We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great alternatvie to the typical take out food!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Chili

Green Chili
Ranked #1,236 of 3,490 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Northwest Calgary
Calgary
Level Contributor
159 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A great alternatvie to the typical take out food!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My family had take out from this restaurant on the weekend. It had been a long time since we last ordered from here. I have to say the food was just excellent. Great butter chicken and the baryani was very good. The price is a bit high compared to converntional take out (pizza, Chinese) but the flavour makes up for it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ghuizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
271 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Fresh food reasonable quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

After disappointment at Ruan Thai, I popped in here for a quick lunch. The host was friendly and welcoming, and the buffet was fresh and well stocked. The flavors were very good and the quality was very good. Maybe not the best buffet in town but certainly a good quality and value for the money.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BagelAlberta_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A refreshing alternative to your typical take out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Although Calgary is pretty multicultural, our food industry lacks the vibrance that it's people have. This is especially the case in the newer outskirt neighborhoods such as those surrounding their Crowfoot location in the NW. Now for some reason a lot of Indian food restaurants are closed at odd hours, but Green Chili has excellent hours, their food is pretty good, relatively well priced, and they're probably one of few Indian restaurants in odd parts of town.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank no_stops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
200 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

We recently moved to NW Calgary and we enjoy going to Green Chilli's. The atmosphere isn't the greatest (seems to be more of a take away place) but the service and food are both great. They also deliver to the area. I haven't been to the other locations but I've heard that this one is the best. I also fnd the prices very reasonable and the Naan bread is the best. The butter chicken is the one dish that isn't that great. All of the other chicken dishes are very good.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laptopolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Just went to Green Chili on 17th Ave and had a great time. Server was very professional and food was great. Requested a sweet plain lassi and they went out of their way to make one for us and it tasted just like the real thing we had off the streets in India. Soooo gooood. Thanks!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank moosab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Chili also viewed

 

Been to Green Chili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing