We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for Calgary”
Review of Centro Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centro Motel
Ranked #63 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Many reviewers seem to have overlooked that this is a MOTEL, not a hotel and is priced accordingly. It's a great option for afforadable accomodation in Calgary and is definitely the nicest motel I've ever stayed in. It's comforatable, stylish and great value for money, in what is a very expensive city. The room is really modern and quite spacious and I would definitely stay here again. My only quibble is with the breakfast, which was very ordinary.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank declanjhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for your insight into your recent stay with Centro Motel. We have done a lot of market research to ensure that our prices are competitive and fair. It is rewarding to know that you found the value associated with the pricing and product. We appreciate your feedback regarding our breakfast as we are constantly looking for new ways to improve the value provided to our valued guests. On your next visit to our City, we are certain we can delight you with an improved, extraordinary breakfast.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Centro Motel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 262 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

As my husband travels to Calgary often for business and often work form the hotel room, he need a hotel that is quiet and comfortable. Centro Hotel meets these expectations every time while having a more affordable price than other hotels downtown. The pergola outside is nice to catch some sun and relax. The hotel phone with free calls to the US is a nice feature being my family likes to keep in touch and international phone minutes are not cheap. Most of all the staff has been more than accommodating. It was my husbands birthday and Paul went above and beyond late at night on short notice to acquire a bottle of wine as a surprise for him. He was so polite and made it seem as though it was no trouble. We will definitely continue to book the Centro Motel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mister t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you very much for writing about your pleasurable experience at Centro Motel. It is most rewarding to hear that not only did you enjoy our rooms and surrounding lounging areas, but that our staff members went above and beyond to celebrate our guests. The little touches are no trouble at all as we enjoy being able to show our guests how important they are to us.

We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

After reading the reviews, I decided to take a chance and stay here. The hotel rates in Calgary were very high, and this one seemed reasonable in comparison. It was conveniently located for our travel through Banff. The outside of the motel is deceiving, as it is not very impressive. The room, however, was quite nicely renovated. It was small, but it was very nice. The beds were comfortable and the room was very sylish. There were wood floors and slate tile throughout the bathroom. The towels were the softest I have ever had in a hotel. The staff were friendly enough, Not outstanding. They checked me in and out efficiently, but I got no warm fuzzy feeling from them. The guy who checked us in did not even get up from his computer chair, nor did the woman who checked us out. Given the price, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzanneH448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Centro Motel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our modern and up-dated rooms and décor and that you found our linens to exceed your expectation. It is disappointing and unusual to hear that our staff members were not overly welcoming. This has been discussed as it is an expectation of all our staff members to stand, smile and greet the guest. They understand the importance of all our guests to our business and will ensure this is not repeated in the future.

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you with smiles on your return visit to our City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The centro is lovely upon first entering the room--granted the building itself is not fancy, but it is tidy. The room is decorated in a modern fashion--quite lovely -& the layout maximizes the small space. We only discovered a problem because we were there for more than one night--the shower was never cleaned (mind you the taps were buffed!) for the entire four day stay, & the bedspread had a spill that was never dealt with. We wondered what we COULDN'T see.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notableplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at Centro Motel. We are disappointed to hear your comments regarding the Housekeeping and can assure you that this matter has been taken very seriously and addressed with all of our staff. We do encourage guests to report anything they find less than satisfactory immediately upon its discovery so that we may be afforded the opportunity to deal with it directly during your stay. We hope to have another opportunity to impress you with our usual high standards and level of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed one night as we needed a stop over motel upon landing at Calgary airport and prior to traveling on to Banff National Park. We found this motel on TA and booked it because the price was right and it appeared to be modern and neat. We were very satisfied with the motel and would recommend it.

The room was modern, neat and the bed was comfortable. We were given the top room above the office closest to the highway yet we had no issues with noise and slept soundly. The gentleman that checked us in at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful in answering our questions about directions, etc. The breakfast was ok (cereal, fruit, toast, yogurt, coffee & tea) - nothing major yet something to put in our stomach before continuing on our road trip.

This was definitely nothing like the motels we've stayed at before. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyTomNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you very much for your time in writing a review on your recent stay at Centro Motel. We are extremely pleased to hear that our service, amenities and value were found to meet and exceed your expectations. Our guests’ satisfaction is extremely important to us and it is rewarding to hear that we have succeeded in our efforts.

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to Centro Motel should your future travels bring you back to Calgary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We booked this for a wedding and were very happy with the motel. The rooms were very, very nice with a king bed and a pack n' play for my infant daughter set up. There's a fridge and Keurig with coffee in the room. Room was clean and modern. Price was best I could find in that area.
The only drawback was the area for breakfast doesn't have much seating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We wish to thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Centro Motel. We are extremely satisfied to hear that you found everything to meet your standards. We appreciate your feedback with respect to the breakfast room space and are looking for different configurations to allow for more seating while not foregoing the overall experience.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary in-room amenties and find your comments an affirmation that we are working in the right direction to providing an excpetionall overall guest experience. Our guests and their satisfaction are very important to us.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your next visit to Centro Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had booked this motel based on TA reviews and when we arrived, I first thought we had made a horrible mistake.. But I was wrong! Even though the outside looks a bit shabby, the lobby was really nice, we were greeted by two friendly Indian guys, checked in promptly and when we got to our room, it was excellent! Modern, new decor, done with good taste. We experienced no particular noise even though the highway was just there, and the breakfast was great, with more options than most motels with a continental one offer. A really good stay through and through.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cattis26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centromotel, General Manager at Centro Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent review regarding your stay at Centro Motel. We are pleased to hear that you found our property to meet all your expectations. It is rewarding to know that the effort put in by both staff and management is recognized and appreciated by our guests. We realize that there are many options available to each guest in terms of accommodations and appreciate that you recognize the value that we provide and that you choose Centro Motel.

We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to provide the same service and value you have become accustomed to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#47 of 110 in Calgary
708 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northeast Calgary
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northeast Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centro Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centro Motel

Address: 4540 16 Ave NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 0M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $58 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Centro Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centro Motel is a trendy boutique property that provides you with the comfort of a 4 star hotel at half the price. Enjoy our smart decor and funky furnishings while lounging on our pillow-topped mattresses that are draped in our luxury linens. Wrap yourself in our plush bathrobes provided for your comfort in all of our rooms. Complimentary with all rooms every day of the year is - calling to anywhere in Canada and the U.S., WiFi, continental breakfast and parking! Centro Motel is located in Calgary’s NW quadrant in the trendy area of Montgomery. We are 3.5 km away from the Children’s Hospital, 3.1 km away from the Foothills Hospital (check with us for special Hospital rates), 4.3 km away from the University of Calgary, 4.7 km away from Canada Olympic Park, 4.1 km away from McMahon Stadium, 4.4 km away from Market Mall and 9 km from Downtown Calgary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Centro Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centro Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing