We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly good”
Review of Centro Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centro Motel
Ranked #49 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpectedly good”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very nice room, well equipped. Nice service. Only remarks: Loud airco. Good large bed, but ehwn one of the two moves, the partner is being moved also. Unexpected, because of the situation in the middle of traffic, but on the other side: good access from out of town and from the airport. We wish the hotel lots of success.


  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Paulus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for your well wishes on our success and taking the time to write a review. Guest feedback is extremely important to us as it allows us to identify areas in which we can improve. We are disappointed to hear that you found the heating/cooling units noisy as they were recently replaced to allow each guest the ability to control the temperature of their room to their specific choosing. We specifically chose these units as they were the quietest ones on the market so we will discuss your comments with our supplier.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back on your future travel to our City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    78
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
49
106
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Place was clean, had a modern look. Great night there. Close to the university where my event was being held. I was disappointed there was no microwave in the room though. Overall a great experience and would stay there again if the need arose.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for your time in writing about your recent stay with Centro Motel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our modern décor and especially that you noted the cleanliness that our Housekeeping Staff works so hard to provide. We are so proud of our Housekeeping Team who is the recent winner of the Alberta Hotel & Lodging Association’s Housekeeping Award for 2013!

We look forward to welcoming you when you travels have you return to Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Despite the very modest exterior, the room gave us the impression of an upscale hotel. Terrific beds. Sleek, modern decor. Roomy shower. All this at a very reasonable price, for Calgary! We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank North_fork2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review on your stay at Centro Motel. We are so happy to hear that we were able to meet and even exceed your expectations. It is very reassuring to our owners and staff to know that our valued guests appreciate the efforts that have been put forth to make each stay a memorable experience.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Centro Motel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I recently stayed at the Centro Motel (February 2014)

Bed: 2 Double beds, mattress and pillows were very comfy, light duvet so I asked for an extra blanket

Room: Overall, small but is very nice for a short stay, mini fridge is very useful. Walls are very thin and I could hear neighbours conversations and foot steps. Also there is not much insolation so it was a bit chilly sleeping by a window. Bathroom was quite small. Shower is a decent size. Big TV is very relaxing, FREE long distance calling anywhere in Canada, FREE Wifi

Wish there was a table to do work on. However, I would have to go to the main boardroom to do work.

Amenities: Ice machine is in the board room (have to go outside and into main entrance to get it)

Staff: All the staff I encountered were very nice and accomodating. I arrived at 9am and check-in is not until 3pm, however they had a clean room available and checked us in early, and let us check-out past 1:00pm. Cleaning staff was wonderful.

Breakfast: Variety of fresh muffins, fruit and boxed cereals, mini cinnamon roll. Milk, OJ and Apple juice in the fridge. There is toast, jam, butter, peanut butter all on the side. Oatmeal, granola bars and yogurt.
Cups, plastic utensils and paper plates/bowls are provided.

Overall, I had a great time staying here. The location is great! There is an enterprise across the road for car rentals, a Safeway (grocery store) down the street, lots of restaurants around, Close to Banff (an hour approx.), and it is also conveinent for school (SAIT and University of Calgary are near by)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NurseColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear all the things you enjoyed about your stay and will use your comments to continue to improve our product and service. We appreciate our guests’ business and loyalty and look forward to other opportunities to show our guests how important they are to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This motel is on the cusp of greatness. You can feel it straining against the traditional motel limitations; two story walk-up, small front office, busy road out front. It is a joy to be here because you can feel the rising tide of greatness. It hasn't quite reached the peak of its potential, but this little motel is on its way up!

Taking advantage of the special prices over the Valentine's weekend, I booked a king room for in between business trips. The motel supplied bubbly juice, slippers, and housecoats. The front counter staff was very friendly, and I could the gentleman was trying hard to please. The rooms are beautiful. The outside of the building looks a little...well...rough. It has been updated, but the place is built like a typical two floor, walk-up motel. You can't get around that. The rooms, however, harken to downtown Vancouver or Calgary - fancy! The interior decoration was well tailored to the small room. The closet was replaced with an innovative installation on the wall to hang clothes. Very cool. The bedding was like sleeping on a cloud. Even though the motel is near the TransCanada, the rooms were very quiet. We haven't slept that well in ages.

The complementary continental breakfast was wonderful, and you can tell the owners are trying to use the space well. What the room lacks in atmosphere, it makes up in the general air of trying hard to be better. The breakfast was a little lacking, but when you're a vegetarian/gluten free, continental breakfasts usually are. There were the standard options of cereal and milk, pastries, hard boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, coffee and tea. Very nicely displayed.

I completely recommend this motel. It has a nice quick exit heading west to the mountains, and it is not too far off Stoney Trail so it easy to get to from the north. Take advantage of the beautiful walking trails along the Bow river at Edworthy Park, which is conveniently located across the street.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasualVegetarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you so much for posting such great comments about your recent stay with Centro Motel. We are so happy to hear that you found your stay to be valuable and enjoyable. It is our guests and their feedback that help us to constantly improve our product and services and we appreciate your input.

Our team is very proud of the product we offer and of our recent awards – our 2 year running streak of the Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor and our most recent Housekeeping Award from the Alberta Hotel & Lodging Association.

We will use this great feedback as motivation to constantly improve, which we are sure you will notice when you visit Centro Motel again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Free phone calls, breakfast, wifi and parking! Fantastic stay.
Check in and out was a breeze and the staff were friendly.
Room was clean and comfortable. Decent amount of counter space by the sink. Nice toiletries offered. You can request deodorant and lipbalm for free (haven't seen that at other hotels).
Only thing i didn't like was the location. There are no nice restaurants within walking distance and we had no car. The area is a little sketchy especially across the street with the questionable motels but we felt safe on our side/section.
The area is also covered by car to go if you use that service. I would stay again as it is close enough to the University of Calgary.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank erica r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with Centro Motel. Having guests take the time to post their comments is very much appreciated by our team as it validates their hard work and attention to service detail that we strive for.

On a return visit to Centro, we would like to recommend NoTable restaurant, which is a 2 minute walk from Centro Motel. It is owned and operated by a very talented chef, Michael Noble and has excellent food coupled with a nice ambiance.

We look forward to your next visit and providing you the customer service we are known for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This motel was amazing. The bed was super comfortable, they had Keurig machines in the room. Location was on a main hwy, so it was easy to find. The shower head sprayed a bit rough but that's my only complaint.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vitalmayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for posting your feedback regarding your recent stay at Centro Motel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#47 of 109 in Calgary
666 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#40 of 109 in Calgary
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centro Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centro Motel

Property: Centro Motel
Address: 4540 16 Ave NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 0M6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Centro Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centro Motel is a trendy boutique property that provides you with the comfort of a 4 star hotel at half the price. Enjoy our smart decor and funky furnishings while lounging on our pillow-topped mattresses that are draped in our luxury linens. Wrap yourself in our plush bathrobes provided for your comfort in all of our rooms. Complimentary with all rooms every day of the year is - calling to anywhere in Canada and the U.S., WiFi, continental breakfast and parking! Centro Motel is located in Calgary’s NW quadrant in the trendy area of Montgomery. We are 3.5 km away from the Children’s Hospital, 3.1 km away from the Foothills Hospital (check with us for special Hospital rates), 4.3 km away from the University of Calgary, 4.7 km away from Canada Olympic Park, 4.1 km away from McMahon Stadium, 4.4 km away from Market Mall and 9 km from Downtown Calgary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Centro Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centro Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing