restaurants and entertainment facilities. Discover modern amenities and decor in our guest rooms and suites, including 32-inch LCD televisions, refrigerators, microwaves, and ergonomic chairs, just to name a few. You can also stay connected with friends, family, or the office via our complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel as well as our business centre. We also offer 2124 sq. ft. of meeting space with conference and catering services. Relax after a long day in our heated indoor pool, hot tub or workout in our fully equipped fitness room. Grab a bite at the Sunset Grill with a wide variety of dishes or unwind with one of our feature cocktails in the Twelve Fifty Lounge. Other features include a complimentary shuttle, plenty of free parking during your stay, in house guest laundry facility and Priority Club points or Air Miles. Find what you re looking for and so much more at the brilliant Holiday Inn Calgary Airport. Relax, It's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Calgary Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calgary Airport Hotel Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing