We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Modern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Great place to stay in Calgary. Compared to Westin and Fairmont, this one wins by far. It is around the same price point, but it is WAY cleaner, more modern, and better maintained. Breakfast was nice for continental; includes coffee, juice, fresh fruit, yoghurt, granola, bagels, pastries, cheeses, hot oatmeal. Valet service is awesome. Unimpressed with front desk staff attitude.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hotbrit45186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear hotbrit45186,
Thank you for the great review on trip advisor. We are glad you enjoyed our modern boutique style hotel. Everything is state of the art and high end. We do promote a very healthy continental breakfast which is included in all our room rates! All our guest take advantage of this as well as Wi-Fi being included in our rates. Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel!

Warm Regards,

Robert D'Orazio
rdorazio@germaincalgary.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (887)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Germain Calgary
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 887 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

What a thrill to write such a glowing review for a hotel that is so fantastic!!!! I've been to 4 of the Le Germaine Properties and this one is my favourite. From the gorgeous check in desk, the friendly, efficient and friendly people that work in the lobby, nothing could be better. The sleek and sexy design of the hotel rooms, the bathrooms, the quality of the furnishings, the bedding, the sexy lighting in the rooms. Wow.. We just didn't want to leave the room. We actually booked here to stay "at" the hotel, and have a weekend away to just enjoy this hotel. The spa is stunning, like you've stepped into Shangri-la. The beds are perfect, the duvet, the pillows and if you put the flatscreen on channel 39, you have a roaring fire in front of you. The bathroom could be in a Style at Home Magazine. Perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meldebunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Meldebunda,
Thank you for writing such a fantastic review about our hotel! We are glad you were able to enjoy a weekend at Le Germain and to take advantage of spending some time at Sante Spa. Everyone at Le Germain Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back!

Warm Regards,

Robert D'orazio
rdorazio@germaincalgary.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights on a business trip in August. Typically I stay at the Fairmont in Calgary but decided to give Le Germain a try. Overall the hotel is very modern and very clean. The bed in my room was extremely comfortable and the linens were very high quality. The bathroom was very large and modern with great toiletries.

The free breakfast that was included was ok, but would have been nice to have a few more options (example: there were no muffins which I thought was odd). The breakfast lounge had plenty of seating though, which was good.

The only aspect of the hotel I did not really care for was the overall "dark" ambience of the hotel. Hallways are very dark, my room was very dark with dark painted ceiling and it felt very "industrial" rather than cozy.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
Thank Beachgirl380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Loved this hotel! Rooms are spacious, modern and new. Room even had a walk in closet! Breakfast had a huge selection and tasty. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping. One of the best hotels in downtown Calgary.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Lovetotravel88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is exactly the kind of hotel I like: very smartly styled but welcoming and not at all intimidating. Need to make a special mention of the shower, in fact the whole bathroom was incredibly stylish. I also very much appreciated the free WiFi and free continental breakfast - somewhat of a rarity at hotels of this standard. Location was good too, close to Calgary Tower so easy to find your way home at night. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank LaineyLou81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

This place is incredible. My husband planned our second honeymoon and when we walked in there were rose pedals all over bed and the tub. Did I mention that the tub fills from the ceiling it was gorgeous! It has a rain shower that will melt all your stress away. They also brought us complimentary sparking juice and chocolates. They made is a reservation at the 360 Calgary Tower and the food was perfect. I would give the service a 10/5 stars. After we left we realized we had been overcharged on our bill because something moved in the fridge we called back and explained and they gave us the money back, they weren't just good to is because we were there and paying them, they were kind and quick.

However there is no valet parking and there isn't free parking. For a hotel this incredible and of this caliber it was very disappointing.

Thank you for the amazing night,

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamilleHMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights at the start of our trip. The hotel was uber cool and trendy, the staff friendly and helpful and extremely well positioned right opposite Calgary Tower and one street away from 7th.

My tip is ask to borrow the pass to the Calgary Tower as it is complementary for quest and saved up $75.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank gcx10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,289 reviews
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 109 in Calgary
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Address: 899 Centre St SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: $172 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine haven of peace, Groupe Germain, pioneer of the boutique-hotel concept in Canada, has expanded its unique brand of hospitality into Western Canada with Hotel Le Germain Calgary. The Groupe Germain philosophy is all about authentic elegance.A welcome like no otherAt Le Germain Boutique-hotels, the goal is to create a warm, comfortable ambiance, combined with attentive, personalized service that is always accommodating, yet never intrusive.Respect for the environmentThe entire complex was engineered and constructed to incorporate several state-of-the-art features designed to conserve energy and preserve our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing