We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service - Exactly What We Needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Service - Exactly What We Needed”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The people at Hotel Le Germain were fantastic. I booked a much needed weekend getaway for myself and my husband. I ordered a superior room (lowest level) since we would be spending our time out on the town rather than in the room. We were looking for close proximity to the Philharmonic Orchestra. It was a very short walk. I also ordered a spa package that included a couples massage in their Spa, continental breakfast, and valet parking. My husband had never had a massage, so this was a way to get him to try one. However, the spa was fully booked. The staff worked diligently to make sure our stay at the hotel was a success. They set up an in room couples massage. They gave us a complimentary upgrade to an apartment suite (highest level room). The room was gorgeous, especially the bathroom (separate shower and tub, with a tub that fills from the ceiling). They also gave us late check out (2 PM) so we spent a lazy morning enjoying the gorgeous room and hotel amenities, rather than going out on the town. The massage therapists we had were excellent. My husband is now one of the converted and has been telling everyone in town how great massages are and how fantastic Le Germain is. On our next visit to Le Germain, maybe we can convert him to pedicures. :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spower81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    198
    46
    8
    7
See reviews for
71
348
40
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We usually book a hotel downtown if we know we are going out for our anniversary or other event. This time we chose Hotel Le Germain for our anniversary weekend. The website was easy to navigate, I liked the notices we received prior to our arrival and parking was no problem. I advised the hotel it was our anniversary and because I am a really light sleeper, I requested an end of the hall suite.
Check in was friendly and really set the tone for a cool, urban evening. When we arrived in the room, we discovered a bottle or red wine with a note from the concierge welcoming us and a happy anniversary greeting. Super comfortable bed/pillows, efficient design (I liked the pull down ironing board in the cabinet vs hauling it out), Molton Brown toiletries (haven't seen those since a luxury stay in San Fransisco), great shower and best of all, quiet, quiet, quiet!! I had a great sleep. In fact our suite faced 9th Avenue, the base of the Calgary Tower and I didn't hear a thing.
The buffet breakfast (included) the next day was delicious. Service from end to end was not what we have come to expect in Calgary; it really was like we were in a different cosmopolitan city.
However, I didn't find getting to and from the fitness center intuitive (though once your there, it's a great studio). When I finished up, I couldn't find the lift to our floor, so I ended up on our floor...in the office tower. (The Le Germain complex is comprised of a business tower, hotel and residences).
Check out was breeze. I stopped by to thank the concierge for the thoughtful wine and when I went to work, I received a lovely note inviting us back. We felt refreshed and proud our city had such a great property in an awesome location and we simply can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of a 9th avenue-facing suite assignment. Super quiet and out of the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in December 2013. It is right across the street from the Calgary Tower.

The hotel has fantastic beds, great views, and very upscale accommodations. It even has a mini bar in the room.

The only down side was the kitchen is only open between certain hours so we couldn't get room service or eat at the bar while we were there.

It is right around the corner from a wonderful street full of restaurants and pubs. And for a cheap price you can catch a cab to the casino which is not to far away.

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Four-stars are listed for the quality and comfort of the beds, and the new, spacious bathroom. However, be warned that there are no views from the building unless you count being nearly able to jump across to the next office tower. Also, the rooms are very dark and this makes it difficult to work after hours or prepare when you are trying to get away the next morning.

Breakfast is simple but nice and included in the stay. However, given the plush comfort of the bed and robes, it is surprising that there are no slippers in the room - minor but a great convenience when travelling frequently or on business. The concierge and front desk staff are friendly and efficient - their help with our stay was much appreciated and they certainly help to make the hotel stand out. It would be nice if the hallways were quiet in the evenings - music playing can be heard even as we try to get to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a higher floor - the restaurant on the lower level is very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Time-and-Away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My second stay at this property during a business trip. Staff are very attentive and detail oriented. Modern room and bath are very comfortable. Top marks to the concierge team - Thanks Zahara - I enjoyed the "good night sleep" goody bag.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Rick M,

Thank you for the positive comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the “good night sleep” goody bag Zahava left for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Calgary in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Robert D'Orazio
Director of Rooms
rdorazio@germaincalgary.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temuco, Chile
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed here the other night for our anniversary. Great night. Nice room. Good service. I really like the modern style of the room. Valet Parking was quite expensive. Location is great. Very close to the Calgary Tower.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We arrived at this hotel after a storm prevented us from returning to edmonton. 2 adults and 2 kids. 2 nights. First night in a 1 bdrm apartment and second night in a luxury king suite. Both were amazing. Felt like I was a movie star in New York. Never seen anything so beautiful in canada and I have stayed at at least 100 different hotels. Very clean, modern convenient. Staff is incredible. We'll deserved of the 4 diamonds they have received. Great value for ur money. Overall. This is luxury at its finest. Would never ever stay anywhere else in Calgary again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#14 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#3 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Property: Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Address: 899 Centre St SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine haven of peace, Groupe Germain, pioneer of the boutique-hotel concept in Canada, has expanded its unique brand of hospitality into Western Canada with Hotel Le Germain Calgary. The Groupe Germain philosophy is all about authentic elegance.A welcome like no otherAt Le Germain Boutique-hotels, the goal is to create a warm, comfortable ambiance, combined with attentive, personalized service that is always accommodating, yet never intrusive.Respect for the environmentThe entire complex was engineered and constructed to incorporate several state-of-the-art features designed to conserve energy and preserve our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing