We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms but don't count on sleeping in...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Calgary Airport
Ranked #65 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed March 20, 2008

I stay at this hotel because my company books us here, around 5 to 6 times a year. The hotel has finished a renovation and the rooms are nice. The hotel staff, other than the bar, are friendly. There is a on site restaurant and bar but the hours are limited and prices are high. Not much in the area around the hotel within walking distance.

One thing that stands out from most of the hotels I stay at is the maids. Once 8:00 am hits, you will not be able to stay asleep. The maids slam doors and stand in the halls visiting. Not a lot of fun. Even as I write this the vacuum can be heard next door over my tv. Sad. Seems like a hotel in this price range could do better.

I could only recommend this hotel if you don't care about the noise in your room after 8:00 am. Otherwise, many other choices in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 1_travlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 413 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2007

My friend and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Calgary Airport for one night before catching an early flight out of Calgary. I got a great rate ($83) using the entertainment card, which is far below the posted rate on their website. We arrived at about 10PM for check-in. The hotel was okay for the night, as we were just there to sleep. Positives of the hotel include the cheap price and the choice to leave your car parked in their lot while you are away for only $5/day (they provide a free shuttle). The shuttle bus driver was awesome; we had the same driver both times and he was friendly, courteous and prompt. We had booked the shuttle for 6am the morning of our flight and we left the hotel right at 6am. On the way back to the hotel for our car after our trip, the shuttle was already there but was full (it's a 7 passenger vehicle). The driver let us know he would be back shortly to pick us up, which he was. Negatives of the hotel are rather lengthy, including the dingy, old room that we were given, the stains on the carpet, the dirty bathtub, the hard, old, uncomfortable matress, the old, worn bedding, the paper-thin walls and the fact that this hotel is nothing like what is portrayed on the company's website. I'm not sure what was renovated aside from the lobby, unless they have only renovated some of the rooms. There was a large redish-pink stain in the worn carpet about 4 feet long in the entrance way of our hotel room, the combined bath/shower had clearly not been cleaned throughout many visitors, as there were dirty footprints in it with a thick film on top, the matresses were sunken, old and musty smelling and the bedding was very thin, worn and failed to keep either of us warm while we slept. Additionally, when the room next door got a wakeup call from the front desk, it was like my own personal wakeup call due to the walls being so thin that I could hear every word that they said. I had pre-arranged a late arrival time, so I am unsure if we got one of the old rooms (if in fact they have done any renovations aside from the front lobby) despite my request for a renovated room and pre-informing them of our late arrival time. We did not have a 32" LCD TV, a fridge or a microwave, as claimed on the company's website. Overall, the hotel was fine enough for 6 hours of sleep before our flight (only because I only past $83), but I would not recommend it to anyone other than short-stay travellers.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel11223344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2007

Spacious, comfortable, I like the LCD TV inside the room! Complimentary Internet computer access with printing!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kathmandu_cow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

this hotel, while out of town, was close enough for us to be handy for family and for downtown calgary. rooms were clean, staff were friendly and helpful, especially when we managed to lock the bathroom from the outside with noone in it!!! food at the restaurant was good for hotel food, we'd recommend the breakfast buffet!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rangers1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights to attend a wedding and the close proximity to both the ceremony and reception sites. We usually stay at the Holiday inn express and would have if there was one in NE Calgary. We arrived late in the evening and the front desk staff was nice enough, no extra plesantries. Our room was on the 5th floor and it faced the main road (16 Ave NE) which is a busy at all times of the day. The room was extremely clean and the size was comfortable. Throughout the night we could hear the air conditioner which was loud and not very cold and we could hear all the street noise. All in all, I would not recommend staying here if what you are after is a restful night sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piescobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2007

We stayed here for one night on victoria day long weekend. The hotel has undergone extensive reno's...the room was nice, a small kitchen area with fridge, microwave, etc. The washroom was re-done and very clean. But, it seems like the walls are paper thin, you can hear lots of noise like when your neighbour is using the blow dryer or someone is walking outside. That was my only complaint.

Stayed: May 2007
Thank zooter39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2007

We stayed on the 5th floor which are the 'executive' room- ie. it has a small kitchen area with fridge and microwave.

The room was good and clean.

The staff were OK, reception staff being friendly but too 'busy' to really help and provide good info unless questioned several times.

They are renovating the hotel but that didn't really get in the way.

Good pool and the Gym is also OK.

Restaurant Breakfast was satisfactory.

We stayed two nights which was enough.

Location if driving is good as it is easy to find, 10 mins to Calgary downtown and 10 mins to the airport.

A slightly above average place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ClivePNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Four Points by Sheraton Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Northeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Airport Inn
Best Western Airport Inn
#50 of 110 in Calgary
444 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Days Inn - Calgary Airport
Days Inn - Calgary Airport
#45 of 110 in Calgary
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Calgary Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calgary Airport

Address: 1250 McKinnon Dr NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 7T7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: $76 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Calgary Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the fully renovated Holiday Inn Calgary Airport Hotel. This 100% n on smoking, family friendly Calgary hotel is located near beautiful downtown Calgary and close to the Calgary International Airport At Holiday Inn Calgary Airport, guests have access to the following destinations and attractions: Business: Shaw, Atco Gas, UPS, Coca company, etc. Leisure: including the Calgary Zoo, Sunridge Mall, Calgary Stampede and Barlow Trail Restaurants and entertainment facilities. Discover modern amenities and decor in our guest rooms and suites, including 32-inch LCD televisions, refrigerators, microwaves, and ergonomic chairs, just to name a few. You can also stay connected with friends, family, or the office via our complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel as well as our business centre. We also offer 2124 sq. ft. of meeting space with conference and catering services. Relax after a long day in our heated indoor pool, hot tub or workout in our fully equipped fitness room. Grab a bite at the Sunset Grill with a wide variety of dishes or unwind with one of our feature cocktails in the Twelve Fifty Lounge. Other features include a complimentary shuttle, plenty of free parking during your stay, in house guest laundry facility and Priority Club points or Air Miles. Find what you re looking for and so much more at the brilliant Holiday Inn Calgary Airport. Relax, It's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Calgary Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calgary Airport Hotel Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing