We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good for the backpacker on the go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wicked Hostels - Calgary

Wicked Hostels - Calgary
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wicked Hostels - Calgary
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good for the backpacker on the go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I only stayed at the Wicked hostel for one night before we caught a flight out to Vegas the next day,

was suprised at how quiet the place was, had a bunk room with at least 10 beds all to ourselves, but it was nice and I would stay again.

friendly staff too :D

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abaker25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    21
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
1
12
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Great value for money, great people and all round great place to stay if you're traveling on a budget. Located right near the ctrain, saddledome and stampede.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgettk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Fantastic location for Stampede and downtown Calgary, comfortable beds, clean washrooms, hot showers, nice breakfast, owners and staff are very helpful. Met lots of really nice friendly people. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuckleBunny007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I needed a place to crash while visiting the Calgary Stampede with friends, and Wicked was ideal for both cost and location (literally right across the street from the Stampede Park entrance!)

I had sworn never to darken the door of anything calling itself a hostel ever again after some negative experiences in Toronto, but I'm glad to say that this place restored my faith somewhat. The atmosphere in the communal areas was relaxed, and thankfully lacked that somewhat pretentious air that I feel a lot of backpackers hostels have.

I opted for a private room, rather than a dorm, and found it a perfectly acceptable place to lay my head for the night. The owner was in town during my stay (I think he normally lives in Saskatchewan), and seemed friendly and pleasant enough.

I don't have too much more to say because I literally only used it as a place to sleep after the Stampede shenanigans, but it seemed a pretty cool place, so if you need somewhere to stay in Calgary and don't care too much for the fancy extras (and cost!) of the chain hotels, then Wicked is well worth checking out.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadwarrior_PPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I stayed one night, on Aug long week-end. The place wasnt full. I got a room for myself! Rooms are clean, bathrooms are clean. Could have use a storage room as the room are pretty tiny. Services are good, staff genuily cares. Ill return!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lydia495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in a double room and found it to be very average. The linen was not clean and the bathrooms needed a good scrub and bins be cleared. The common area was like a public bar with beer cans and glasses everywhere. The bins were overflowing with rubbish. Due to the free laundry service they offer the hallways was always littered with bags of washing. On the upside they are close to everything and they have free wifi but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sydneycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

I discovered that there aren't that many hostels in Calgary but this one seemed to have the better reviews. The price was within what I could afford but I suppose you get what you pay for. If only they could put a bit more effort into cleaning the place up and enforcing quiet hours then it would warrant a "Very Good" review. There was a fair amount of trash around and the bathrooms weren't all too clean. The staff were very friendly but they also didn't seem that concerned about noisy guests well past midnight. Apparently this hostel is popular because it is very close to the stampede and it also offers a somewhat decent free breakfast. Next time in Calgary I'll pay a bit more and stay at a B&B.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greenhikergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#26 of 110 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#1 of 110 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
The Fairmont Palliser
#19 of 110 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 stars 1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wicked Hostels - Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wicked Hostels - Calgary

Property: Wicked Hostels - Calgary
Address: 1505 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2N6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Beltline
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Wicked Hostels - Calgary 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Calgary's newest and only independent backpacker/youth hostel. We are striving to create the best backpacker accommodation in the area by offering such amenities as: The closest possible accommodation to Stampede Park/Saddledome (it's across the street). Free Breakfast, free parking, free long-distance calls to over 40 countries, free WIFI, free internet computers, movie nights projected on the common room wall. Hostel planned events such as pub crawls, floats down the Elbow River, ski trips to Olympic Park, Bike and Golf club hire, Hotel quality pillow-top spring mattresses, Hairdryers /straighteners for hire. But most importantly, we strive to create a great atmosphere where you can have fun, meet great people and have an amazing adventure with us here in Calgary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Wicked Hostels - Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing