We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Ranked #8 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Very nice hotel in down town Calgary with free valet parking on the weekends . Inside the hotel is a super modern design . Rooms are very nicely done with high end finishes. The walk in shower was very nice indeed. The shower felt like you were immersed in a warm tropical rainfall. Just what i needed after touring through the scenic mountains all day.

Great place to spend a night .

Room Tip: Ask for a city view on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank epcortek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

709 - 715 of 913 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

What a great hotel can't think over anywhere better to stay in down town Calgary. Took care of everything. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nkeeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed here in October 2011

Place was gorgeous! It looks really modern from the outside and in and the service was great. We felt like we were really taken care of from the valet to the front desk.

Room was HUGE. I've stayed in hotels in north america and this was one of the most well decorated and spacious. We stayed with the one with the tub that had water flowing from the ceiling which was cool and different. Requested for a dvd player in the room as well and they accommodated with no problems. Bed was really comfortable and bathroom was nice. The only thing different was that there were no clear dividers between the bathroom and the bedroom but that may be due to the modern design of it. Breakfast had your healthy assortments of yogurts, fruits and pastries. Sorry no bacon and eggs but maybe that's a good thing? Charcut the restaurant at the hotel was also really really good. Location is also central to downtown if you need to be.

Anyway I have been to the Sheraton and the Fairmont in Calgary and this by far had the best room and best service. Yes, why would you stay elsewhere in Calgary?

Would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitchell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This is the best Le Germain hotel Ive visited. Some may consider it expensive (i bought as part of a hotel/flight package, so im guessing it worked out to about $200/night), but that extra $75-85 is so worth every penny.

Perfect central location. Great attention to detail, quiet, beautiful, spacious, excellent restaurant. dimmers for mood lighting. Spending a few days on business there as i did (or i could imagine a great romantic night), was a perfect place to get a quality comfortable sleep and unwind after long days. I was in a king room, and the desk area with wifi was bright and spacious. Very cool sofa in the room made it always easy to kick back and put your feet up.

Bathrooms were nothing short of sexy - very, very nice.

I would never stay anywhere else in Calgary unless i was on a very tight budget.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thegucc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Quebec-based Le Germain chain of boutique hotels has brought their flair for providing a wonderful boutique experience to Calgary. This small hotel features large, comfortable, and beautifully appointed rooms. The staff is friendly and the food at the Char|Cut restaurant superb.

Internet, both wireless and wired, is free.

Lighting for the entire suite can be controlled from switches beside the bed, which is handy. Unfortunately, the lights are not bright enough to light the room beyond a sort of twilight. I found it impossible to find things without opening the blinds to let in natural light.

The bathroom is nicely designed with lots of counter space. The fancy raised sink has no plug however, so bring your own. If you are into rainfall showers, you will like this one. If you are not, you will wish that the wand could be mounted higher.

Location is good, around the corner from the popular, pedestrianized 8th Avenue, with loads of cafes and bars. It a 15-min walk from Eau Clair Market and the Bow River Pathway trails. Any downtown office building is within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Le Germain Calgary is located in the heart of downtown Calgary. Our room looked out at the base of the Calgary Tower, we were across the street from the Telus Convention Centre... couldn't have asked for more!
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Valet parking and continental breakfast were both included with our room rate, which was great!
Rooms were decorated with a modern flair, very comfy linens and bed. The rainfall shower just has to be tried :)
There is a spa and gym on site, but we were only there one night and didn't have time to try them out.
I would certainly stay here again if our travel needs send us back to Calgary.

Room Tip: Room 503 is a corner suite, looking right at the Calgary Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelmomSundre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Le Germain Hotel in Calgary offers beautiful rooms with a lot of comfort and excellent service. The staff is very friendly and is conveniently located. The view of my room was not that great but the decoration and beauty of the rooms balance the lack of it.
I suggest that they have a better menu for room service because is too limited.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Hello Ibaena,

Thank you for the review, we truly appreciate the feedback. We just wanted to let you know we are working on fine tuning the Room Service menu. Thanks again for the great review, if you need anything else in the future please let me know.

Mark Schaay
mschaay@germaincalgary.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#22 of 110 in Calgary
2,367 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Kensington Riverside Inn
Kensington Riverside Inn
#21 of 110 in Calgary
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 110 in Calgary
1,601 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 110 in Calgary
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Address: 899 Centre St SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: $151 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine haven of peace, Groupe Germain, pioneer of the boutique-hotel concept in Canada, has expanded its unique brand of hospitality into Western Canada with Hotel Le Germain Calgary. The Groupe Germain philosophy is all about authentic elegance.A welcome like no otherAt Le Germain Boutique-hotels, the goal is to create a warm, comfortable ambiance, combined with attentive, personalized service that is always accommodating, yet never intrusive.Respect for the environmentThe entire complex was engineered and constructed to incorporate several state-of-the-art features designed to conserve energy and preserve our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splitty, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing